SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #601  
Old 04-01-2021, 10:55 AM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvl711 View Post
I actually just got a shield this weekend, so I may be able to debug this issue. It is possible I may have broken this when I was correcting items Amazon did not like. They had an issue with the application "Exiting" on pause. I removed it to make sure it would pass testing. This could be a part of the issue.
Do you think you will be able to get the Android TV system screen saver and sleep enabled again? Thanks.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #602  
Old 04-04-2021, 07:37 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,920
Second Vizio in two years blew its brains out, likely power supply.

So, no more of those. Time for a new brand.

Are there any brands which would allow internal installation of the SageTV Miniclient App? Android TV as opposed to LG’s WebOS?

Plex would be a good, native install as well. If I have to buy another new tv, might as well look at ones with flexibility.

So, can the MiniClient be installed on newer TV’s, or can it only be installed on an external box/stick device?

Thanks
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #603  
Old 04-04-2021, 08:28 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Second Vizio in two years blew its brains out, likely power supply.

So, no more of those. Time for a new brand.

Are there any brands which would allow internal installation of the SageTV Miniclient App? Android TV as opposed to LGís WebOS?

Plex would be a good, native install as well. If I have to buy another new tv, might as well look at ones with flexibility.

So, can the MiniClient be installed on newer TVís, or can it only be installed on an external box/stick device?

Thanks
I have it installed on a Toshiba FireTV works great ... I am sure it can be Installed on any Android or FireTV.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #604  
Old 04-04-2021, 08:46 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I have it installed on a Toshiba FireTV works great ... I am sure it can be Installed on any Android or FireTV.
FireTV being an external box?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #605  
Old 04-05-2021, 04:37 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Are there any brands which would allow internal installation of the SageTV Miniclient App? Android TV as opposed to LGís WebOS?
As far as I know Sony is the only TV Manufacture that uses Android TV for the OS. I installed the old web client but it never worked really well. Never tried with the new version.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #606  
Old 04-05-2021, 06:27 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
FireTV being an external box?
No FireTV OS built in the TV no external box.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/toshiba...?skuId=6398139
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-05-2021 at 06:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #607  
Old 04-05-2021, 09:45 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
As far as I know Sony is the only TV Manufacture that uses Android TV for the OS. I installed the old web client but it never worked really well. Never tried with the new version.
couple more have emerged, TCL, Hisense, Insignia (Best Buy house brand). I’m reading about the difference Josh had getting the app approved for Google Play Store vs. Amazon App store - seems like he had an easier time with Google, so I’d lean towards Android OS over FireTV.
Anyone with an opinion on that?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #608  
Old 04-05-2021, 10:55 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
couple more have emerged, TCL, Hisense, Insignia (Best Buy house brand). Iím reading about the difference Josh had getting the app approved for Google Play Store vs. Amazon App store - seems like he had an easier time with Google, so Iíd lean towards Android OS over FireTV.
Anyone with an opinion on that?
I am running the mini-client on both 4K Fire TV Stick and a Shield TV. Other than the huge performance increase because of the process power of the Shield TV, there is very little difference.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #609  
Old 04-06-2021, 08:46 AM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Second Vizio in two years blew its brains out, likely power supply.

So, no more of those. Time for a new brand.

Are there any brands which would allow internal installation of the SageTV Miniclient App? Android TV as opposed to LG’s WebOS?

Plex would be a good, native install as well. If I have to buy another new tv, might as well look at ones with flexibility.

So, can the MiniClient be installed on newer TV’s, or can it only be installed on an external box/stick device?

Thanks
I'll add a +2 to that. Myself and my friend Pat. Mine got a backlight failure in the lower left quadrant to the screen. Not too bad unless the right brightness (or was it darkness?) condition was in that quadrant. Then you could see a difference in the darkness in the little rectangle in the lower left of the screen.
My buddy Pat had his screen go bad as well. Luckily he still had several weeks left on the extended warranty he bought with the set. Of course the set was no longer in production so they gave him a choice of 2 models for replacement.
Got the replacement up on the wall with the help of myself and another friend. During setup there was nothing showing up on the screen. He did notice that the set was trying to gain access to his WiFi, but again no indication of anything on the screen. So online with Vizio tech who had him do some tests and confirmed the screen was DOA, so they were sending him a replacement-replacement.
At that point he had had enough of Vizio and bought a Sony and sold the "replacement-replacement" online.

I had no warranty option, mine was a couple months out of warranty naturally. <sigh> So I replaced it with an LG. No more Vizio for this guy either!

They typically get great reviews, but apparently they have a quality issue and fail WAY too soon. Although I do have a 32" Vizio on the wall up at my camp that is still chugging away. <fingers crossed>
__________________
Wayne Dunham

Last edited by waynedunham; 04-06-2021 at 08:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #610  
Old 04-06-2021, 09:36 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynedunham View Post
I'll add a +2 to that. Myself and my friend Pat. Mine got a backlight failure in the lower left quadrant to the screen. Not too bad unless the right brightness (or was it darkness?) condition was in that quadrant. Then you could see a difference in the darkness in the little rectangle in the lower left of the screen.
My buddy Pat had his screen go bad as well. Luckily he still had several weeks left on the extended warranty he bought with the set. Of course the set was no longer in production so they gave him a choice of 2 models for replacement.
Got the replacement up on the wall with the help of myself and another friend. During setup there was nothing showing up on the screen. He did notice that the set was trying to gain access to his WiFi, but again no indication of anything on the screen. So online with Vizio tech who had him do some tests and confirmed the screen was DOA, so they were sending him a replacement-replacement.
At that point he had had enough of Vizio and bought a Sony and sold the "replacement-replacement" online.

I had no warranty option, mine was a couple months out of warranty naturally. <sigh> So I replaced it with an LG. No more Vizio for this guy either!

They typically get great reviews, but apparently they have a quality issue and fail WAY too soon. Although I do have a 32" Vizio on the wall up at my camp that is still chugging away. <fingers crossed>
LG runs itís own is, WebOS. Iím assuming thereís no downloading Android apps on those?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #611  
Old 04-06-2021, 10:31 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
No FireTV OS built in the TV no external box.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/toshiba...?skuId=6398139
how do you like the Toshiba? Looked at one yesterday - seemed nice, but it's hard to tell in reality since the store feeds it 4k, and we will only be watching 1080p most of the time. Does it upconvert, or down-convert well?
No worries with Amazon being in the TV, aka you can turn OFF Amazon's access to your television?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #612  
Old 04-06-2021, 10:38 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
how do you like the Toshiba? Looked at one yesterday - seemed nice, but it's hard to tell in reality since the store feeds it 4k, and we will only be watching 1080p most of the time. Does it upconvert, or down-convert well?
No worries with Amazon being in the TV, aka you can turn OFF Amazon's access to your television?
I have not had any problems with them I bought 2 32 inches for $88 dollars a piece during Prime time .. Put 1 in my home office and 1 in the kitchen. My Eco system is all Amazon anyway so do not care about access so never looked.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-06-2021 at 11:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #613  
Old 04-06-2021, 06:29 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,473
To each their own I suppose, but when I purchase a TV, I do it based on the TV's ability to produce a high quality video image, and that's it. Anything else that the TV needs to do are carried out with another component plugged in to the TV. I don't want to limit myself to some specific TV with an OS that will have zero support sometime in the next 24 to 48 months.

It reminds me of purchasing a TV in 1998 with a DVD player built in. Terrible idea.
Reply With Quote
  #614  
Old 04-06-2021, 06:36 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
To each their own I suppose, but when I purchase a TV, I do it based on the TV's ability to produce a high quality video image, and that's it. Anything else that the TV needs to do are carried out with another component plugged in to the TV. I don't want to limit myself to some specific TV with an OS that will have zero support sometime in the next 24 to 48 months.

It reminds me of purchasing a TV in 1998 with a DVD player built in. Terrible idea.
I agree 100% for my main entertainment and bedroom everything is plugged in FireTV Shield etc.. but for places that I really do not need a high end tv a $80 toshiba FireTV that I can run Channels, HdHomeRun and SageTV is great,
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #615  
Old 04-06-2021, 06:39 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,473
I'm not talking about a high end TV. I'm talking about never limiting my hardware purchase based on a built in OS that won't be supported. When a Firestick 4k can be had on sale for $25 or $30, there's no point in basing a TV purchase on and OS just because it can run the miniclient.
Reply With Quote
  #616  
Old 04-06-2021, 07:39 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I'm not talking about a high end TV. I'm talking about never limiting my hardware purchase based on a built in OS that won't be supported. When a Firestick 4k can be had on sale for $25 or $30, there's no point in basing a TV purchase on and OS just because it can run the miniclient.
Like I said for $80 dollars you get a TV and Firetv It is a lot easier to use then a FiresTick switches to Cable TV seamlessly. Everybody is different and has their own preferences so do not knock it. If the OP wants what he wants then he should get it.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-06-2021 at 07:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #617  
Old 04-06-2021, 07:42 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,473
Go buy whatever you want, Edwin.
Reply With Quote
  #618  
Old 04-06-2021, 07:43 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Go buy whatever you want, Edwin.
Ha h ha I am not looking but I will. I am liking Sagetv more and more than ChannelsDVR lately. Josh has really made big Improvements. Being able to add my own transcoding Profiles has been great.

You cannot beat SageTV for livetv.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 04-06-2021 at 07:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #619  
Old 04-06-2021, 08:05 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Go buy whatever you want, Edwin.
I assumed youíd know the things you require, quality product, quality picture, reliability history, weíre obvious enough I didnít have to mention them? But all things being equal in those departments, then I go to level two, and thatís this discussion. When Ajit Pai killed cable cards, and likely our TiVoís, then yes, streaming apps, Plex, etc., will likely matter.
Which is why Iíd never buy Samsung again, as they stop supporting ANY tv they sell the day itís sold.
Sadly, the Toshiba FireTV, with Amazon support, will likely be the only brand to receive support down the road, changing APIís, etc.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #620  
Old 04-06-2021, 08:09 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I'm not talking about a high end TV. I'm talking about never limiting my hardware purchase based on a built in OS that won't be supported. When a Firestick 4k can be had on sale for $25 or $30, there's no point in basing a TV purchase on and OS just because it can run the miniclient.
Well, yes, there is. Very few NEW tv’s have more than one USB port, which means only one external device that gets power from the TV. So, if you wanted to add a Chromecast and Fire Stick, you’d have to choose.
Lots of things to consider buying a new tv beyond the obvious. As far as support, LG makes a great set, but WebOS? Who knows how long they stick with that. Android, on the other hand, has been around for many revisions and updates. Guess that’s why Sony went with them?
The decision is between vanilla Android, or altered Android (FireTV). And there are lots of good choices of both.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 04-06-2021 at 08:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV MiniClient for Android Indiegogo Campaign (Thanks) stuckless SageTV Clients Development 13 10-27-2020 01:49 PM
Android MiniClient 1.4.3 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 20 03-25-2019 10:32 AM
Android MiniClient 1.2.9 stuckless SageTV Clients Development 53 04-16-2018 07:30 AM
Android Miniclient and UK TV rickgillyon SageTV Clients Development 6 12-01-2016 05:58 PM
Android Miniclient on Mi Box Crashing SageTV Server v9 mackb SageTV Clients Development 9 11-27-2016 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.