SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2012, 02:26 PM
blade blade is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,500
Anyone running Java 7 Update 5?

My Sage server is still running Java 6 Update 33 and I was thinking about updating, but wanted to check and see what experiences others have had.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2012, 04:41 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
No problem here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2012, 06:52 PM
dlj9999 dlj9999 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 28
No Problems So Far....

I've updated to Java 7 update 4.
So far Sage and Java have played nice together.
But I did search the Sage Forum before doing it because folks had problems with the installation of Java 7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2012, 06:29 AM
andyvr4 andyvr4 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 41
Java 7 update 5 works fine for me, but I seem to get memory leaks when using it.

I've never actually had sagetv crash, but monitoring my java heap size I've been seeing that after running for around a week it'll get up to around 400-500 mB with the max usage using everything available (1050 or so with mine).

With Java 6 update 33 after a week I'm still only around 200-300 mB current (with nothing recording or playing) and around 500-600 mB max.

My install as almost no plugins (just multi-function stop).

I'm using an hd-pvr and hvr-2250 tuners with a single hd300 to play back the recorded media.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2012, 03:24 AM
perf perf is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 120
I installed it and I have a problem with Sage now not using my regional settings correctly - using a 12 hour time display format instead of 24 hour. I probably have to downgrade.

Last edited by perf; 07-01-2012 at 01:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2012, 08:11 AM
macsupergeek macsupergeek is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 161
java 7 update 5, but every morning at about 3:30 am I restart the sage service - so that I purge the memory (also so that my backup runs, without the sage service running) -- if I don't my JVM total memory drops to about 100,000 M and the sage screens are extremely slow on all my extenders. After the restart it pops back to above 980,000 M, my max is 1,267,072 M.
__________________
SERVER: Dual Core Xeon 3.0GHz 5160, 8gb RAM, Win7 x64, SageTV 9.0.13.536 w/ BMT, WebUI, OpenDCT, Java 1.70_79
TUNERS: 2 x Ceton PCIe InfinitiTV - FIOS
STORAGE: UNRAID - 8tb for archived shows, DVDs, pictures and music
CLIENTS: 2 x HD200s, 2 x HD300
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2012, 12:20 AM
gilded07's Avatar
gilded07 gilded07 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade View Post
My Sage server is still running Java 6 Update 33 and I was thinking about updating, but wanted to check and see what experiences others have had.
running 7u4 on a laptop (Win7 32) w/ placeshifter w/ no problems.

Tried updating a desktop PC (Win7 32) to 7u5 and got the following error messages:

MSVCR100.dll file missing, and

can't find JVM.dll file

So I uninstalled the latest java and went back to 6u30 on the desktop which is working fine. Since 7u4 works on the laptop, its probably a user error causing the problem on the desktop but was easier to go back to the earlier version than to spend more time trying to figure out why 7u4 (or 7u5 for that matter) won't work on the desktop.

My server is still running 6u29.

I found this utility to check the java version:

http://www.javatester.org/version.html
__________________
Headless Server: Q8400 2.66ghz / MSI P45 Neo2-FR / 4GB
Storage: 120 SSD for SageTV / 3TB for TV recordings / Unraid NAS 5TB for vids, pics, music w Plex Docker
Tuners: HDHR3 x 2
Extenders: Nvidia Shield x2 / 3 placeshifters
Server Software: Win 10 64, SageTV 9.1.5.683, Java 8_241, Real VNC
Other: MiniClient, Commercial Detector UI, Sage Recording Extender
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2012, 10:17 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilded07 View Post
running 7u4 on a laptop (Win7 32) w/ placeshifter w/ no problems.

Tried updating a desktop PC (Win7 32) to 7u5 and got the following error messages:

MSVCR100.dll file missing, and

can't find JVM.dll file

So I uninstalled the latest java and went back to 6u30 on the desktop which is working fine. Since 7u4 works on the laptop, its probably a user error causing the problem on the desktop but was easier to go back to the earlier version than to spend more time trying to figure out why 7u4 (or 7u5 for that matter) won't work on the desktop.

My server is still running 6u29.

I found this utility to check the java version:

http://www.javatester.org/version.html
You need to Install Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 runtimes. I recommend installing them.. on all windows 7 PC's

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=5555
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 07-02-2012 at 10:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2012, 09:05 AM
ToyMaker ToyMaker is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10
I've had no problems with sage until trying to load java 7.5.
Also uninstalling 7.5 and installing 6.32 did not fix the problem. So I restored my computer and tried again.

Had the same problem with MSVCR100.dll and jvm.dll
I left java 7.5 on my machine, but I copied the msvcr100.dll file from java bin folder to my windows system32 folder and everything works.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-2012, 11:31 AM
comedian999 comedian999 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
nyplayer - your solution worked perfectly. Many thanks. Last time I upgrade JRE on this box...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-07-2012, 12:17 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by comedian999 View Post
nyplayer - your solution worked perfectly. Many thanks. Last time I upgrade JRE on this box...
Yeah .. I completely removed all my old java versions and am running nothing but 7 on all my machines. Also it is always a good Idea to have the latest "run times" because other applications might require them... best way to avoid headaches in the future.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-07-2012, 10:59 PM
OldNewbie OldNewbie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2
Java 7.5 problem??

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
You need to Install Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 runtimes. I recommend installing them.. on all windows 7 PC's

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=5555
I guess I messed up by forgetting to stop SageTVServiceControl.exe before I updated to Java 7.5.

I have downloaded the MS Visual C++ 2010 Runtimes you linked.

But I still cannot start SageTV. I still get the error messages you originally cited regarding MSVCR100.DLL and jvm.dll

I am in way over my head and I apologize for such.

Can you help me get SageTV running again?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-08-2012, 11:56 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
After download did you Install the runtimes.. That download is just a web Install you have to double click it and Install.
You can try just Stopping the service and Installing runtimes and restart the service. If that doesn't work see below.


1. Stop the SageTvservice.
2. Uninstall Java (all)
3. Install the runtimes.
4. Install Java
5. Start Service.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 07-08-2012 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-08-2012, 08:42 PM
FlyingDoc FlyingDoc is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 125
Anyone using This version with Sage MyMovies?

I have been frozen at Java 6.29 because of needing MyMovies. Does anyone know if the later versions have the same incompatibility?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-08-2012, 09:14 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingDoc View Post
I have been frozen at Java 6.29 because of needing MyMovies. Does anyone know if the later versions have the same incompatibility?
Sorry I do not use MyMovies maybe you should Inquire in that forum.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-08-2012, 10:38 PM
OldNewbie OldNewbie is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
After download did you Install the runtimes.. That download is just a web Install you have to double click it and Install.
You can try just Stopping the service and Installing runtimes and restart the service. If that doesn't work see below.


1. Stop the SageTvservice.
2. Uninstall Java (all)
3. Install the runtimes.
4. Install Java
5. Start Service.
NYPlayer, you are the greatest! I can not thank you enough. This is my first time ever using a forum and your perfect instructions worked perfectly. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

It was only in the last few days when my SageTV abruptly quit working that I discovered to my horror that SageTV is no more and I completely panicked. So your expert help was far more valuable to me than you probably imagine.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-09-2012, 11:41 AM
Ender Ender is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Upsate New York
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingDoc View Post
I have been frozen at Java 6.29 because of needing MyMovies. Does anyone know if the later versions have the same incompatibility?
I recently updated to 7u5, and My movies appears to be working just fine. I needed to reboot my server after the update, but other than that, all was well.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-09-2012, 10:55 PM
FlyingDoc FlyingDoc is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 125
thanks for the input guys. I will probably try and update in the next couple of weeks and post my result.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-12-2012, 07:01 PM
dealsdyker's Avatar
dealsdyker dealsdyker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
You need to Install Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 runtimes. I recommend installing them.. on all windows 7 PC's

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=5555
Java broke my sage. Same error message. This fixed it. Thanks for the help. Why would Sage with new java require MS C++ runtimes. That's dumb.
__________________
This space intentionally left blank
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-12-2012, 08:23 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by dealsdyker View Post
Java broke my sage. Same error message. This fixed it. Thanks for the help. Why would Sage with new java require MS C++ runtimes. That's dumb.
I thought Sage used C++. I believe that some runtime DLLS were Included in earlier Versions of Java... No longer included in V7.

See this site
http://www.sagetv.com/IntegrateVBDot...udio_Curr.html
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java Heap running low after 12 hours redbaron73 Diamond 8 05-12-2011 03:42 PM
Java 6 Update 19 wacole SageTV Software 18 05-12-2010 05:19 AM
What Java Versions Should We Be Running? RAlfieri SageTV Beta Test Software 5 03-02-2006 06:19 PM
Java VM Crash Running as Service RAlfieri SageTV Beta Test Software 2 10-03-2005 06:58 PM
Need to update Java? Opus4 SageTV Beta Test Software 13 01-29-2004 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.