SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2012, 09:41 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,567
Google weather - not working !!!!

I noticed this morning that I was no longer getting any forecast info from Google weather. I also noticed some chatter on the web regarding issues with the Google api's.

check here....

Anyone else seeing this issue?

k
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2012, 09:48 AM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Interesting. My SageTV weather was last updated Sunday (Aug 26) at 1:08p...

EDIT: Well the above is true for the overview screen. The extended forecast screen is current however.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2

Last edited by darcilicious; 08-27-2012 at 09:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2012, 11:14 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Mine is not working at all all it says is NULL degrees lol.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2012, 12:05 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
same here - NULL
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2012, 12:16 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,619
I'll be looking into this, but I can't promise when that will be.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2012, 01:55 AM
MGMutley MGMutley is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Same for me. No updates since Friday 24 August 2012!!
I tried entering a different location and it does not even check it. I can put Bla Bla and it accepts it. It seems well broken.

Mutley.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2012, 04:17 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
I'm sure everyone has this problem, and we don't need 5,000 reports, but...mine isn't working either

P
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-30-2012, 07:40 AM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
It appears that Google weather is working here, but the Short Term weather is not (NWS?). If I go to extended forecast, it is up to date as far as the days go, but the short term one is old with no "Last Updated" time.

P
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2012, 08:01 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Short term is google, extended is NWS.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-30-2012, 10:51 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polypro View Post
I'm sure everyone has this problem, and we don't need 5,000 reports, but...mine isn't working either

P
4,998 - Mine either
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-30-2012, 11:24 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,271
http://blog.programmableweb.com/2012...-disconnected/
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-30-2012, 11:40 AM
gilded07's Avatar
gilded07 gilded07 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Short term is google, extended is NWS.
ahhhhh, I always wondered why there were differences in the short and extended forecasts. Never realized they were from differences sources.
__________________
Headless Server: Q8400 2.66ghz / MSI P45 Neo2-FR / 4GB
Storage: 120 SSD for SageTV / 3TB for TV recordings / Unraid NAS 5TB for vids, pics, music w Plex Docker
Tuners: HDHR3 x 2
Extenders: Nvidia Shield x2 / 3 placeshifters
Server Software: Win 10 64, SageTV 9.1.5.683, Java 8_241, Real VNC
Other: MiniClient, Commercial Detector UI, Sage Recording Extender
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-30-2012, 11:42 AM
gilded07's Avatar
gilded07 gilded07 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 436
so Google is switching to Weather Underground...when looking up weather on my browser I actually prefer that over the other popular ones.

Any of the amazing plug-in developers on this board considering updating the weather plug-in to grab the Weather Underground feed?
__________________
Headless Server: Q8400 2.66ghz / MSI P45 Neo2-FR / 4GB
Storage: 120 SSD for SageTV / 3TB for TV recordings / Unraid NAS 5TB for vids, pics, music w Plex Docker
Tuners: HDHR3 x 2
Extenders: Nvidia Shield x2 / 3 placeshifters
Server Software: Win 10 64, SageTV 9.1.5.683, Java 8_241, Real VNC
Other: MiniClient, Commercial Detector UI, Sage Recording Extender
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-30-2012, 12:15 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
That's pretty dam ironic, don't you think.
The EPG should be next ...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-30-2012, 12:19 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybolt View Post
That's pretty dam ironic, don't you think.
The EPG should be next ...
They were talking about this yesterday on TWiG. Google's weather never was an officially supported API in the first place.

So... not like the EPG in Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-30-2012, 03:00 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,992
Hope they get this fixed soon...
To be honest though, the short term forecast was always very inaccurate and quite a bit different from the long term forecast (it wasn't unusual to see a difference of >10 degrees between the two forecasts for the same day) , so I'm not really sorry to see it go.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-30-2012, 04:16 PM
Polypro Polypro is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,803
Agree, but it's the only thing that displays on the top bar, or in Diamond. I hope the Diamond Devs can figure out a way to pull the NWS info for the main screen tabs instead of Google.

P
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-31-2012, 05:57 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polypro View Post
Agree, but it's the only thing that displays on the top bar, or in Diamond. I hope the Diamond Devs can figure out a way to pull the NWS info for the main screen tabs instead of Google.

P
The next Diamond release which is Gemstone!!!, will use the phoenix core for weather and I have been working with Stuckless to incorporate multiple weather sources... Google/NWS, Yahoo and WorldWeather Online. It would seem the Google/NWS one may no longer be usefull unless Opus rewrites it for another source but the other 2 function well. We could add Weather Underground depending on their requirements around the api.... I will check it out but it looks like the "free" service may be too restricted. we will be looking for a few testers soon for Gemstone but we will request those on the Diamond subforum.

k
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-31-2012, 10:15 PM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
Gemstone... One day....
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-06-2012, 11:30 AM
mgpaulus mgpaulus is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 179
Google weather not updating on main page?

I have installed the new google weather app, and have noticed that it seems to have stopped updating the main page since 8/25. Just wondering if others have noticed this, and/or is there anything I need to do to get it working on a correct basis again? The long-range forecast seems to work and update correctly, but the initial screen (short-term forecast?) is stuck on 8/25.

Thanks,

Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suddenly Lost Google Weather Savage1701 SageTV v7 Customizations 2 07-09-2012 11:15 AM
Any plugin developers interested in porting Google Weather to STV3? Rezolution SageTV v7 Customizations 16 12-14-2011 08:51 AM
Google Weather API v1 Opus4 SageTV Studio 13 12-05-2011 08:03 AM
FYI - Google Weather Broken peterjb SageTV Australia/New Zealand 1 11-21-2011 03:07 PM
Downloaded Google Weather Update, No weather? symgryph SageTV v7 Customizations 3 11-18-2011 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.