SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2018, 09:05 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,876
SageTV Recordings Introduce Errors

Not sure where to put this.

I've come to realize that whatever process SageTV does to re-mux streams while recording introduces occasional errors. I've known for a while if I use the hdhomerun_config utility to capture a channel I can run them through Video Redo's Quickstream Fix without errors. If I do the same with normal SageTV recordings I generally get anywhere from a handful of audio sync errors to 30 video and audio errors.

So this weekend I noticed that OpenDCT has a raw consumer. Since I'm running on unRAID I attached SageTV's media folder to OpenDCT so it saves directly to my recordings folder without ever touching SageTV. When I run these recordings through Video Redo I get zero errors.

So what is SageTV doing that introduces errors?
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 240GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.1
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2018, 12:18 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Not sure where to put this.

I've come to realize that whatever process SageTV does to re-mux streams while recording introduces occasional errors. I've known for a while if I use the hdhomerun_config utility to capture a channel I can run them through Video Redo's Quickstream Fix without errors. If I do the same with normal SageTV recordings I generally get anywhere from a handful of audio sync errors to 30 video and audio errors.

So this weekend I noticed that OpenDCT has a raw consumer. Since I'm running on unRAID I attached SageTV's media folder to OpenDCT so it saves directly to my recordings folder without ever touching SageTV. When I run these recordings through Video Redo I get zero errors.

So what is SageTV doing that introduces errors?
Can I ask what you’re using VideoReDo for? I’ve found that Handbrake will tolerate files more often. I have had many files which VideoReDo wouldn’t even enable simple trimming of heads and tails because of a bug which freaked out if black levels changed. Not sure they’ve fixed that yet, and I told them about it last fall...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 07-09-2018 at 12:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2018, 05:03 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Can I ask what you’re using VideoReDo for? I’ve found that Handbrake will tolerate files more often. I have had many files which VideoReDo wouldn’t even enable simple trimming of heads and tails because of a bug which freaked out if black levels changed. Not sure they’ve fixed that yet, and I told them about it last fall...
Mostly just testing. Although I have had the occasional recording that refuses to be playable even on my extenders but most of the time it’s an issue with Plex. Then I use Video Redo to fix it. I try to stay away from converting with HandBrake.
__________________
Server: i5 3470, MSI H67MA-E35(B3), 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 240GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.1
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Do I Correct Genre Errors and Fanart Location Errors ThePaladinTech Batch Metadata Tools 3 05-25-2010 12:26 PM
metadata errors on new recordings raklar Batch Metadata Tools 11 05-21-2010 03:47 PM
SageTv on WHS Help with errors please meno SageTV Software 14 10-01-2009 06:44 AM
SageTV + FusionHDTV = ERRORS bob_s Hardware Support 0 03-11-2006 07:23 PM
Simultaneous multiple recordings to same external drive-Event Viewer errors sometimes mkanet SageTV Beta Test Software 1 10-06-2005 12:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.