SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2008, 10:11 AM
spvoyek spvoyek is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 60
Play on <other Sage device>?

Is there an import that provides the ability to play something on an extender or server from either the server or another extender? I can use the webserver to play something on either the server or an extender, so obviously the functionality exists in the server, I just need the interface on the extender or server.

Here's how I'd like to use it. I've got a Haupagge MVP whose audio output I'd like to connect to my whole house audio stereo. It's a very basic system with just a stereo connected to speakers throughout the house through impedance matching volume controls. If I could now use one of my HD extenders or the server to select what's playing on the MVP, I'd have a pretty sweet, simple, inexpensive setup.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2008, 11:47 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Is there an import that provides the ability to play something on an extender or server from either the server or another extender? I can use the webserver to play something on either the server or an extender, so obviously the functionality exists in the server, I just need the interface on the extender or server.
Wow, who's on first?

In short, no, there is currently no plugin for controlling an extender from another extender for Sage, however, I do remember a command you could run with the Hauppauge software which would put the MediaMVP interface on the screen in windows, so you could control it that way, but I don't remember the details, and I am not sure if you can use it with it running the SageTV interface.

Why don't you just plug in your stereo to your HD Extender?
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2008, 12:09 PM
spvoyek spvoyek is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Why don't you just plug in your stereo to your HD Extender?
The stereo that feeds all the speakers throughout the house lives in the utility room in the basement. The Hauppauge MVP would be in the utility room also, headless, with just the audio output connected to the stereo. I have 2 HD extenders, one in the family room and one in the bedroom. I would like to be able to use either HD extender (or the Sage Server) to change what music the Hauppage MVP is playing. Ultimately, I wouldn't need to go to the basement to change what's being played by the stereo, I'd have a very nice GUI for accessing my music library and I could control it from multiple remote locations.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2008, 01:04 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
I have no ideas, but just wanted to note that it's an interesting idea. Probably lots of folks looking to repurpose an MVP, now or in the future.

Well, I guess I have one idea, but it's not really what you wanted: You could do this via the www site and a handheld (wifi enabled) computer/cell phone. Not the cleanest solution, but it would work. I think you can push playlists to the MVP.

Matt
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2008, 02:41 PM
spvoyek spvoyek is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 60
A couple of other possibilities, if it were implemented in a way that would allow you to choose multiple "Play on <x, y, z>" destinations:

1) I could command it to play a movie on both my HD extender in the family room and the Hauppage MVP that's in the basement, giving me the audio through the ceiling speakers in the family room!

2) I could setup a sports bar style rec room with multiple sets and command the same program, maybe a recorded football game, be played on all of them at the same time.

Both of these should work as long as the feeds would be fairly close to being in sync.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2008, 01:41 AM
mickp's Avatar
mickp mickp is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 468
Unfortunately I don't think it will help out with control from an extender but I've been using a cobbled together solution described here (Free Network Audio Sender/Multi Zone System) to pipe audio around the house.

Mick.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2008, 11:27 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
Why not use the webserver on a remote control/iPod Touch/n770 tablet, etc?

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:42 AM
spvoyek spvoyek is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
Why not use the webserver on a remote control/iPod Touch/n770 tablet, etc?

B
If you ship me one, I'll do that!

Seriously, though, nielm provided some insight on this in another similar thread (http://forums.sage.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=36002). Looks like we should be able to do this in an STVi like I had hoped. I'm surprised it hadn't been done already.

Any volunteers?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get DIVX files to play in Sage bcjenkins SageTV Software 2 09-23-2006 04:26 PM
After Lockup - Sage Not working wolfpackmars2 SageTV Software 3 08-05-2006 10:23 PM
Did someone manage to have Sage play a ratDVD? Franc SageTV Software 10 07-27-2006 06:24 AM
need help getting Sage to play DVD movie.. mattress SageTV Software 16 04-09-2006 02:57 AM
Imported video files in Sage 4 don't play ChrisR SageTV Software 0 03-29-2006 08:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.