SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2012, 11:49 AM
simonen simonen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 384
Purchase new HDHR Dual or keep original

I have a failing power supply on my first generation HDHR, and I see that Woot is selling the latest HDHR Dual for $70. Since I use OTA a lot, I wonder if it would be a better idea to get a new HDHR rather than replace my failing power supply.

Looking to get a bit of feedback or opinions on this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2012, 03:50 PM
simonen simonen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 384
It's a moot point now, just ordered it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2012, 10:31 PM
sumrtym sumrtym is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 70
Ditto! Good sale there, just happened to spot it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2012, 05:43 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
The new HDHR has much better QAM performance than the original.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2012, 08:32 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
I certainly hope so. I was able to get one from the yesterday's Woot deal. I have two of the older model HDHR's and I've been dealing with scads of errors during recordings. Most of the time they aren't a problem but on occasion it's so bad that ShowAnalyzer gets stuck and I have to run the file through VideoRedo to get it to work. These are on channels that I get 95% signal strength, 95% signal quality, and 100% symbol quality. Given these stats I've never understood why I get stream errors.

I've been trying to hold out buying new tuners but the $70 deal was too hard to pass up. I hope I get better recordings.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2012, 10:27 AM
simonen simonen is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 384
Ya, I have been getting pixelation and drop outs at 95% as well, even if I put it on the cable line. My avermedia duet is flawless on those channels, so I figured that they would have a newer tuner chip and it could only help the situation by just getting a new one.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual analog TV tuner with dual RF connectors recommendations needed davephan Hardware Support 3 03-02-2010 11:14 PM
Issue with HDHR (HDHR works fine) -=Jeff=- Hardware Support 1 05-03-2009 10:06 PM
HAUPPAUGE NOVA-T-500 Dual DVB-T PCI & DVICO Fusion DVB-T Dual Express IanV SageTV Linux 3 09-05-2008 02:51 PM
HD Tuner not being selected (HDHR Dual Tuners not being used during timeslot) Fastrack SageTV Beta Test Software 3 03-03-2008 07:02 AM
Dual pvr-150's dual stb's dual blasters, doable? wrangellboy Hardware Support 6 12-20-2005 06:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.