SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #301  
Old 10-16-2012, 12:03 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I'm betting most HD300 users haven't even encountered the bugs you are talking about (I know I'm not aware of any).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 10-16-2012, 12:21 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
If you look around you'll find plenty of talk about people seeking out arbitrary firmwares that may or may not work better with HBR bitstreaming, I'm definitely not the only one.

I guess maybe it's time I finally bite the bullet and seriously save for a Kaleidescape. I bet there I won't get told my issues aren't real/important because "most people" don't see them.
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 10-16-2012, 12:45 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
... I guess maybe it's time I finally bite the bullet and seriously save for a Kaleidescape. I bet there I won't get told my issues aren't real/important because "most people" don't see them.
That's alot of saving, more like an intense bonus to get that sysetm. I for one care about HBR, just dropped a lot for a new flat screen, and more to come on a new AVR. I am with you on the sound front!
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 10-16-2012, 01:07 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
If you look around you'll find plenty of talk about people seeking out arbitrary firmwares that may or may not work better with HBR bitstreaming, I'm definitely not the only one.

I guess maybe it's time I finally bite the bullet and seriously save for a Kaleidescape. I bet there I won't get told my issues aren't real/important because "most people" don't see them.
Why don't you just get a Dune or something? Full menu support and everything.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 10-16-2012, 02:49 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
I think everyones issue here, If your looking at the Echo, is not wanting two solutions to do the same thing. I mean I have 5 Sage systems in use today. I was looking to replace that with 5 Echos. So now I would need 5 Echos and 5 Dunes? Doesn't make sense. For me I am going to keep running Sage for stored content and use the Echo for live/recorded tv.

I wish I never heard the word CableCard at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 10-16-2012, 02:52 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I guess maybe it's time I finally bite the bullet and seriously save for a Kaleidescape. I bet there I won't get told my issues aren't real/important because "most people" don't see them.
No-one is telling you your issues aren't real or important. Of course they are - to you. I, for one, would never think of putting an HD300 in my living room, mostly because the UI is painfully slow compared to a client, so i never even noticed a problem with HBR audio (as I'm sure many other have not as well). I get perfect bitstreaming from my client in the living room, so it isn't an issue FOR ME. That is all I was saying. I also pointed out that many people would still gladly purchase new HD300's, even if nothing was changed on it since last June - which is what I meant by market-presentable.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 10-16-2012, 03:24 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skybolt View Post
I think everyones issue here, If your looking at the Echo, is not wanting two solutions to do the same thing. I mean I have 5 Sage systems in use today. I was looking to replace that with 5 Echos. So now I would need 5 Echos and 5 Dunes? Doesn't make sense. For me I am going to keep running Sage for stored content and use the Echo for live/recorded tv.

I wish I never heard the word CableCard at this point.
I was saying if someone were to COMPLETELY do away with their sage system. Then you could go the dune/what ever other tv box you choose route. I wouldn't unless I absolutely had to. I've got everything on one box now, why would I want to change that?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 10-16-2012, 05:23 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
Why don't you just get a Dune or something? Full menu support and everything.
I couldn't care less about menu support, I've sort of been looking at the Dune, and it's getting better but they don't sound quite fully baked still.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
No-one is telling you your issues aren't real or important. Of course they are - to you.
Sorry, I've heard similar things too much on AVS from a few who feel they need to defent and promote HTPCs to such an extent that they seem to almost want to bury any talk of them not being the greatest thing ever.

Quote:
I, for one, would never think of putting an HD300 in my living room, mostly because the UI is painfully slow compared to a client, so i never even noticed a problem with HBR audio (as I'm sure many other have not as well). I get perfect bitstreaming from my client in the living room, so it isn't an issue FOR ME.
Do you get that in Sage or do you have to jump out to TMT or PowerDVD? Because I can't stand PowerDVD and I don't very much like TMT either.

Quote:
That is all I was saying. I also pointed out that many people would still gladly purchase new HD300's, even if nothing was changed on it since last June - which is what I meant by market-presentable.
My point was regardless of if people would buy it, if you sell it, people expect support and Google clearly doesn't want to provide any support for Sage beyond basic troubleshooting.
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 10-16-2012, 05:39 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I couldn't care less about menu support, I've sort of been looking at the Dune, and it's getting better but they don't sound quite fully baked still.

Sorry, I've heard similar things too much on AVS from a few who feel they need to defent and promote HTPCs to such an extent that they seem to almost want to bury any talk of them not being the greatest thing ever.

Do you get that in Sage or do you have to jump out to TMT or PowerDVD? Because I can't stand PowerDVD and I don't very much like TMT either.
Depends on the movie/rip. If it is ripped to MKV (which most of mine are), then it plays back in Sage. Otherwise, for full bluray rips or direct playback from disc,(usually movies that I want menus, or 3D movies) I launch TMT... though I don't know how it makes a difference - in my setup, you really can't even tell you are in one or the other short of a different timebar, and different reaction to the FF and RW buttons. The buttons on the remote do essentially the same thing. I never 'interact' with TMT. It is launched direct from sage into the movie, and pressing the EXIT button on my remote brings be back to the sage home screen.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post

My point was regardless of if people would buy it, if you sell it, people expect support and Google clearly doesn't want to provide any support for Sage beyond basic troubleshooting.
That's really all Sage has ever offered, support wise, anyways. It's not like they ran a large phone call center for support - I think they had, at most, 6 employees in the entire company.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 10-16-2012, 06:46 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
That's really all Sage has ever offered, support wise, anyways. It's not like they ran a large phone call center for support - I think they had, at most, 6 employees in the entire company.
But they would go back and forth by email (with the devs) and they would fix things and release new software/firmware. Google has no interest in that. They seem to have kept George there as troubleshooting tech support, but anything that requires more just gets sent off into a black hole never to be seen again. If they were still selling HD300's, that level of support would be expected.
Reply With Quote
  #311  
Old 10-17-2012, 01:38 PM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
In a lot of ways, I'm glad Sage stopped selling all Sage Software and hardware (even if I wish I could have picked up a couple more HD300's). I wouldn't want Sage doing what BeyondTV did: Selling their consumer software licenses well after they stopped supporting them. People who weren't paying attention really got burned on that.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 10-17-2012, 01:45 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbeers View Post
In a lot of ways, I'm glad Sage stopped selling all Sage Software and hardware (even if I wish I could have picked up a couple more HD300's). I wouldn't want Sage doing what BeyondTV did: Selling their consumer software licenses well after they stopped supporting them. People who weren't paying attention really got burned on that.
Yeah, but that's why early in the acquisition, we were really only asking for Client licenses (mostly as replacements for eventual extender failures). This would not bring the uninitiated into the fold, but would at least allow current customers to maintain, and even expand, their systems. If the marketplace forum hadn't opened, I'm quite certain there would be a slew of client keys floating around the net 'fixing' the issue in ways that only the internet can.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 10-17-2012, 01:51 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulbeers View Post
In a lot of ways, I'm glad Sage stopped selling all Sage Software and hardware (even if I wish I could have picked up a couple more HD300's). I wouldn't want Sage doing what BeyondTV did: Selling their consumer software licenses well after they stopped supporting them. People who weren't paying attention really got burned on that.
They still affected a small number of customers, and at the time, you heard their complaints on the forum. These people are customers who just got started investing in SageTV, and they just got it up and running and haven't bought client licenses and extenders. So all of a sudden, they couldn't buy that extra client license or that extra extender for the bedroom, or they couldn't upgrade to the new v7 at the time, etc.

Since then, Jeff did addressed most of these issues. First, he allowed v6 customers to upgrade to v7 for free. And then a few months ago, he allowed people to sell licenses and hardware in the SageTV Marketplace forum. So yes, even though a small number of customers got screwed after the Google acquisition, Jeff did do the right thing in the end, unlike what Snapstream did.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 10-17-2012, 02:00 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
I just wonder if once the fiber project is up and running (and stable) that Jeff and co will actually be able to work on "our" sagetv. There has never been any mention of "our" version stopping development, just a hiatus (from what I've seen jeff say on g+ and here.) I doubt he'd string us along when he knows that Kansas City is the only test bed for Google Fiber. I could also be totally wrong.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:53 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I just wonder if once the fiber project is up and running (and stable) that Jeff and co will actually be able to work on "our" sagetv. There has never been any mention of "our" version stopping development, just a hiatus (from what I've seen jeff say on g+ and here.) I doubt he'd string us along when he knows that Kansas City is the only test bed for Google Fiber. I could also be totally wrong.
As long as Brent@GeekTonic (who lives in KC) is happy, Jeff is happy.. :-)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #316  
Old 10-17-2012, 03:57 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
He used to be one of the most frequent posters here but he has been kind of MIA for the last little while.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 10-17-2012, 09:04 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
I hope Panteragstk is right and it seems possible. I had high hopes for the Ceton Echo, but now that they have laid an egg, I'm going to hope what Panteragstk has said works out before my extenders start failing (until then I am very happy with my current Sage setup).
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 10-18-2012, 07:05 AM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 391
I'm hoping that Google creates an extender for there new dvr boxes and that will be backwards compatible with the sagetv server software. I have a feeling they must have a plan to use this dvr boxes for more than just Kansas City.
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 10-18-2012, 07:12 AM
brainbone brainbone is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 624
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechling-burgh View Post
I have a feeling they must have a plan to use this dvr boxes for more than just Kansas City.
We'll likely see a version of it that will work over any broadband connection, but it will not be compatible with any of our existing hardware or software, unless it's Android based -- and even then, products that are unable to run the most recent Android OS at the time will probably be incompatible.

It will be a cable TV alternative, not a device to augment cable TV like Google TV was.
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 10-18-2012, 09:46 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
And then those existing broadband companies will start throttling bandwidth from google's servers, making it a poor option.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV 3rd Party Devs & Google Acquisition Brent The SageTV Community 34 06-28-2011 10:17 AM
Comments - SageTV v7 theguru SageTV Software 3 11-19-2010 11:24 PM
Thanks to the SageTV community!!! jack_leach General Discussion 33 03-31-2009 03:21 PM
My Comments on SageTV... ianscrap General Discussion 3 11-12-2007 05:34 PM
New SageTV community website ErsatzTom General Discussion 12 09-09-2004 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.