SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2007, 06:43 AM
infocus13's Avatar
infocus13 infocus13 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 199
Can STV Do TV-Off Via HDMI/DVI?

Does this functionality exist? Can I set STV to switch off my TV automatically after a certain period of inactivity using the HDMI/DVI connection that I use to connect it to my ATI 2600pro?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2007, 07:10 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Not that I know of. I thought only video goes thu DVI and video and audio can go thru HDMI.


gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2007, 08:14 AM
jdamore jdamore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkatchalov View Post
Does this functionality exist? Can I set STV to switch off my TV automatically after a certain period of inactivity using the HDMI/DVI connection that I use to connect it to my ATI 2600pro?

Thanks in advance.
These are things you can with something like girder and a usb-uirt (or serial control) but not via HDMI/DVI.

HDMI I believe has IR passthrough as well but, that wont help you.

One thing you can try is some TVs auto power down when they are receiving no signal (DVI/HDMI). I have a LG plasma that I can get into the manufacturer parameters an change the timeout time to one minute. On the PC, go into your power settings and change "turn monitor off" to the amount of time you would like. Once the PC sends No Signal to your TV it will shut off after the TV times out.

Just a thought..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2007, 08:38 AM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
Yes however I have not yet done it.


There is a sleep timer plugin in the customizations. One of the things it can do is execute a command on sleep. If that is a command to EventGhost or Girder or any number of applications it can send IR, RS232 and ? to the TV.

You would need to find an application that would send the signal via the HDMI connection if thats all you have available. That part I dunno about.



As jdamore mentioned it may also be present inside the TV, I know my Dell if it gets no input on the VGA port after so many minutes (probably too many) it shuts itself off. Hence it would require no commands to power down. If this is the case EventGhost or Girder can shut off the monitor after the timer runs out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple (but effective) security for any STV Lester Jacobs SageTV Customizations 5 12-17-2010 03:21 PM
STV: SageMC 16x9 Version 6.x (latest dev build) dflachbart SageMC Custom Interface 6112 04-04-2008 11:16 PM
Retaining STV Imports after Upgrading SageTV dbfresh23 SageTV Software 2 03-05-2006 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.