SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2010, 06:23 PM
Email68 Email68 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N. Cal.
Posts: 109
HD300 and the .17 RC

When updating to the .17 Release Candidate, do you need to update the HD300 to the newly released beta firmware?

I updated to .17 and my HD300's are very sluggish now. I did not update to the HD300 beta that just came out a couple of days ago.

-Tim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2010, 06:50 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,175
You don't need a firmware update, but there was an update on the 21st. I update the firmware ASAP, so I don't know if it speeds things up or not.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2010, 09:11 PM
Email68 Email68 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N. Cal.
Posts: 109
I'm not sure, but I think I got that update. The update I installed was the one offered to me on the HD300 when I first hooked them up.

I found in the warning messages three warnings of out of memory problems. So I went back to .16. So far so good.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2010, 03:06 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Email68 View Post
I'm not sure, but I think I got that update. The update I installed was the one offered to me on the HD300 when I first hooked them up.

I found in the warning messages three warnings of out of memory problems. So I went back to .16. So far so good.
If you're having out of memory problems with 7.0.17; then please reinstall it and submit a bug report so we can get details on why it was occurring. http://sagetv.com/bugs.html

Thanks
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2010, 03:47 PM
Email68 Email68 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N. Cal.
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
If you're having out of memory problems with 7.0.17; then please reinstall it and submit a bug report so we can get details on why it was occurring. http://sagetv.com/bugs.html

Thanks
OK, but the family may not be to happy about it

Do I need to do the HD300 beta 20100921?

Right now I'm running 20100909-0.

Last edited by Email68; 09-26-2010 at 04:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2010, 06:22 PM
Email68 Email68 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N. Cal.
Posts: 109
already started becoming laggy with just two HD extenders watching DVD's. Third extender moving around the menus caused the system to stop all playback and loose connections to the server.

Running on a stock HP Home Media Server EX495 2.5Ghz Dual processor, and 2G ram.

Having to reboot server to get service back. Will have to downgrade to .16 again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2010, 12:38 AM
Email68 Email68 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N. Cal.
Posts: 109
OK, I still have .17 on.

Searching the forums I found out about JVM Heap Size. I found mine was maxing out at 400. I changed the registry to 1024 and now I can play dvd's on all four of my HD300's at the same time.

Now, how will that setting affect the server? It only has 2Gs. Is the 1024 setting too high?

-Tim
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 UI SteinyD SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 29 10-27-2010 08:51 AM
Playback of HD 4:2:2 on HD300? pendragonsound SageTV Media Extender 21 09-26-2010 01:35 AM
HD300 and PAL doc SageTV Beta Test Software 4 09-24-2010 05:31 AM
HD300 questions lovingHDTV SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 7 09-02-2010 09:42 AM
HD300? jpaddock3000 General Discussion 64 07-04-2010 06:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.