SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2021, 06:00 AM
davidk21770 davidk21770 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 497
Back-back recordings problem

A show on my cable box via ancient HD-PVR is back-back-back.
The HD-PVR needs 15 seconds to reset and move to the next recording so I tell Sage to add a minute to the end of the show which should keep it from recording back-back and losing the beginning of the next show. I should get every other show. And that is what the schedule shows.

BUT, what happens is that sage stops the 1st show as desired, then starts recording the next show late -- unscheduled. It continues to do that missing the 1st minute of each show that is -back-back-back!

I've tried everything that I can find and no setting appears to stop this behavior. (Primarily remove padding on overlapping recordings. Set, this seemed to trigger the behavior under 32 bit, reset allow it to work most of the time.)

IF I'm at my computer and stop the recording and keep the partial -- it works as expected. But if I delete the partial, it immediately starts recording again! Even though the show is in progress?

I just upgraded to 64 bit and I did it the non-recommended way of installing over a 32 bit copy and editing all file names to point to the 64 bit install. I've also had to uninstall and reinstall several plugins.

Thanks for any suggestions!

Edit -- I have change channel to record set to no.

I also remember a discussion long ago about the fact that sage could break the cable box from the HD PVR stream into multiple overlapping recordings if the channel didn't change -- it just didn't do it...
__________________
HDHomeRun x2
Cable Box via Hauppauge HD PVR and USB-UIRT
2 SageTV's HD300

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4025 MHz, 8G G.Skill Performance
DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RS Plus; SilverStone Decathlon DA1000 (died - back to an ancient enermax)
eVGA 7900 GT KO RoHS -- Zalman VP900CU Cooling
Synology NAS 22TB

Last edited by davidk21770; 04-18-2021 at 06:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2021, 02:19 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,965
Sage has some logic where it will still try to record a show even if it missed the beginning. Iím not sure how much it has to miss before it abandons the attempt altogether. There are times when this behavior makes sense - for example if that show is only on once, it may be better to get some than none. But, if the show is going to air again later, I would rather Sage just skip it and try another time.

You could try to increase your padding (maybe make it 15 minutes instead of 1). That way it may miss enough of that second show that it gives up and doesnít try to make a partial recording.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2021, 06:41 PM
davidk21770 davidk21770 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Sage has some logic where it will still try to record a show even if it missed the beginning. Iím not sure how much it has to miss before it abandons the attempt altogether. There are times when this behavior makes sense - for example if that show is only on once, it may be better to get some than none. But, if the show is going to air again later, I would rather Sage just skip it and try another time.

You could try to increase your padding (maybe make it 15 minutes instead of 1). That way it may miss enough of that second show that it gives up and doesnít try to make a partial recording.
That fixed it!
Thanks!
__________________
HDHomeRun x2
Cable Box via Hauppauge HD PVR and USB-UIRT
2 SageTV's HD300

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4025 MHz, 8G G.Skill Performance
DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RS Plus; SilverStone Decathlon DA1000 (died - back to an ancient enermax)
eVGA 7900 GT KO RoHS -- Zalman VP900CU Cooling
Synology NAS 22TB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any way to force use of 2nd tuner on back to back recordings? notverysage SageTV Software 13 02-21-2011 07:23 PM
Back to back recordings problem Phydeaux SageMC Custom Interface 8 06-25-2009 10:31 AM
Remove padding on back to back recordings on a per favorite basis? Deadbolt SageTV Software 1 04-01-2006 05:28 PM
Back to back recordings have problem Jere_Jones SageTV Software 3 08-05-2004 08:50 AM
Problem with back-to-back recordings RBTConsultants SageTV Software 0 01-06-2004 08:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.