SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2021, 01:06 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Running multiple SageTV dockers on one server

I am building a new server and I may want to play around with multiple SageTV/Java combos. Initially I will just be using an HDHR tuner as my source so there isn't an issue of hardware contention for USB devices like HDPVRs.

Even after I settle on a Java version I may want to keep multiple docker versions of SageTV to be able to play around with stuff without screwing up my main instance of SageTV.

Here is my plan. Any reasons why this won't work?
  1. Install first docker version of SageTV and use the br0 network type to give the docker its own IP address, say 192.168.1.230 (this will prevent port conflicts)
  2. Do SageTV configuration including HDHR tuners, plugins, etc.
  3. Install second version of SageTV using a different appdata folder name and new IP address, say 192.168.1.231.
  4. Shut down both dockers and copy the appdata folder from version 1 over the appdata folder for version 2 doing a copy and replace.
In theory that should copy over all of the configuration and installed plugins. Is there any reason why this wouldn't work?
Given that they are running on separate IP addresses I think there shouldn't be any problems, is that the case?

Anything to be aware of?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2021, 10:08 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 435
Haven't tried it, so I can't say for sure, but it sounds reasonable.

If you are copying everything over config wise, you may cause yourself some issues with IP addresses. Not sure how much (if anything) pertaining to that is in the server config files.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2021, 11:10 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 387
Great idea. Let us know how it goes.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2021, 07:51 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker:WG View Post
Haven't tried it, so I can't say for sure, but it sounds reasonable.

If you are copying everything over config wise, you may cause yourself some issues with IP addresses. Not sure how much (if anything) pertaining to that is in the server config files.
Good point, I will keep an eye out for that.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2021, 10:04 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,561
I just did what you suggest here and it worked well in my testing so far.

I now have my SageTV with java 11 docker running under 1 IP (BR0) and SageTV under Java 16 docker running under another IP with a complete copy of the appdata folder from the SageTV 11 docker. I did not have to configure anything on my Java 16 docker.

Worked great.

Thanks
K
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running SageTV.exe on server CptKirk SageTV Software 2 10-04-2018 11:03 PM
Can you run multiple SageTV Dockers on one unRAID server? wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 5 06-20-2017 10:16 PM
Anybody running SageTV server and Plex server on the same machine? MickBurke SageTV Software 14 08-25-2016 10:24 PM
Running SageTV server on Windows or Mac? osx-addict SageTV Software 2 01-03-2011 08:26 PM
noticed multiple copies of SageTVservice and SageTV running in Task Manager ke6guj SageTV Beta Test Software 3 05-24-2010 01:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.