SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2017, 01:03 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Plex Including Comskip Support?

I'm not using the Plex Pass versions so I don't know yet what it means but this one liner appears in the latest change log:

Code:
(DVR) Added functionality to remove commercials from recorded content (#5633)
Will be interesting to see what this means.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2017, 01:11 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
So I switched to the Plex Pass version to check it out. Here is the option in the DVR Settings. Apparently it will completely remove detected commercials from the video. That's kind of scary considering how inaccurate comskip can be at times.
Attached Images
File Type: png PlexDVRSettings.png (287.2 KB, 98 views)
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2017, 02:06 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,685
Is this just if you are using Plex as a DVR and on TV that Plex is recording? Or will it work on any video file? From that attached image it looks like it is a DVR setting.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2017, 02:20 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Is this just if you are using Plex as a DVR and on TV that Plex is recording? Or will it work on any video file? From that attached image it looks like it is a DVR setting.
I'm not entirely sure. I switched back to the public branch. If I had to make an educated guess I'd have to say it's part of the DVR functionality.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2017, 03:20 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Is this just if you are using Plex as a DVR and on TV that Plex is recording? Or will it work on any video file? From that attached image it looks like it is a DVR setting.
It is part of the DVR function ... you set it when you setup your recording to cut commercials.

I run Plex on my WD PR4100 and I have been testing it so far accurate commercial cuts not sure what they are using but it works... Very low CPU usage on my NAS.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 11-27-2017 at 03:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2017, 03:46 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,506
Version 1.10.0.4516 New
(Web) Updated Plex Web to 3.27.1
(DVR) Added functionality to remove commercials from recorded content
(Live) Added the ability to seek within an active recording, with client support
(Transcoder) Support for hardware decoding of 10-bit HEVC

Still No program guide Boooo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2017, 04:06 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,099
They are using Comskip donator version.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2017, 09:23 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
They are using Comskip donator version.
Got a link? Am curious if we would be able to fool it into reading our .edl files.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-28-2017, 07:46 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Got a link? Am curious if we would be able to fool it into reading our .edl files.
But .edl files work at playback - it looks like they are running a process at, or just after, recording that actually edits commercials out of the video file.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-28-2017, 08:14 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
But .edl files work at playback - it looks like they are running a process at, or just after, recording that actually edits commercials out of the video file.
That is the impression I get from this.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-28-2017, 01:39 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
Yeah, not sure why they wouldn't just mark the commercials and allow skipping/seeking instead of cutting them out.
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-28-2017, 03:55 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
Yeah, not sure why they wouldn't just mark the commercials and allow skipping/seeking instead of cutting them out.
I don't know if this still matters but that likely would give them more cover if they get sued by Hollywood. Didn't ReplayTV get sued into bankruptcy due to commercial cutting/skipping?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:14 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I don't know if this still matters but that likely would give them more cover if they get sued by Hollywood. Didn't ReplayTV get sued into bankruptcy due to commercial cutting/skipping?
You do know that TiVo and Dish have it
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:30 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,685
But my understanding is that the content doesn't get deleted and you have to manually push a button to skip through the commercial break, at least with TiVo. Maybe DTV is different. This is from TiVo's website (see bullets 3 and 4 in particular):

Quote:
SkipMode - Things to know
  • For popular shows, our team usually has SkipMode information updated for a show within 1 hour of the show ending.
  • SkipMode only applies to recorded programs, and only to recorded programs which have been marked for commercials by our team. SkipMode can't fast-forward live television.
  • SkipMode requires you to use the remote to skip sections. The TiVo device itself does not automatically skip through the commercial breaks.
  • When you use SkipMode, the commercial breaks are being skipped. The commercial breaks have not been removed from the program.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:56 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
It works really well on a TiVo for the shows which are supported. It's almost near instant. The way it works on SageTV is very similar.
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-29-2017, 09:36 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
But .edl files work at playback - it looks like they are running a process at, or just after, recording that actually edits commercials out of the video file.
True. That's my worry. A lot of my shows would be ruined if the file was cut and the original deleted.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-05-2017, 09:52 AM
farscapesg1 farscapesg1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 202
As a Plex DVR convert, I'll be looking forward to testing this out on a few non-important recordings but I'm not holding my breath. Instead of automatically cutting the commercials, I wish they would improve their chapter marker support (I think IOS devices are the only ones that support chapter markers outside of movies). Having used both Showanalyzer and Comskip over the years with SageTV, I never felt like either did a good enough job of detecting commercials to cut them completely and always configured my SageTV setup to show the commercial blocks but turned off automatic skip because too often I would have to skip back/forwards slightly anyways.

I will say one thing about the Plex DVR... I thought losing the EPG would be a big deal but for our use it has pretty much been a non-issue. Even with SageTV we rarely looked at the guide as we don't do any channel surfing. For us, set and forget favorites and move on. If there is a new show we want to record I just set a reminder on my phone to check the Plex "guide" that day and set a series recording.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WoW Plex add direct 3rdparty TV Tuner support SHS General Discussion 1 06-07-2017 08:42 AM
Plex 4.0 - better peruse the Plex.forum before updating.... tvmaster2 General Discussion 18 08-17-2015 10:16 AM
SageMC questions including FanArt support ?'s heffneil SageMC Custom Interface 5 03-27-2009 06:50 PM
STV Import: Comskip Playback w/ support for EDL sundansx SageTV Customizations 126 10-04-2007 12:20 PM
v3.0 Original STV with COMSKIP support JasonJoel SageTV Customizations 4 07-24-2005 04:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.