SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2015, 11:07 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Colossus 2 screenshot and is out


It on the Hauppauge Store to buy $139
No I haven't got one as I just put in a req for one
Update on it way to me

Last edited by SHS; 02-05-2015 at 02:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2015, 06:57 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,636
I was not expecting Hauppauge to advance the PCIe capture cards beyond Colossus. We'll expect a full review SHS!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2015, 12:34 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 446
http://www.hauppauge.com/site/websto..._colossus2.asp

Will be interesting to see if it has the same optical audio in issues as HDPVR2....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2015, 01:28 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdnttoker View Post
Will be interesting to see if it has the same optical audio in issues as HDPVR2....
I tell you all soon
By the way there same add bonus to it Microphone input to A/V Header
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2015, 11:10 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
*raises an eyebrow* .............

Waiting for reviews, hope it got better hardware this time ....


Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x

Last edited by TechBill; 02-08-2015 at 11:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2015, 09:04 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
I have 2x of the original Colossus and have not had a card related recording failure in over a year.

What improvements have they made that would make me part company with my cash.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2015, 12:36 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Ohhhhhhhhhhhh

This morning my SageTV alerted me that one of my original colossus card failed to start capurting one recording.....

Look like it couldn't have came a better time when I will need to replace it soon.

I thinking building a new htpc server using less wattage power supply to save on electricity and SSD card for speed then set up NAS for recording storages

Hopefully SageTv will detect the new colossus.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2015, 10:50 AM
patja's Avatar
patja patja is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 94
What's the good word Mr. SHS? We are all dying to hear how the new Colossus performs and behaves.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2015, 11:08 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Not here right now
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2015, 11:52 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
From the picture, it look like a full size card right?

I am hoping to built a low profile and low wattage server next by using a adapter that insert the card sideways inside the case.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-20-2015, 01:17 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
From the picture, it look like a full size card right?

I am hoping to built a low profile and low wattage server next by using a adapter that insert the card sideways inside the case.

Bill
Yes it full size card and from the look of it I think it about same over all size as the first one but low profile with all input that not is not going happing it is how ever a low wattage device may guest is a round 25/30 watts.
It is same hardware as USB HD-PVR 2 other then it has a PLX Technology PCIe bridge chip from what I told.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-25-2015, 12:18 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Yes it full size card and from the look of it I think it about same over all size as the first one but low profile with all input that not is not going happing it is how ever a low wattage device may guest is a round 25/30 watts.
It is same hardware as USB HD-PVR 2 other then it has a PLX Technology PCIe bridge chip from what I told.

so it not the same hardware as the first gen colossus then?


Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-25-2015, 05:41 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
so it not the same hardware as the first gen colossus then?

Bill
Not even close it basically the very latest HD-PVR 2 hardware rev and even share the same driver package but in the form of a PCIe

I have not rev one at time still waiting as they them self have not got there frist shippment in
Here what I do know about it

Chipset List
Magnum DXTPro Encoder/Transcoder

Video Codecs:
H.264 video codec up to 1080p/30fps (Note: It doesn't not support 1080p/60fps BooHoo)
HDMI Recording up to 1080p/30fps
Component Recording up to 1080p/30fps with Game Console only as Cable/Satellite Set-top boxes are limited to 1080i/30fps
S/Video, Composite Recording up to 480p/30fps, 576p/25fps

Audio Codecs:
AAC/AC3 (Recording AAC 2.0 or AC3 Bitsteam 2.0 and 5.1)

A/V Input Jacks:
HDMI input up to 1080p/60fps (NoN-Encrypted HDMI signals)
HDMI pass-through 1080p/60fps (Component, S/Video, Composite output, Stereo Audio, Optical Audio)
Din style A/V Cable Plug (Component+Stereo Audio or S/Video, Composite+Stereo Audio)
White A/V Header connector for S/Video, Composite and Stereo Audio for PCI Slot A/V Bracket.
Optical Digital Audio Input
Microphone input
IR blaster output

Misc:
HDMI cable (2 meter)
Din style Component+Stereo Audio A/V Cable Plug (for use with Component Video Cables)
IR Blaster receiver/transmitter cable

Other Info:
Support Hardware Down scaling (Image scaling)
Input = Ouput
1080p = 1280x720, 960x540, 720x480, 640x360, 480x270
1080i = 960x540, 720x480, 640x360, 480x270
720p = 720x480, 640x360, 480x270
480/576p = 640x480, 640x360, 480x360, 480x270
480/576i = 640x480, 640x360, 480x360, 480x270
Frame Rate 30, 25, 15

It should work with all know 3rdparty Software that work with USB HD-PVR 2
Come with Hauppauge Capture and WinTV 7 or may come with WinTV 8.

Last edited by SHS; 02-25-2015 at 06:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2015, 07:03 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
Any updates? I'm seriously thinking about going back to SageTV and purchasing a dual tuner Colossus 2 setup with a clearQAM HDHR. I'm using WMC for CC stuff now and I miss SageTV. With it going open source, I really think I should have never left.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-30-2015, 10:21 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beefcake550 View Post
Any updates? I'm seriously thinking about going back to SageTV and purchasing a dual tuner Colossus 2 setup with a clearQAM HDHR. I'm using WMC for CC stuff now and I miss SageTV. With it going open source, I really think I should have never left.

I am still waiting on update too, I think one of my Colossus is getting ready to go and will need to be replaced soon.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-10-2015, 09:21 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
It final on it way to
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-11-2015, 06:13 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
So far work well
A clip of the video input.
Had to used this trick http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61733 at first with HDMI+ AC3 5.1 SPDIF but you don't need to you can get DD 5.1 over HDMI Audio

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled1.jpg (136.2 KB, 652 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled2.jpg (253.0 KB, 668 views)

Last edited by SHS; 04-19-2015 at 04:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-12-2015, 02:58 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Have it been stable so far without reboot?

is it on the market yet and what the MRSP price on it?

Thank you
Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-12-2015, 08:27 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechBill View Post
Have it been stable so far without reboot?

is it on the market yet and what the MRSP price on it?

Thank you
Bill
I haven't gotten that far as only just got it Saturday and install it about 4pm
It on there web site and is it MRSP $149
I should have something by end of the week
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-13-2015, 01:44 AM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
I haven't gotten that far as only just got it Saturday and install it about 4pm
It on there web site and is it MRSP $149
I should have something by end of the week

please do let us know it does for you

subscribing this thread

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The SageMC Screenshot Thread bialio SageMC Custom Interface 656 03-04-2010 05:00 PM
Make a screenshot of the extender UI; Is it Possible? razrsharpe SageTV Media Extender 3 12-11-2009 08:27 AM
Take a screenshot in Sage TV? (HD PVR input) Tommy Vercetti SageTV Software 1 12-05-2008 08:30 PM
SAGE 2 Screenshot eruji General Discussion 12 11-12-2003 07:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.