SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2011, 09:36 PM
ptzink ptzink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 299
PowerDVD 11 Codec?

I just installed PowerDVD 11 trial on my SageTV Client and I do not see the Cyberlink PowerDVD Video Codec in my list of mpeg2 or H.264 decoders. I tried rebooting to see if that was the issue. Still no PDVD codecs listed even when I click the "List all decoders" option. Any suggestions?
__________________
Server: SageTV Media Center 7.1.19, Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Pentium Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, (1) Hauppauge HVR-2250, (1) Hauppauge HVR-1600, 1.5 TB of recording space
Android MiniClient: Nvidia Shield TV (16GB) HDMI out to Samsung LN46C630 46" LCD
Extender: STP-HD300, beta firmware "20110506-0", HDMI out to LG 37LD450 37" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2011, 06:58 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Sometimes the trial version will not expose itself to other applications.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2011, 07:18 AM
ptzink ptzink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 299
Bummer. That would be my only reason for purchasing PowerDVD (or at least my main reason). Is there any workaround to make it show up? I still get a hiccup here and there with the MS decoder and was going to give the PDVD decoder a try.
__________________
Server: SageTV Media Center 7.1.19, Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Pentium Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, (1) Hauppauge HVR-2250, (1) Hauppauge HVR-1600, 1.5 TB of recording space
Android MiniClient: Nvidia Shield TV (16GB) HDMI out to Samsung LN46C630 46" LCD
Extender: STP-HD300, beta firmware "20110506-0", HDMI out to LG 37LD450 37" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2011, 07:22 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Not that I'm aware of. And be careful on what you purchase. I've seen before where the player will not expose itself to the application. Only a version of the decoder designed to be used with other apps would work.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2011, 07:49 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
The newest pdvd codecs that I've been able to get to work with sage is v8. TMT seems to work better, but most of us use v3 not v5. The trial of pdvd won't expose the decoder, you have to activate it with a blu-ray licence. Same as pdvd8 as I found out a few months ago.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2011, 02:29 PM
ptzink ptzink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 299
Success! You must manually register the decoders with Windows to get them to show up in Sage. I wanted to document the process here for anyone looking to do this in the future.
  1. Open up a command prompt. If in 7/Vista, you will need to right click on the Command Prompt shortcut and select Run as Administrator.
  2. Type "regsvr32 'C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDVD11\Common\VideoFilter\CLCvd.ax'" and press enter (NOTE: Location will vary based on OS. Browse to the folder in Explorer to make sure you have the correct path)
  3. You will get a popup window to confirm that the filter has been installed successfully
  4. Open SageTV and go to Setup>Detailed Setup>Video/Audio and select one of your video filters
  5. At the pop up, select the List all Decoders option. Click Yes on the warning.
  6. Scroll down to the Cs and you should find Cyberlink Video Decoder (PDVD11) (as well as the Cyberlink HAM Decoder). Select it and enjoy.
  7. You can repeat this process to register the other filters (*.ax) in the VideoFilters folder. Not sure what they are all used/good for at this point.
__________________
Server: SageTV Media Center 7.1.19, Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Pentium Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, (1) Hauppauge HVR-2250, (1) Hauppauge HVR-1600, 1.5 TB of recording space
Android MiniClient: Nvidia Shield TV (16GB) HDMI out to Samsung LN46C630 46" LCD
Extender: STP-HD300, beta firmware "20110506-0", HDMI out to LG 37LD450 37" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2011, 03:05 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptzink View Post
Success! You must manually register the decoders with Windows to get them to show up in Sage. I wanted to document the process here for anyone looking to do this in the future.
  1. Open up a command prompt. If in 7/Vista, you will need to right click on the Command Prompt shortcut and select Run as Administrator.
  2. Type "regsvr32 'C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDVD11\Common\VideoFilter\CLCvd.ax'" and press enter (NOTE: Location will vary based on OS. Browse to the folder in Explorer to make sure you have the correct path)
  3. You will get a popup window to confirm that the filter has been installed successfully
  4. Open SageTV and go to Setup>Detailed Setup>Video/Audio and select one of your video filters
  5. At the pop up, select the List all Decoders option. Click Yes on the warning.
  6. Scroll down to the Cs and you should find Cyberlink Video Decoder (PDVD11) (as well as the Cyberlink HAM Decoder). Select it and enjoy.
  7. You can repeat this process to register the other filters (*.ax) in the VideoFilters folder. Not sure what they are all used/good for at this point.
Does the pdvd 11 decoder work in sage?
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2011, 03:17 PM
ptzink ptzink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 299
Sure seems to work fine on my XP "test" machine. I will have to try out on my Win 7 client tonight.
__________________
Server: SageTV Media Center 7.1.19, Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Pentium Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, (1) Hauppauge HVR-2250, (1) Hauppauge HVR-1600, 1.5 TB of recording space
Android MiniClient: Nvidia Shield TV (16GB) HDMI out to Samsung LN46C630 46" LCD
Extender: STP-HD300, beta firmware "20110506-0", HDMI out to LG 37LD450 37" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2011, 08:57 AM
gsfitz gsfitz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Humble, TX.
Posts: 30
I am interested in what you find with these codecs. Each time I try to use version 9 or 10 codecs in Sage V7 the program crashes when playing any MKV movie after 1 minute of play. This happens with any MKV file.

I've even tried the Nvidia codec LAV CUVID which stops the crashing of Sage but the video quality turns to crap after 1 minute into the movie.

I don't know what is happening after 1 min of playing these MKV files but I would appreciate any help solving this.

FYI: I updated Sage V6 with the latest V7 program. Stopped using FFDSHOW due to poor quality MKV playback. FFDSHOW never crashed V6 or V7.

My client is WXP SP3, Athlon 64 X2 3800+, 2G Ram, Nvidia GE Force 9500

Thanks in advance,
Greg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2011, 10:17 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsfitz View Post
I am interested in what you find with these codecs. Each time I try to use version 9 or 10 codecs in Sage V7 the program crashes when playing any MKV movie after 1 minute of play. This happens with any MKV file.

I've even tried the Nvidia codec LAV CUVID which stops the crashing of Sage but the video quality turns to crap after 1 minute into the movie.

I don't know what is happening after 1 min of playing these MKV files but I would appreciate any help solving this.

FYI: I updated Sage V6 with the latest V7 program. Stopped using FFDSHOW due to poor quality MKV playback. FFDSHOW never crashed V6 or V7.

My client is WXP SP3, Athlon 64 X2 3800+, 2G Ram, Nvidia GE Force 9500

Thanks in advance,
Greg
I've had this happen with certain MKV's as well. It turned out that the mkv itself had issues. Granted it happened when I played them in another player so that was easy to test.

Try going into the registry and changing the key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Frey Technologies\Common\DirectShow\EnableSageTVStreamDemux=0" to disable the sage splitter and see if that helps. MKV's and sage never got along for me. Neither did .mov files. With the splitter disabled I have no issues playing back anything.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-11-2011, 11:52 AM
gsfitz gsfitz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Humble, TX.
Posts: 30
Thanks for your quick reply.

My registry does not contain that exact location but I did find SOFTWARE\Frey Technologies\Common\DirectShow\EnableSageTVStreamDemux

I changed the value to "0" but then no video files would play of any kind.

I've now removed all Cyberlink programs and codecs and will try codecs from version 7 of their DVD player. I remember that use to work with Sage V6 OK.

I'll post more later.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-11-2011, 01:32 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsfitz View Post
Thanks for your quick reply.

My registry does not contain that exact location but I did find SOFTWARE\Frey Technologies\Common\DirectShow\EnableSageTVStreamDemux

I changed the value to "0" but then no video files would play of any kind.

I've now removed all Cyberlink programs and codecs and will try codecs from version 7 of their DVD player. I remember that use to work with Sage V6 OK.

I'll post more later.

Thanks again
Forgot to include that the reg key I posted was for 64bit windows. You found it though. You need to get a decent splitter. The LAV filters includes one, but it didn't play well with sage. I've used the gabest (mpc-hc) and it works great. You can get it from their site. I also use the LAV CUVID decoder for h.254 and get great results. It also works very well for VC-1.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-11-2011, 02:00 PM
gsfitz gsfitz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Humble, TX.
Posts: 30
About getting a new splitter:

I know splitters do just that, split the audio and video streams so they can be processed individually. But how do I get SageTV to use it?

Do I simply install it and Sage will find it? Do I have to disable other splitters?

I will find the splitter you suggest and wait for your answer how to implement.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-11-2011, 02:43 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsfitz View Post
About getting a new splitter:

I know splitters do just that, split the audio and video streams so they can be processed individually. But how do I get SageTV to use it?

Do I simply install it and Sage will find it? Do I have to disable other splitters?

I will find the splitter you suggest and wait for your answer how to implement.

Thanks
Register the new splitter, then disable the sage splitter with the reg key. That's it. I use Dshow Filter Manager to register filters/splitters/decoders and set merit. Sage will just pick the one with the highest merit if you disable the internal splitter. Keep in mind sage will only use an external filter for mkv, mov, and other types. It will still use the internal splitter for mpeg, m2ts, and ts file types.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-11-2011, 03:35 PM
gsfitz gsfitz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Humble, TX.
Posts: 30
WORKS!!

MKV files now play without problems across the board. Quality is as good as playing with Power DVD or VLC outside of Sage.

I used Filter Manager to set merit of LAV CUVID and LAV Splitter to Normal +1. I then changed some FFDSHOW and Cyberlink codecs to DO NOT USE so they would not complicate things. No matter what filter I selected in Sage, it would use the highest merit filter every time regardless, so I've learned to drop their merit.

Panteragstk thanks for your help and quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-11-2011, 04:21 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsfitz View Post
WORKS!!

MKV files now play without problems across the board. Quality is as good as playing with Power DVD or VLC outside of Sage.

I used Filter Manager to set merit of LAV CUVID and LAV Splitter to Normal +1. I then changed some FFDSHOW and Cyberlink codecs to DO NOT USE so they would not complicate things. No matter what filter I selected in Sage, it would use the highest merit filter every time regardless, so I've learned to drop their merit.

Panteragstk thanks for your help and quick replies.
No problem.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
codec, decoder, powerdvd


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Last version of Cyberlink PowerDVD codec usable with SageTV? timg11 SageTV Software 29 11-28-2009 10:47 AM
PowerDVD and H.264 doncote0 General Discussion 3 11-02-2009 02:55 PM
SageTV 6.3 with PowerDVD 7 Codec, incomplete picture. tcsubwoofer SageTV Software 1 03-01-2008 01:20 AM
DVD with PowerDVD 5.0 msm SageTV Software 0 10-06-2003 03:13 PM
Anyone using PowerDVD 5? rrussell General Discussion 2 09-24-2003 08:57 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.