SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2004, 06:35 PM
plawlor plawlor is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Up North, Eh!
Posts: 170
Question PVR-350 Questions...

Folks,

I know these answers are probably all out there already, but now that we're at Beta 14, the answers may have changed. Hopefully, this thread will help out a lot of people who are unsure of whether to use the 350's TV-out or not. When reading this post, please refer to my config as specified in my signature.

I have stayed away from the 350's TV-out up until now, but just gave it another try with Beta 14. Although quite impressed with the picture quality on a normal TV (awesome!) versus my nvidia Svideo out, I'm dissappointed with a couple of the physical limitations. I'd love for someone to correct my, but here is what I am seeing.

1) Cannot use my SB Audigy -- When using the 350, I cannot get sound to go out through my SB. In WinTV2000, I turned "Play Local" to "On". When using WinTV2000, it sends video to both the 350 and the desktop app and sound out through both the 350 and my Audigy card. However, even with this option enabled, Sage will only send video and audio out through the 350. I want to use my SB for audio. Is there are way to do this? If not, MP3s will be a problem...

2) DTV serial control and ExpressVu USB UIRT don't work in Beta 14 with the 350 enabled -- Please refer to other posts on this. This is definately a Beta problem and will be fixed, so I am not as concerned with this one.

3) DVDs -- If I use the 350 out, I will not be able to play DVDs in Sage.

Are these indeed limitations or can they be overcome? Thanks in advance.
__________________
[SIZE="1"]Peter L.

Sage Server - Dual Intel i7, 16 GB RAM, 4 TB RAID 0 Disk, 5 x HD-PVR (BellTV HD), 5 x USB-UIRT, Windows 7 64-Bit on VMWare ESXI 5.1, SageTV 9.x Open Source
Clients #1 to #3 - HD300
Client #4 - Shield Android TV running Mini Client
Client #5 - Sony Bravia Android TV running Mini Client
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2004, 06:37 PM
plawlor plawlor is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Up North, Eh!
Posts: 170
Here's the other thread I was referring to in point #2: http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...&threadid=4183
__________________
[SIZE="1"]Peter L.

Sage Server - Dual Intel i7, 16 GB RAM, 4 TB RAID 0 Disk, 5 x HD-PVR (BellTV HD), 5 x USB-UIRT, Windows 7 64-Bit on VMWare ESXI 5.1, SageTV 9.x Open Source
Clients #1 to #3 - HD300
Client #4 - Shield Android TV running Mini Client
Client #5 - Sony Bravia Android TV running Mini Client
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2004, 07:17 PM
krutaw's Avatar
krutaw krutaw is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to krutaw
Re: PVR-350 Questions...

Quote:
Originally posted by plawlor
Folks,

1) Cannot use my SB Audigy -- When using the 350, I cannot get sound to go out through my SB. In WinTV2000, I turned "Play Local" to "On". When using WinTV2000, it sends video to both the 350 and the desktop app and sound out through both the 350 and my Audigy card. However, even with this option enabled, Sage will only send video and audio out through the 350. I want to use my SB for audio. Is there are way to do this? If not, MP3s will be a problem...
I have the same problem, here's how I got around it. I took one of the cables that takes mini-out and convers it to 2 RCA, and I hooked the RCA ends into the ports for the PVR-350. Then, I put the other side to the input for my soundcard. Then, I take the soundcard out to the tv. This allows me to send basically anything I want to the tv.
__________________
Warm Regards,

Andy Kruta A+, CNA, MCSA, Network+, RHCE

"It's kinda fun to do the impossible"
- Walt Disney
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2004, 08:38 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Yeah, I do the same passthrough as krutaw, using the line in port on the soundcard.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2004, 07:44 AM
plawlor plawlor is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Up North, Eh!
Posts: 170
Yes, that will work. However, then my sound is only as good as the 350. The Audigy card is just "passing along" the sound from the 350. I guess when you really think about it, that's not a big deal. At least my MP3's will play through the Audigy...

I think I will give it a try, but not until #2 is fixed...

I guess we'll have to live with #3?
__________________
[SIZE="1"]Peter L.

Sage Server - Dual Intel i7, 16 GB RAM, 4 TB RAID 0 Disk, 5 x HD-PVR (BellTV HD), 5 x USB-UIRT, Windows 7 64-Bit on VMWare ESXI 5.1, SageTV 9.x Open Source
Clients #1 to #3 - HD300
Client #4 - Shield Android TV running Mini Client
Client #5 - Sony Bravia Android TV running Mini Client
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2004, 12:32 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Someone posted a utility that disables the CSS on the fly. I haven't been able to get anything playing DVDs on my system right now, so I can't say it works, but it should help a little.

My system is crashing as soon as I hit play DVD.

Anyways, here's the link to the post.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2004, 12:46 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Schweet! I will try that out when I get home tonight. Hopefully this will solve my one last challenge for my system, DVD playback.

Mike
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2004, 10:46 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
OK, I tried that software, and it caused playbackack to lock up multiple times. In other words, don't use this software with the 350.

Oh yeah, and it didn't decrypt DVD's for me.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2004, 11:19 PM
ckron's Avatar
ckron ckron is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally posted by mikejaner
OK, I tried that software, and it caused playbackack to lock up multiple times. In other words, don't use this software with the 350.

Oh yeah, and it didn't decrypt DVD's for me.

Thanks for the tip!!
__________________
Christopher Kron MCP, CNA
ATI 9100 chipset
P4 2.4GHz
PVR-350
PVR-150
ATI Radeon 9100
512MB DDR RAM
2 x 80GB HDD
MediaMVP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.