SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2021, 09:44 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 632
Encoder Initialization Bug?

I am cross posting a thread I created here because I suspect it might be a bug with Sage and would like to get some different eyes on this for suggestions.

I have two HDPVR2s that work well about 80% of the time but the other 20% have problems initializing a recording. It gives the error:
Code:
[MainMsg@9c4132] Built:sage.EncodingException: ERROR (-6,0x80004005): There was a problem setting up hardware video compression. Please be sure you have the latest drivers installed for your capture device, and that they are installed correctly.
Mon 10/11 22:00:10.493 [DistributeHookNetClients@1d1d849] Sending hook to client for MediaPlayerError args=[Capture, ERROR (-6,0x80004005): There was a problem setting up hardware video compression. Please be sure you have the latest drivers installed for your capture device, and that they are installed correctly.]
Mon 10/11 22:00:10.494 [DistributeHookNetClients@180da3a] Sending hook to client for SystemStatusChanged args=[]
What makes me think this is a Sage issue/bug is that when I notice the error occurring with live TV, BOTH HDPVR2s will result in this error. Physically rebooting the HDPVRs does not fix the issue. Only restarting Sage will fix the issue. Also, when I know the issue is occurring, I am able to use the Hauppauge capture software with the HDPVRs.

In short, only Sage has occasional problems starting the HDPVRs, always both HDPVRs at the same time have issues, and only restarting Sage fixes the issue.

What's more annoying is that when Sage has this problem when recording a favorite, it simply records a blank file instead of trying to restart or canceling the recording and trying later. So, I need to delete these "blank" files that otherwise look like they recorded properly.

Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this or how I could troubleshoot to find any more info on it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2021, 05:27 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,646
What are your video sources? I have noticed that the HDPVR2's really stumble when the source changes, or goes to sleep even. I have not seen this problem with Sage 64bit on Win 7 64 bit (2500k CPU, 16gb memory).

I'm also using (2) HDPVR2's, can I get you a log file of mine to use for comparison? I'm not great perusing the log files.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2021, 10:19 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 632
I am using two Directv receivers set to native resolution, so there is switching there, but I haven not been able to correlate that to the problem and even tried a 12 second wait to tune time. That also wouldn't account for both HDPVRs being always out of commission at the same time.

But your resolution comment got me thinking so compared my current log files to my log files from a few years ago with my original HDPVR 1212s. With all tuners, appears that Sage initially tries to record at 720x480, 30fps. In my older logs, there would be an entry after that that says the signal was detected and that the input resolution was either 720 or 1080, like the below entries. None of my current recordings, good or bad, have that entry with the HDPVR2. I'm not sure if that means anything or Sage no longer explicitly creates those entries.

In any case, the fact that both HDPVRs always have problems at the same time and only restarting Sage fixes them still makes me think there is a bug in Sage somewhere causing this. I guess my next approach is to migrate over to the 64bit version with a fresh install and see if that fixes everything.


Code:
Sun 6/4 1:00:06.523 [MainMsg@629cbc] Signal detected!
Sun 6/4 1:00:06.550 [MainMsg@629cbc] Detected capture input resolution lines=720
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2021, 09:42 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 632
KryptoNyte, thanks for PM'ing me your log file. Your entries look completely different than mine. For example, I have much more info on the different encoding processes. Does Sage have a verbose logging mode that I somehow forgot about? If not, perhaps I just need to do a clean install with the 64 bit version.

Code:
Wed 9/29 6:39:51.231 [PooledThread@12ca9f] Playing IR tune command of 4
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.943 [MainMsg@26c17e] setEncodingProperties0 1177554952 HDPVRCustomMax
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.944 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property audiooutputmode to 0
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.944 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property audiocrc to 0
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.944 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property gopsize to 15
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.944 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property videobitrate to 8000000
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.944 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property peakvideobitrate to 13000000
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.944 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property inversetelecine to 0
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.944 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property closedgop to 0
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.945 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property vbr to 1
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.945 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property outputstreamtype to 1
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.945 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property width to 720
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.945 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property height to 480
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.945 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property audiobitrate to 384
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.945 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property audiosampling to 48000
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.945 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property disablefilter to 1
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.945 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property medianfilter to 3
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.946 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property fps to 30
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.946 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property ipb to 0
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.946 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property deinterlace to 0
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.946 [MainMsg@26c17e] Set encoding property aspectratio to 1
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.946 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 called for 1177554952 'Hauppauge Siena Video Capture-0' (ver 1.0)
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.946 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace1 
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.949 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace2 
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.949 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace3 
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.972 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace4 
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.973 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace6 
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.973 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace6-1 
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.973 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace7 
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.973 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace7-3
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.973 [MainMsg@26c17e] setupEncoding0 Trace8 
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.973 [MainMsg@26c17e] Exception from line: 866
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.973 [MainMsg@26c17e] Built:sage.EncodingException: ERROR (-6,0x80004005): There was a problem setting up hardware video compression. Please be sure you have the latest drivers installed for your capture device, and that they are installed correctly.
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.974 [DistributeHookNetClients@e96050] Sending hook to client for MediaPlayerError args=[Capture, ERROR (-6,0x80004005): There was a problem setting up hardware video compression. Please be sure you have the latest drivers installed for your capture device, and that they are installed correctly.]
Wed 9/29 6:40:00.974 [DistributeHookNetClients@12ca9f] Sending hook to client for SystemStatusChanged args=[]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2021, 04:50 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,646
If anyone knows of a way to increase the logging detail in Sage, please let me know and I'll crank it up for a more detailed log file.

If you currently have the 32 bit version of SageTV installed, it's quite safe to install the 64 bit version as a test and you can switch back and forth as you wish. The 64bit install is to a completely different folder. I just made sure that the 32 bit and 64 bit version services were not running at the same time.

Last edited by KryptoNyte; 10-21-2021 at 04:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2021, 06:01 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,475
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
If anyone knows of a way to increase the logging detail in Sage, please let me know and I'll crank it up for a more detailed log file.

If you currently have the 32 bit version of SageTV installed, it's quite safe to install the 64 bit version as a test and you can switch back and forth as you wish. The 64bit install is to a completely different folder. I just made sure that the 32 bit and 64 bit version services were not running at the same time.
Try creating a file in your main SageTV directory called "NATIVE_LOG.ENABLE". It can be empty as long as the file exists.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waiting for SageTV to finish initialization perfessor101 SageTV Software 5 10-23-2013 01:31 PM
Waiting for SageTV to finish initialization .... tmiranda SageTV Beta Test Software 2 12-18-2008 07:21 AM
PVR-150 Remote Initialization Failed code0 Hardware Support 7 02-10-2005 05:35 PM
Hauppauge 350 Remote initialization failure with 350(15)/250 MCE (OEM-16) combo cards naln Hardware Support 10 08-11-2004 11:46 PM
Possible initialization problem with multi-tuner cards carlgar SageTV Software 23 04-27-2004 07:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.