SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:30 PM
briands briands is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 1,093
Lightbulb Comskip - STV import module possible???

As I have neither access to Studio or more imporantly programming skills, I would like to make a request to anyone with the above... PLEASE (where is the groveling smiley?) can someone create an STV import module that will add comskip functionality during playback? I understand Frey's unwillingness to do this in the base code, and I understand (sort of) the STV developers' reluctance in the case where they do not use the functionality.

Since the commercial detection and .txt file maintenance can be handled externally or on another machine, the comskip playback functionality is the only thing keeping some of these STVs from being perfect.

Is this even possible? I do not know the limitations of STV import modules...
If it is possible, what must the STV developers need to do to not break the import module functionality?

Maybe both playback and detection versions could be written? That way new detection methods could be developed.

Is this already possible and I have missed something?

If you are interested in this as well, please speak (type?) up and let your voice be heard...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:36 PM
mdmint's Avatar
mdmint mdmint is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA USofA
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by briands
Since the commercial detection and .txt file maintenance can be handled externally or on another machine, the comskip playback functionality is the only thing keeping some of these STVs from being perfect.
If I understand you correctly you mean will automatically skip through commericals during playback, it's already in Cayars STV...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:53 PM
briands briands is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 1,093
I know, but it is NOT in SageMC or Original STV either. Wouldn't it be sweet to isolate the core functionality from the UI?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2004, 01:56 PM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
Nielm said that COMSKIP could *not* be made into a module the way things are currently setup in Sage.

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2004, 02:03 PM
briands briands is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 1,093
Bummer... Well maybe Frey will incorporate it into the core application
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2004, 02:54 PM
krutaw's Avatar
krutaw krutaw is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to krutaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonJoel
Nielm said that COMSKIP could *not* be made into a module the way things are currently setup in Sage.

Jason
Blah, that's just spectacular. I love how the stv's don't all include the functionality we want, we can't get our hands on the mythical Studio to do it ourselves, and the functionality can't be added via an import module.

I am officially tired of waiting for Studio.
__________________
Warm Regards,

Andy Kruta A+, CNA, MCSA, Network+, RHCE

"It's kinda fun to do the impossible"
- Walt Disney
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2005, 03:15 PM
krutaw's Avatar
krutaw krutaw is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to krutaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonJoel
Nielm said that COMSKIP could *not* be made into a module the way things are currently setup in Sage.

Jason
Where did he say that? I've been looking high and low and can't seem to find it.
__________________
Warm Regards,

Andy Kruta A+, CNA, MCSA, Network+, RHCE

"It's kinda fun to do the impossible"
- Walt Disney
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2005, 04:25 PM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...&postcount=200
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.