SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2013, 01:11 PM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Extender like experience

Iíve been using an HD300 with the Sage server on our family PC for the past two years. We moved houses so I set-up a server/client in the HT room using an older PC (Phenom II X4, Win 7 64bit, AMD 6670) and use the HD300 family room.

Iíve spent some time trying to get all right video & audio codecs for playback on the server/client . Iíve been controlling everything with a keyboard & mouse combo which works but is low on WAF. I guess Iíve be Iíve been spoiled by the easy-of-use of the HD300. Iíve thought about purchasing another HD300 but Iím trying to be frugal and use what I already have.

What have you guys done to make your client behave more like an extender or increase the WAF?
I see a lot of users have the USB-UIRT, is it worth it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2013, 02:32 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
I'm still working on the best codecs/splitter, but just get a WMC remote, and the interface will be just like the extender. (I like the RF ones, but IR is OK, too)

A good starting point is the "Windows 7 image for Foxconn a3700" generic version by panteragstk!!!! Then email him a beer!
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2013, 03:22 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Mmmmm digital beer.



For that video card, the TMT 5 decoders are going to work better than anything. Everything else is just finding what works for you. I can say that CPU speed and hard disk speed play a big role in how fast the client is.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2013, 04:02 PM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
For that video card, the TMT 5 decoders are going to work better than anything. Everything else is just finding what works for you. I can say that CPU speed and hard disk speed play a big role in how fast the client is.


Do I just have to install the trial version of TMT to use the decoders in Sage?

Edit: Nevermind found a post from you about TMT.

Last edited by jnmfox; 01-04-2013 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-04-2013, 08:52 PM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
I added the TMT codecs I can play a .mp4 file but then my .mkvs look messed-up. I disabled the Sage splitter via the registry and the .mkvs will play but then the .mp4 files won't play.

It works with CoreAVC but I was hoping for hw acceleration.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2013, 08:18 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
When you disable the sage splitter, you have to make sure you have a splitter that will support the files you are trying to play. I use the LAV splitter or the MPC splitter with good results.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2013, 11:29 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
When you disable the sage splitter, you have to make sure you have a splitter that will support the files you are trying to play. I use the LAV splitter or the MPC splitter with good results.
Which one would you suggest for AMD hardware and .MKV (VERY high bit rate) and standard MPG2 and HDPRV files?
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)

Last edited by MattHelm; 01-07-2013 at 11:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2013, 12:03 PM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
Which one would you suggest for AMD hardware and .MKV (VERY high bit rate) and standard MPG2 and HDPRV files?
This

I have the Halli splitter, which came with CoreAVC, installed. Does that not work with TMT?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2013, 04:31 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
I would just get the mpc-hc splitter. It has the best compatibility from what I remember. I use MPC-HC for all blu-ray playback just because the video quality seems to be better with the LAV decoders and madVR. I can also have it switch to the correct frame rate. Also, sage doesn't support blu-ray subtitles so that's another reason I don't use it for blu-rays.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2013, 04:40 PM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I would just get the mpc-hc splitter. It has the best compatibility from what I remember. I use MPC-HC for all blu-ray playback just because the video quality seems to be better with the LAV decoders and madVR. I can also have it switch to the correct frame rate. Also, sage doesn't support blu-ray subtitles so that's another reason I don't use it for blu-rays.
I'm guessing by installing mpc-hc you get the splitter. Does Sage default to that splitter after the Sage splitter is disabled? Or do I have to do something to enable the mpc-hc splitter in Sage?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:37 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Sage splitter does have to be disabled. Installing MPC-HC won't get you the splitter, you have to manually register the filter and get the standalone version from the mpc site. I will say that disabling the sage splitter causes things to act somewhat funny in sage. Proceed with caution.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-08-2013, 12:35 PM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Sage splitter does have to be disabled. Installing MPC-HC won't get you the splitter, you have to manually register the filter and get the standalone version from the mpc site. I will say that disabling the sage splitter causes things to act somewhat funny in sage. Proceed with caution.
That is what I'm afraid of. To keep the WAF & KAF high I'll just leave it as is seeing as it is working.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-08-2013, 12:50 PM
jnmfox jnmfox is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Utah
Posts: 106
Any other suggestions on how to improve WAF on a PC client?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:56 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I would just get the mpc-hc splitter. It has the best compatibility from what I remember. I use MPC-HC for all blu-ray playback just because the video quality seems to be better with the LAV decoders and madVR. I can also have it switch to the correct frame rate. Also, sage doesn't support blu-ray subtitles so that's another reason I don't use it for blu-rays.
Is there an easy way to get MPC-HC to playback .MKV in the "Videos" area?
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:23 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
Is there an easy way to get MPC-HC to playback .MKV in the "Videos" area?
You'd have to use the external apps plugin. I convert everything to BDMV folders and use fuzzy's external player plugin. Works perfectly.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:49 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnmfox View Post
What have you guys done to make your client behave more like an extender or increase the WAF?
I see a lot of users have the USB-UIRT, is it worth it?
I have multiple extenders and one client. My client runs in a virtual instance of Windows 7 on a iMac in my kitchen.

It has taken me some time but I have gotten the system to run as well (if not better in some cases) as my HD300s.

For my codecs I use CoreAVC 3 - they work wonderfully and have low CPU utilization (well worth the couple bucks they cost).

For my remote I use the Tivo Slide Remote (with the Bluetooth keyboard). The Bluetooth on the remote is pretty much usless because to save energy it shuts off after around 10 seconds and it takes a while to reconnect to the system (I'm sure it reconnects to a Tivo fast). So I just use it in IR mode with eventghost. It works great and has a very premium feel. It can even be programed to turn your TV on and off. I'm using the built in IR sensor on my Mac but you could buy pretty much use any IR receiver with the remote.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STB and Cabling to maximize SageTV Media Extender Experience johnwmreed Hardware Support 3 06-17-2008 03:19 PM
Experience with QAM in 6.2.6 LehighBri SageTV Beta Test Software 6 08-20-2007 07:26 PM
My EPG Experience... Azam SageTV EPG Service 6 04-10-2007 10:21 AM
6.1.6=better experience... rockwella SageTV Beta Test Software 1 03-25-2007 07:42 AM
Sage upgrade and extender experience flavius SageTV Media Extender 0 01-06-2006 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.