SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2008, 02:10 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
MKV Skip and Fast Forward

I'm in the process of transcoding my DVDs into MKV files using Handbrake on OS X, but I'm running into a problem. While the files play fine on the HD Extender, if I fast-forward or skip ahead, the extender jumps back to the beginning of the movie. I'm using the Handbrake Film pre-set. Has anyone had success with fast-forwarding or jumping ahead with Handbrake encoded MKV files?

Also, MKV supports chapters. Can SageTV and the Extender handle these?

Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2008, 05:51 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I believe they should be working on a fix to this problem. I have previously sent them a sample MKV file. So I know they're aware of the problem.

Official MKV support in SageTV is still fairly new. I don't believe chapter markers are supported but I don't know if they are planned to be supported. My suggestion would be to contact support about chapters. I'll do the same since I'm actually in the same boat.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2008, 04:51 AM
Nadim Nadim is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 81
I get the same with MKV. Skips to the first of the film
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2008, 06:11 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Be sure to let support know you're having the issue.

On a kind of odd note I've actually created MKV files that did not exhibit this problem during my experiments trying to create files with H.264 video and DTS audio. The files worked but I had problems with SageTV reading the aspect ratio properly and distorting the picture. Kind of odd. My normal movies are created with Handbrake. These DTS files were created with Handbrake then re-muxed with mkvmerge. I'm wondering if it's the fact that Handbrake tags the MKV files with Quicktime compatible aspect ratio data?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:15 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
I've filed a support request and uploaded a sample file for them to play with. They have "fast forwarded" it to a developer :-).

Ben
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2008, 02:36 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
BTW: check this new extender FAQ.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2008, 03:13 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
BTW: check this new extender FAQ.

- Andy
Ok, well, that brings up the issue I mentioned earlier. When I take files I've encoded with Handbrake and run them through mkvmerge I can then FF/REW like the FAQ says but SageTV can no longer size them correctly. My files are 720x480 anamorphic 16:9 or 4:3. SageTV displays them correctly when they come straight from Handbrake but not when processed through mkvmerge.

I've checked both files with mkvinfo and they appear to have the same aspect ratio information so I don't understand whey they are displayed incorrectly. The only guess I have is that I know Handbrake does add a special AR atom to it's files so that they will display correctly in Quicktime. I assume when mkvmerge processes one of these files that data is lost.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2008, 05:49 PM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
This seems to be a bug/feature of mkvmerge that removes some information from the video stream.

before:

+ CodecPrivate, length 45

after:

+ CodecPrivate, length 40

Updated :

It seems you can keep the aspect by adding --engage keep_bitstream_ar_info on the mkvmerge command line.


_Demo_

Last edited by _Demo_; 01-07-2008 at 06:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2008, 06:18 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Exclamation

Wow! Looks like that worked. Thank you very much! It's been VERY frustrating!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2008, 06:20 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Now we just need chapter support for MKV files and I'll be completely happy!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-08-2008, 09:22 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Thumbs up

Just a quick update. I added the --engage keep_bitstream_ar_info command-line switch in the mkvmerge gui and ran all my MKV files through it last night. That cleared up the seek problem on each and every one of them. It also preserved the aspect ratio information so they show properly on both my client and HD Extender. So sweet!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MVP Frame Stuck When Fast Forward melluap SageTV Media Extender 1 12-31-2007 08:27 PM
WEIRD: hauppauge 45-button remote: fast forward doesn't work properly simisimisimi Hardware Support 8 09-18-2006 05:22 PM
Fast Forward without stopping? deadtoaster2 SageTV Media Extender 2 06-20-2006 08:53 PM
No fast forward on DVB-T Recording Grunter SageTV Beta Test Software 0 02-21-2006 02:03 AM
Fast Forward (10sec skip) sometimes freezes sage rwc SageTV Software 6 10-05-2004 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.