SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2013, 07:52 AM
checkbin checkbin is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Central NJ, USA
Posts: 76
Copy Flags On Armstrong Cable

Hopefully I'm posting in the right forum. Can anyone tell me what channels are marked copy freely and which are copy once on Armstrong cable in south east PA? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2013, 05:29 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Unfortunately, there's no good way to look it up. It would have been nice if SiliconDust would have expanded their channel lineup database.

If you have a set top box you can usually go into some diagnostics screens to figure out what the copy protection flags are.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2013, 01:49 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by checkbin View Post
Hopefully I'm posting in the right forum. Can anyone tell me what channels are marked copy freely and which are copy once on Armstrong cable in south east PA? Thanks in advance.
you can access the Prime's web page and see each channel, if you have a Prime that is. If not try calling the CC help desk if they have a list. In my area CC is handled by a seperate tech line.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2013, 02:31 PM
checkbin checkbin is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Central NJ, USA
Posts: 76
Thanks to both of you for the recommendations. The problem is I don't have a Prime and am trying to determine if the channels I'd like to watch/record with it are copy freely before I go out and buy one. I did call the cable company and unfortunately they were of no help, seemed they didn't even know what I was talking about. I was hoping either someone with Armstrong cable might be able to tell me what they see as flagged copy freely, or can tell me how to determine what they are using my cable box or other method.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2013, 02:41 PM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 406
If you already have a cable box you can use the service menu on channels and see what flags are set on those channels. You will need to look up your cable box online and see how to check it. I think on my box it pwr + menu can't remember has been a long time. The way I did it was you go to the channel you want to know about then use the service menu to look at the copy flag you need a copy flag of cci 0x00 (Copy Freely) if it is anything else then the cable card will not work with SageTV.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2013, 02:51 PM
checkbin checkbin is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Central NJ, USA
Posts: 76
Great. Thanks Mechling-burgh. That's just what I was looking for. I'll give it a shot and post back on how I make out. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please need Qam guide for west PA. armstrong gweedow The SageTV Community 2 08-17-2011 03:18 PM
Broadcast flags gilded07 SageTV Software 3 05-15-2008 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.