SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2013, 10:14 AM
davefred99 davefred99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Finally shut down my Sage Server after 7 yrs

Well its a sad day but I finally pulled the plug on my Sage server Today. I have had my system up for Seven years but about about 6 months ago I set up an MCE system using a Ceton Echo for an extender. Even today Sage is more powerful but I rarely use it anymore because mine and my wifes viewing habits are mostly record watch and delete DVR stuff so MCE does just fine with that. I would have stayed with Sage if they were still in business but NO new development or products will ever come so it is end of life. MCE is not a whole lot better but it at least is still semi supported and some new products are available for it like the Ceton extenders and xBox 360's.
If Google ever brings it back to life I may come back but for now I will just leave my Sage server off and sitting in my closet as a back up just in case.

So Long Sage its been good but time to move on.

__________________
Server:
SageTv 7.19, XPpro
AMD XP-M 2400 45w@2.2GHZ, 1Gig Ram NF7-S ver2
Seasonic S-12 380w, NEC 3520a Onboard SoundStorm S/PDIF out
WD-Caviar 120GB IDE (System) Seagate (3) Baracuda 250GB sata (Pooled)
GF-7600gs Forceware 93.71 Nvida-Decoder V.4.02.223HDHR-Prime 3-Digital Fios ,HDhomeRun-Qam/FIOS
Clients:GA-MA78GM-S2H -AMD 4800- Sage TV Client-FireFly Remote - Amd x2 Turino LAPTOP - HD-100 + MVP Client DVR Verizon Fios/ B]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:01 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by davefred99 View Post
Well its a sad day but I finally pulled the plug on my Sage server Today. I have had my system up for Seven years but about about 6 months ago I set up an MCE system using a Ceton Echo for an extender. Even today Sage is more powerful but I rarely use it anymore because mine and my wifes viewing habits are mostly record watch and delete DVR stuff so MCE does just fine with that. I would have stayed with Sage if they were still in business but NO new development or products will ever come so it is end of life. MCE is not a whole lot better but it at least is still semi supported and some new products are available for it like the Ceton extenders and xBox 360's.
If Google ever brings it back to life I may come back but for now I will just leave my Sage server off and sitting in my closet as a back up just in case.

So Long Sage its been good but time to move on.

Good luck...


I am not quite ready to give on on Sage will continue to use it for as long as my Cable company Cooperates and I continue getting my subscribed channels copy freely. If and when that ends I will move on to my cable company DVR and not Invest anymore money on my HTPC.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 06-21-2013 at 11:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:31 AM
brainbone brainbone is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 624
My SageTV server is still "running" but I haven't used it in months, so I don't know if that counts.

I was looking at a Centon Echo and MCE, but Windows 8 does not support non-Microsoft extenders -- so its future looks bleak.

We seem to be in a DRM encumbered limbo, especially if you want live TV, and recordings available on all your devices. Luckily, I don't watch live TV.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2013, 11:24 AM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
I can't ever switch to MCE because it doesn't support MKV and various other video codecs/formats I need.

I will continue to use SageTV until EPG support is stopped, and since Jeff (Narflex) is still using SageTV in his home, I doubt EPG support will end anytime soon. But even then, if a reliable EPG plugin is available, I would still use SageTV. So basically, I'll use SageTV until it becomes too much of a hassle to keep it running.

I think the future replacement for SageTV will be something Google related, whether it is Android powered or Google Fiber/TV.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2013, 11:56 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
three years after its demise, and with all the headaches...nothing beats SageTV.....STILL!
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2013, 12:18 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
three years after its demise, and with all the headaches...nothing beats SageTV.....STILL!
Three years? I only count two years...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.9.2, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2013, 12:26 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Three years? I only count two years...
Almost two years to the day:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56074
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2013, 12:49 PM
davefred99 davefred99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
The nail in the cofin for me is no new extenders

I would have probably stayed with Sage TV if HD-300 extenders were still available but I refuse to pay the extorted prices folks are getting for used end of life products with no warranty or future support.
MCE has a lot of faults and short comings but it at least for now has some supported extenders and is still being distributed. As far as MKV & other file support I can get that if I need it outside of MCE but mostly I just want a DVR & extenders minus the Cable rental fees and it does that pretty well for now.
I will hang on to my Sage licenses and if things change I can always come back.
__________________
Server:
SageTv 7.19, XPpro
AMD XP-M 2400 45w@2.2GHZ, 1Gig Ram NF7-S ver2
Seasonic S-12 380w, NEC 3520a Onboard SoundStorm S/PDIF out
WD-Caviar 120GB IDE (System) Seagate (3) Baracuda 250GB sata (Pooled)
GF-7600gs Forceware 93.71 Nvida-Decoder V.4.02.223HDHR-Prime 3-Digital Fios ,HDhomeRun-Qam/FIOS
Clients:GA-MA78GM-S2H -AMD 4800- Sage TV Client-FireFly Remote - Amd x2 Turino LAPTOP - HD-100 + MVP Client DVR Verizon Fios/ B]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2013, 01:26 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by davefred99 View Post
I would have probably stayed with Sage TV if HD-300 extenders were still available but I refuse to pay the extorted prices folks are getting for used end of life products with no warranty or future support.
Most of the prices I've seen in the forum Marketplace postings aren't "extorted". I bought one for the original price. Also, with more people abandoning SageTV, prices should drop as more people will be selling their gears.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:32 PM
davefred99 davefred99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
So if you bought a classic vette or some other car in the 60's, new and you held onto it till now, would you sell it for what you paid for it? Supply and demand, no one would pay $300 for an HD300 unless they thought it was worth it.
I do not see the Hd-300 as a classic vette. I look at it more like a used refrigerator (appliance). Its good and it works maybe better than the new models but it wont last for ever and there are no replacement parts for it. Some day it will break and then you have to move on. But in my case I do not own one instead I had a classic Chevy ( HD-100) and it is barely hanging on with about 300,000 miles on it plus my main car ( aging Sage Server) needs a major overhaul. I loved them both but they just are not going to last forever so I bought a Ford instead.
__________________
Server:
SageTv 7.19, XPpro
AMD XP-M 2400 45w@2.2GHZ, 1Gig Ram NF7-S ver2
Seasonic S-12 380w, NEC 3520a Onboard SoundStorm S/PDIF out
WD-Caviar 120GB IDE (System) Seagate (3) Baracuda 250GB sata (Pooled)
GF-7600gs Forceware 93.71 Nvida-Decoder V.4.02.223HDHR-Prime 3-Digital Fios ,HDhomeRun-Qam/FIOS
Clients:GA-MA78GM-S2H -AMD 4800- Sage TV Client-FireFly Remote - Amd x2 Turino LAPTOP - HD-100 + MVP Client DVR Verizon Fios/ B]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-22-2013, 06:16 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
So if you bought a classic vette or some other car in the 60's, new and you held onto it till now, would you sell it for what you paid for it? Supply and demand, no one would pay $300 for an HD300 unless they thought it was worth it.
For $300 dollars you can by a mini client. I would not buy any of the Sage extenders at this point I would rather invest my money and build a mini client.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-23-2013, 03:44 AM
davephan's Avatar
davephan davephan is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by davefred99 View Post
If Google ever brings it back to life I may come back but for now I will just leave my Sage server off and sitting in my closet as a back up just in case.
Sometimes when you turn off a computer, unplug it, and store it for a long time, when to try to turn on the computer, it won't start up anymore. It's kind of like a car that sits in storage for a long time. We did that with many servers at work, and many of them have problems after being stored, unplugged for a long time.

You should take an image of the computer and store the image on several hard drives. The hard drives should be occasionally spun up. Or, maybe you could send the image to cloud storage too. It might take several weeks to send it to Carbonite or a service like that.

Otherwise, if you ever decide you want to use it again, you might find that you can't power up the computer or it won't boot into Windows anymore. When you could recover the image onto possibly the same computer or a different computer. It helps to have an imaging product that can recover an image onto different hardware.

Dave
__________________
SageTV: LIAN LI PC-K58, Gigabyte GA-EX580UD5, i-7 950 3.06 gig quad LGA 1366 CPU, Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler 1366 bracket, Memory 24 gigs GB, PNY NVIDIA GeoForce 9800 GT 1024 MB, Corsair 750w PSU, Samsung 500GB SSD boot, 3 SSD recording drives
Capture cards: 2 - HDHR Primes - Comcast Xfinity CableTV
Extenders: 1-HD-300, 2-HD-200
Software: Windows 7 Pro X64, Ghost 15, VideoReDo TVSuite 4 h.264, Playon (Netflix), OpenDCT
UnRAID File Server 4.7 Pro: Lian-Li PC-G70B, MBD-X8SIL-F-O, i3-540, 16 TB
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-23-2013, 06:18 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
Three years? I only count two years...
well, it feels like an eternity....but no one has created a better choice yet
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-24-2013, 06:20 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
well, it feels like an eternity....but no one has created a better choice yet
Has anyone of you had the chance to try THIS new Stephane's DVR solution?

Thanks
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-24-2013, 07:32 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
Some people like the idea of an ultra low power, hassle free extender and some people like building a PC for the job.
I'm not going to attempt to convince anyone that a PC client is better than an extender, since it's very much like pro-choice and pro-life arguments: no side will ever convince the other. However, I did want to highlight one thing about extenders versus PC clients, specifically the "hassle free" point. A PC client may take a little more time to get set up (and does much more, which, in my opinion, is a big plus) and an extender may be nearly plug and play, but the extender is hassle free only until it dies. Then, the hassle now becomes "do I potentially pay big bucks for a new one?" or "do I change my entire DVR solution?" The headaches involved in either of those decisions weigh more heavily on my mind than any I had to deal with on the PC client.

The above scenario actually played out for me when DirecTV and Tivo severed their ties years ago and I was determined to stick with something I felt was simple and had a great user experience. I couldn't get a new DirecTivo unit, so when issues arose, I had to choose between paying to have the DirecTivo repaired or changing my solution (HTPC, DTV's DVR, cable co's DVR, Cablecard Tivo). I had the DirecTivo repaired twice, to the tune of ~$600 (total). When it died a 3rd time, I was livid and settled on Sage, swearing never again to rely on proprietary hardware. I've been happy ever since.

Just my little story...
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-24-2013, 08:49 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
Has anyone of you had the chance to try THIS new Stephane's DVR solution?

Thanks
Eddy
looks funky...I'll try anything when I have some time. Maybe a thread should be started?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-24-2013, 09:23 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
looks funky...I'll try anything when I have some time. Maybe a thread should be started?
Yes, you're right may be a new thread would be better, be my guest

One feature I particularly like about the Stephane's DVR is the ability to record all the streams of a particular transponder so that with one tuner you can record all the channels within that frequency, something that normal PVR do...

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-25-2013, 03:35 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayamaniac View Post
I can't ever switch to MCE because it doesn't support MKV and various other video codecs/formats I need. ...
I don't want to hyjack this thread, but you should do some more research. I have my 7Mc server playing anything and 360 support is limited DVD rip bit rate.

davefred99: Check out TheGreenButton.tv or AVS. for more info on file support. I also agree that MCE is not the holy grale of DVR's either. I sold my SageTv setup off last week after not using it in almost 6 months. It is very sad what Google has left us with. Those who want full HD are forced to move on after so many years of excellant use from Sage.

Last edited by Skybolt; 06-26-2013 at 07:20 AM. Reason: Spelling, what else?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-25-2013, 05:12 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybolt View Post
I don't want to hyjack this thread, but you should do some more research. I have my 7Mc server playing anything and 360 support is limited DVD rip bit rate.
Did you ever return your Echo? I did back in February.

Do you have blu-ray rips? If so, what are you doing to play them back? Did you transcode them or do you have a different box to play them back on?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-26-2013, 06:44 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybolt View Post
davefred99: Check out TheGreenButton.tv or AVS. for more info on file support. I also agree that MCE is not the holly grail of DVR's either. I sold my SageTv setup off last week after not using it in almost 6 months. It is very sad what Google has left us with. Those who want full HD are forced to move on after so many years of excellant use from Sage.
I just want to point out that many of us are still getting full HD in Sage today. Nobody has forced me to move on at all.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage finally did it for me! gabrielcab SageTV Software 14 01-15-2011 05:48 PM
Thanks Sage: FLAC finally works bastafidli SageTV Beta Test Software 4 01-23-2009 10:43 AM
Finally Upgrading Sage acrowe SageTV Software 6 03-04-2008 02:40 PM
ANy way to Shut Down the PC from within Sage? kelemvor SageTV Software 23 02-11-2007 04:46 AM
Finally upgraded from Sage 2.0x... jominor General Discussion 4 05-27-2006 09:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.