SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Phoenix

Notices

Phoenix This forum is for discussing the user-created Phoenix custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 05-31-2012, 06:55 PM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
That is because the directory is being in use or SageTV service puts privileges on it. What I normally do in the morning is to run the script with the sage service off first...
It worked, so far I see everything faster, not as in with your video, but faster overall. Thank you very much!
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 06-01-2012, 01:34 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabrielcab View Post
It worked, so far I see everything faster, not as in with your video, but faster overall. Thank you very much!
I'm really happy that you're seeing some benefit .

If you want to achieve the next level of performances (as per the video so to speak) you need to perform some extra tweaks and probably change your current workflow. I have to go now, but happy to discuss this with you next week...

Anyone else want to share their experience? Suggestions? Please do so

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 06-06-2012, 02:06 PM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 500
Would this solution speed up the browsing on a sage server/c,ient that is teh main syatem that is plugged into my tv. Would this speed up the browsing on a sage computer client or placeshifter client?
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 3.5 terrabyte storage, Windows 8 Pro on sage 9.09 system . Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 6000 8 useable gig ram on win 7 32 bit media server.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 06-06-2012, 02:13 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnadeau View Post
Would this solution speed up the browsing on a sage server/c,ient that is teh main syatem that is plugged into my tv. Would this speed up the browsing on a sage computer client or placeshifter client?
I think it will be beneficial in every case as what it does it caches your fanart cache (not the fanart repository) into a RAM disk which is faster than any HDD/SDD. So, yes, you'll see some benefit, however the real gain is on extenders.

EDIT:
BTW, in my signature there is a YouTube link to a video that shows my HD300 in action...
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 06-06-2012 at 02:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:13 PM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 500
So would setting it up the way you have written the instructions work for all of them? The server, client and placeshifter? or do I need to do something different on each one for setting up?
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 3.5 terrabyte storage, Windows 8 Pro on sage 9.09 system . Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 6000 8 useable gig ram on win 7 32 bit media server.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:23 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnadeau View Post
So would setting it up the way you have written the instructions work for all of them? The server, client and placeshifter? or do I need to do something different on each one for setting up?
I think the OSFMount and Junction instructions are valid and necessary to all of them, the batch script as it is for the server side (extender will benefit directly as well) and some tweak to the script are necessary for the client and placeshifter.
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:51 PM
rnadeau's Avatar
rnadeau rnadeau is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 500
Is the batch file setup so that any new movies I add to the system that has fanart saved from the internet will be copied to the hard drive in the proper location?
__________________
Sage Tv Server-Amd 4200FX quad core, Asus Nvidia EN610 Hdmi out , 8 Gig Ram ,(3) HVR-1800, 3.5 terrabyte storage, Windows 8 Pro on sage 9.09 system . Media Server- 6 Terabytes on 5 drives, Amd x2 6000 8 useable gig ram on win 7 32 bit media server.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:53 PM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
I think the OSFMount and Junction instructions are valid and necessary to all of them, the batch script as it is for the server side (extender will benefit directly as well) and some tweak to the script are necessary for the client and placeshifter.
That video es amazing, do you have all your videos in separated folders or all your videos are inside in a single folder?
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:10 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabrielcab View Post
That video es amazing, do you have all your videos in separated folders or all your videos are inside in a single folder?
All the videos are in separate standard DVD and BR folders as appropriate and located into two separate HP Micro servers each capable of 12Tb max storage. The metadata are all stored into the Wiz.bin.
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 06-06-2012, 06:40 PM
gabrielcab gabrielcab is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
All the videos are in separate standard DVD and BR folders as appropriate and located into two separate HP Micro servers each capable of 12Tb max storage. The metadata are all stored into the Wiz.bin.
Maybe this question is too noobish, but how do you store the metadata in the wiz.bin?
__________________
Waiting for Sage 8.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 06-07-2012, 12:36 AM
deanm deanm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North East, UK
Posts: 305
I had played around with your script a few weeks ago but only seen little improvement. Further testing is needed on my part as I'm using Diamond and did notice it works different to Phoenix. However I have sence noticed you have modified the script to work with Diamond. So will be playing around again today.


Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
- Whether you have the scaling of your fanart enabled or not (mine are all disabled as I produce the right size at the source ignoring BMT, so posters are 256x360 and backgrounds 1024x576 looking good on a 110" screen)
I'm impressed with your video so part of my plan today is check the fanart dimensions. Can I ask what process do you use to change the fanart to the dimensions above?

I also shut my SageTv server down every night and was wondering how you manage this for when ever you reboot/shutdown your server? I don't want the fanart re-cached every time I reboot/shutdown. So was think of writing a script to copy the ram disk back to a HDD when shutdown and then copy back on start up. What's your thoughts?
__________________
Darkside: DVB-C x4 DVB-T2 x2 HD-300 x4
Lightside: DVB-C x2 DVB-T2 x4 HD-300 x3
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 06-07-2012, 02:59 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabrielcab View Post
Maybe this question is too noobish, but how do you store the metadata in the wiz.bin?
Metadata are automatically stored in the Wiz.bin by BMT, where you have the options to create the separate properties file with a batch operation.
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 06-07-2012, 03:37 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanm View Post
I'm impressed with your video so part of my plan today is check the fanart dimensions. Can I ask what process do you use to change the fanart to the dimensions above?
Sure. I trying to keep as short as possible
  • Manual BMT for metadata, but I keep only the background and discard the posters.
  • I use this website for high quality cover art.
  • Gimp: Cut, colour/white balance and scale down (Interpolation: Sinc [Lanczos3]) the cover art to exactly 364x512 pixels. Save (on your local machine with the same name as the final folder) as JPG, 90%, Optimize, Progressive, 0% Smoothing, Subsampling 1x1,1x1,1x1, DCT: Floating-Point.
  • Gimp: Cut, colour/white balance and scale down (Interpolation: Sinc [Lanczos3]) the background art to exactly 1024x576 pixels. Save (straight into your fanart repository renaming as "folder.jpg" so that you can perform batch operations if you wish in the future) as JPG, 40-50% max, Optimize, Progressive, 0.50% Smoothing, Subsampling 1x1,1x1,1x1, DCT: Floating-Point.
  • Irfanview: Batch operation from my local high quality cover art repository into Fanart repository, renaming to "folder.jpg", resizing to 320x256, disabling chroma subsampling (very important), quality 30%.
Of course all the above are the passages, hovewer all the math/reasons behind this will require a separate thread
Quote:
I also shut my SageTv server down every night and was wondering how you manage this for when ever you reboot/shutdown your server? I don't want the fanart re-cached every time I reboot/shutdown. So was think of writing a script to copy the ram disk back to a HDD when shutdown and then copy back on start up. What's your thoughts?
I don't bother really. I don't generate the cache for the posters so my cache is pretty small hence I don't need to store elsewhere for the night. Just be aware that if you're planning to backup your cache like that it will create a big disk fragmentation in a very short time
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:10 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnadeau View Post
Is the batch file setup so that any new movies I add to the system that has fanart saved from the internet will be copied to the hard drive in the proper location?
I think you're referring to the first batch file, isn't it? I suggest to look at v3 & v4 as I did further investigation at that time and found out that there were no benefit on copying the original Fanart repository into the RAM disk, but only trouble.

I hope it helps...
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:20 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Batch file usage...

I would like to say that the batch files in this thread reflect more or less my personal use case and they are not intended to cover all the possible use cases. They are only a general guideline on how to use the OSFMount and Junctions as general way to cache/improve file access on you SageTV server.

As you understand I can't maintain different files for different use cases, I did it yes, but it was a one off, however I'll do my best to help and try to answer to your questions...

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 12-03-2012, 02:19 PM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
Will this process work for "gemstone"?
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 12-03-2012, 03:26 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter69 View Post
Will this process work for "gemstone"?
I don't use Gemstone so I can't help you on that, sorry...however if gemstone caches the thumbnails somewhere in the HDD, then this mechanism will help you to improve the overall speed as the read and write is done into two separate drive (HDD for read / RamDisk for write), but most importantly if you run the OS from SSD you will keep the fragmentation wear, down to ZERO!

EDIT: In attachment my current script, hope it helps...

Eddy
Attached Files
File Type: zip FanartRamDisk.zip (725 Bytes, 148 views)
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 12-03-2012 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 12-03-2012, 04:34 PM
Hunter69 Hunter69 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
I don't use Gemstone so I can't help you on that, sorry...however if gemstone caches the thumbnails somewhere in the HDD, then this mechanism will help you to improve the overall speed as the read and write is done into two separate drive (HDD for read / RamDisk for write), but most importantly if you run the OS from SSD you will keep the fragmentation wear, down to ZERO!

EDIT: In attachment my current script, hope it helps...

Eddy
So from my reading gemstone originated from diamond. I asked the question in the gemstone forum. Now that the forum is back up, I need to go home and fix my extender after I tried updating phoenix and it failed.

Thanks for the quick response
__________________
Server: Antec 300, AMD Phenom 9750, 4 gig ram, 4 tb-with pooled recording , Lite on Blu-ray drive
Tuners: 2 HD-PVR, 1 HDHR
Clients: 2 HD200
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 12-03-2012, 06:40 PM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter69 View Post
So from my reading gemstone originated from diamond. I asked the question in the gemstone forum. Now that the forum is back up, I need to go home and fix my extender after I tried updating phoenix and it failed.

Thanks for the quick response
I seem to remember that Gemstone developers did quite an impressive job on cache optimization and therefore this mechanism shouldn't be necessary anymore, therefore you might want to explore adding software disk cache solutions like "SuperCache" or "FancyCache" for the ultimate gear.

In the end what in my opinion really matters is how big your posters and backgrounds are, the file format being used and how they get scaled. Please bear in mind that my solution assumes using the "Sage Fanart Plugin" by JREKiwi and disabling all the plugin's scaling options as I provide optimal size/quality files already, and that plays a big difference.

Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard

Last edited by routerunner; 12-03-2012 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 12-08-2012, 05:11 PM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,653
Fuzzy,

What are you using for you read-only disk cache?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cache, extender, fanart, ramdisk


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Recordings - large thumbnail fanart displayed on top of poster fanart mkanet Diamond 5 03-25-2011 03:33 PM
BMT / Fanart / Themes Leveraging Fanart? Addict SageTV v7 Customizations 2 09-09-2010 05:38 AM
Fanart: Complete Fanart Collection... 4000 Movies and TV shows mkanet SageTV Customizations 24 04-20-2010 03:31 PM
Can someone who uses fanart please answer an easy question mkanet SageMC Custom Interface 5 06-15-2009 04:59 PM
SageMC, Fanart, MediaScraper & Central FanArt folder structure Ė Help requested rmac321 SageMC Custom Interface 24 06-14-2009 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.