SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2012, 09:03 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Intel SandyBridge hardware accelerated FFDShow decoder (H264/VC1/MPEG2)

Has anyone tried this version of FFDShow within Sagetv?

Support/Updates,

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1358343

Files,

http://sourceforge.net/projects/qsdecoder/

The author is an Intel employee who took this on as a side project,

Quote:
Eric Gur, Processor Client Application Engineer
Intel QuickSync Decoder author
Intel Corp.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2012, 12:54 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,446
What's the advantage of this - other than lowering the CPU load? But it is not like decoding video is a hard task for a Sandy Bridge processor in the first place.

I really wish more video transcoding software, like Handbrake, would support Quick Sync since that should help to speed up converting files to H.264. But the software that does support QS seems lacking in other areas.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2012, 03:25 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 412
Hardware support for VC-1 is one reason this makes a lot of sense. The same code is also in LAV but it is always nice to have the ffdshow tryout option. Reading through the avsforum link H/W deinterlacing is on the todo list, also good to have. I have been thinking about the AMD APU's but reading this, is changing my mind.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2012, 07:37 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Aside from this, the other big advantage of ffdsow is subtitle support in the decoder. (including PGS) though I have never have it a serious shake.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2012, 10:11 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I really wish more video transcoding software, like Handbrake, would support Quick Sync since that should help to speed up converting files to H.264. But the software that does support QS seems lacking in other areas.
Remember, Handbrake just uses x264 for their encoder. I think there's still some hard feelings between Intel and the x264 developers. x264 want more direct access to the hardware behind Intel's QuickSync, so they can produce exactly the same output using QuickSync as their encoder. Intel, however, just gives software access to their encoder API. Inte's Quicksync encoder does not produce as good of output as x264's at the same bitrate.

I think some engineers at Intel are trying (or tried) to get Intel to open up Quicksync, but I'm not sure what happened there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2012, 11:00 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,446
I didn't really notice a huge quality diff between QS and Handbrake when I did some tests. But I would prefer to go with a slightly higher bitrate for faster encodes.

Is it fair to say that QS has been a bit of a failure? About a year ago the only apps that supported it were Mediaespresso and Mediaconverter. I think it is also supported by babgvant's DTB, but I think that is about it. How come no one seems to be using this feature a year later when SB processors are becoming very popular?

Is it the same issue that you bring up re: this tiff between Intel and others?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2012, 11:37 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
I think QuickSync has been a failure, but perhaps not for the same reason as you. I strongly suspect Intel imagined there would be much greater demand for video transcoders when they probably started designing Sandy Bridge ~6 years ago. It turns out they are really niche tools. Professionals are going to value quality much, much higher than speed, so professional tools will keep using proprietary encoders or x264. But, lots of consumer products now support QuickSync. Intel has a page with a short list of products:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intel
Arcsoft MediaConverter
Arcsoft MediaImpression
Badaboom Media Converter
Corel Digital Studio
CyberLink MediaEspresso
CyberLink PowerDirector
MainConcept
Movavi Video Converter
Roxio Creator
That list definitely isn't complete, as I know MediaCoder and DVDFab also support Quicksync. It seems like most tools that aren't based around x264 (e.g., Handbrake) support Quicksync.

So, just based on product support, it seems like people picked up QuickSync pretty quickly. I do know some people that encode stuff for iPods and iPads. One just uses whatever tool is easiest, and doesn't care at all about speed (and wouldn't know or care if QuickSync in being used in the product). The other person just uses Handbrake, because four years ago that's what I told him to use.

I think QuickSync has been about as successful as anyone could reasonably think it could have been. Quick frankly, I'm surprised Intel bothered to put it in Sandy Bridge. And having put it in, I'm kind of baffled they didn't open up the API so that professional tools and other media software could make use of the QuickSync engine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the best mpeg2 software video decoder for mpeg2 1080i? mkanet SageTV Software 7 12-19-2008 05:14 PM
PureVideo Hardware Accelerated Deinterlacing Taddeusz SageTV Software 17 02-04-2008 09:13 AM
Can ANYONE at all get this to work: Vista+1080i+Mpeg2 decoder (Nvidia hardware acc.)? mkanet SageTV Software 80 11-19-2007 03:18 PM
Stupid question.. how do I turn on hardware acceleration for Sage mpeg2 decoder? mkanet SageTV Software 4 12-06-2005 10:18 PM
nvidia, mpeg2 hardware decoder aSkobs Hardware Support 17 09-11-2003 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.