SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2016, 01:10 PM
nycjoe's Avatar
nycjoe nycjoe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 109
SagetTV 4k - Extenders

I'm sure this has been discussed on the forum before but I wasn't to find a thread about it (apologies if this is a /2) - is there any hope of being able to play 4k videos on HD200/HD300?

I just got my first 4k camera smartphone (I don't even have a 4k TV yet) and videos aren't really watchable. Bummer! I just know that once I get a 4k TV, all my older, low res videos are going to automatically become unwatchable. That's exactly what happened when I first got an HDTV.

Thanks!
__________________
{"HW": "NUC",
"CPU": "i7-5557U",
"RAM": "16GB",
"Recordings": "2TB SATA",
"Imports": "2x 4TB USB",
"Clients": ["HD300", "HD200", "SageTVClient"]}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2016, 01:33 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
No, the HD300 isn't going to play back 4k video.

HD video isn't going to become unwatchable. For example, I really don't think I'd be able to tell the difference between Netflix 4k and a blu-ray rip. Practically speaking, compression artifacts seem to be a bigger issue than raw resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2016, 01:35 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 2,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycjoe View Post
I'm sure this has been discussed on the forum before but I wasn't to find a thread about it (apologies if this is a /2) - is there any hope of being able to play 4k videos on HD200/HD300?

I just got my first 4k camera smartphone (I don't even have a 4k TV yet) and videos aren't really watchable. Bummer! I just know that once I get a 4k TV, all my older, low res videos are going to automatically become unwatchable. That's exactly what happened when I first got an HDTV.

Thanks!
The HD200/HD300 don't support 4k output. With the right codecs and server-side transcoding, you may be able to play back 4k files, but they would be downscaled to regular HD.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2016, 01:45 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,244
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
HD video isn't going to become unwatchable. For example, I really don't think I'd be able to tell the difference between Netflix 4k and a blu-ray rip. Practically speaking, compression artifacts seem to be a bigger issue than raw resolution.
Agreed.

I know this isn't the question the OP asked, but at the moment I think high-bitrate 1080p will look better than current 4K video. Artifacts in shadow detail, panning and transition fades are apparent in almost everything I watch these days due to a low bitrate. Bump that up to the near max and I'd take that any day over highly compressed 4K video.
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2016, 03:43 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Ultra HD Blu-ray looks pretty nice, but you need more than just a "4K" display to get the most out of it, you need an Ultra HD Premium set for that.

So far the Ultra HD I've seen isn't in your face better, while 4K steaming might be noticeably better than 2K streaming (I unintentionally demo'd this with UHD vs HDX Vudu and the difference there was noticeable), but I'm not so sure if you're talking premium "2K" sources (Blu-ray).

I think Salt is the only native 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray I've got but I haven't take the time to compare it to the Blu-ray, but it didn't knock me on the floor. The Martian was pretty good but that was more the colors, and I don't know there if my UHD Blu-ray player was doing the HDR/WCG-> Rec.709 conversion correctly or not.

All that said, I am quite excited about UHD Blu-ray, HDR and WCG should be a nice improvement over Rec.709, but from what I've seen I'm not going to be running out to replace all my Blu-rays. This definitely isn't like the SD to HD transition where the former can look quite terrible on anything larger than a very modest screen size.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2016, 10:25 AM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycjoe View Post
... I just know that once I get a 4k TV, all my older, low res videos are going to automatically become unwatchable. That's exactly what happened when I first got an HDTV ...
I spent a good part of this past weekend watching Masters coverage in 4K, and while the quality was better than the 1080i broadcast it was not a real "order of magnitude". What was more noticeable was the scaling of 1080i sourced broadcasts on the 4K set. That made me want to chuck my 1080p sets ...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2016, 10:35 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchiso View Post
I spent a good part of this past weekend watching Masters coverage in 4K, and while the quality was better than the 1080i broadcast it was not a real "order of magnitude".
I wonder how much of the improvement is the 4K and how much is them dedicating a disproportionate amount of bandwidth to their new flagship product.

HD broadcast quality has degraded considerably since it went from flagship product to commodity.

FWIW, I'm not anti-4K, far from it, I'm rather excited about UltraHD Blu-ray (already got a player and a number of movies), I'm just pragmatic and not that excited about broadcast/streaming 4K.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-2016, 12:45 PM
nycjoe's Avatar
nycjoe nycjoe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 109
Thanks, guys, I appreciate all the input. I'm not super focused on high quality video (my largest set is an old 46" I recently was handed down) and was turned off 4K a while ago due to the soap opera effect (not sure if that's a 4K think, but yikes!).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
The HD200/HD300 don't support 4k output. With the right codecs and server-side transcoding, you may be able to play back 4k files, but they would be downscaled to regular HD.
Sorry to re-hijack the thread, but is there a way to force transcoding for particular videos? Would I need to put my MOV videos in a certain container?
__________________
{"HW": "NUC",
"CPU": "i7-5557U",
"RAM": "16GB",
"Recordings": "2TB SATA",
"Imports": "2x 4TB USB",
"Clients": ["HD300", "HD200", "SageTVClient"]}
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-11-2016, 06:23 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycjoe View Post
...and was turned off 4K a while ago due to the soap opera effect (not sure if that's a 4K think, but yikes!).
It is not.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2016, 08:21 AM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 906
not sure is this is applicable here but a recent HD view at a friends house brings this to mind.

if you have a modern HDTV (less than a couple of years old), you should never use the video processing in your cable box or hd200/300 extender as they are severely limiting compared with modern video processing standards.

for the former, set the STB/cable box to output at native resolution (in the case of FiOS, go into the secret menu - google for instructions).
for the latter, set the hd200/300 to output native resolution in the detailed setup menu.....also turn of motion processing.

i was at a friends house for the superbowl and he was proudly showing off his new 65" hdtv and i was appalled at how bad the motion video was.........the grass would be in sharp focus, then blur as soon as the camera moved, then snap into focus again when the camera stopped moving. the next day, i gently suggested he check his settings in the secret menu and he and his wife are now amazed at how much better their TV looks........something i hadn't thought about in years since i stumbled upon it a long time ago.

pass the word!!!
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-13-2016, 08:31 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
not sure is this is applicable here but a recent HD view at a friends house brings this to mind.

if you have a modern HDTV (less than a couple of years old), you should never use the video processing in your cable box or hd200/300 extender as they are severely limiting compared with modern video processing standards.
Too bad that option is disappearing from boxes.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-13-2016, 08:41 AM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Too bad that option is disappearing from boxes.
that also makes it a good thing the FCC is trying to open up the market for boxes
__________________
Q: dad, when will you stop changing all the electronics?
A: never, so you might as well get used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-13-2016, 08:46 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
I don't mean just cable boxes, I mean everything, Blu-ray players, streamers, consoles. I think my HDx00's are the only boxes I have in use that offer native resolution output.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-13-2016, 03:26 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man View Post
if you have a modern HDTV (less than a couple of years old), you should never use the video processing in your cable box or hd200/300 extender as they are severely limiting compared with modern video processing standards.
While this is undoubtedly true, I find the time it takes to change resolutions extremely annoying. The scaler and deinterlacer in the HD300 is good enough that I'd rather deal with its imperfections than deal with the delays.

I had it set to native output for a while and I haven't particularly noticed a difference (but I don't have nearly as nice of equipment as stanger, for instance). This might be a case where I just don't know what to look for. Maybe if I found it, it would bother me a lot more. I've ruined XM radio for people by pointing out what it sounds like...

And as I've pointed out in other threads, it's really the compression artifacts that bug me- I definitely see macroblocking on many channels, and that does bother me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just purchased SagetTV Media Center, now for clients? Mpegger SageTV Software 8 02-03-2010 03:20 PM
SagetTV HD200 remote change shadowhc SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 8 10-09-2009 08:06 PM
How many extenders do I need? theKramer SageTV Media Extender 14 12-11-2006 03:59 PM
Used Extenders jwmcclung SageTV Media Extender 2 08-24-2006 09:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.