SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2017, 05:25 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,366
What Trumps Merit Priority?

I have an HVR-2250 and an HDHomeRun Prime tuner. The HVR-2250 has a merit priority of 5, the HDHomeRun Prime has a merit priority of 10. Two separate channel lineups pointing to the same cable provider. I've remapped a channel on each tuner to share a single channel entry in the program guide. When I watch that channel, Sage chooses the HVR-2250 repeatedly, although based on merit priority it should be choosing the HDHomeRun Prime. I can force it to use the HDHomeRun Prime by recording a different channel on the HVR-2250, which then forces Sage to use the HDHomeRun Prime when I watch the original channel. So I know both tuners are functioning, it's just Sage is picking a different source than I would have expected.

So what other attributes can trump merit priority? Does Sage select a native tuner over a network encoder?
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.11.5, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.7)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2017, 08:22 AM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,468
Excellent question. I too, have seen this happen a few times on my server which has multiple lineups where I've merged the "same" channel on the different lineups so I don't see 3 different CBS HD channels in the EPG for instance.

Sure would be nice to see SageTV "honor" our merit settings on these kind of channels.

If I had to hazard a guess it might be different data in the EPG for the different lineups even though they are the same channel. Then something in the data makes one lineup/tuner look better to the scheduler in SageTV
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2017, 10:14 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,320
There's lots of factors that go into tuner selection, and merit is the last thing that is considered....if you posted a log file and your Sage.properties file from when you reproduce this I could probably decipher why it made a certain decision.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2017, 07:02 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
There's lots of factors that go into tuner selection, and merit is the last thing that is considered....if you posted a log file and your Sage.properties file from when you reproduce this I could probably decipher why it made a certain decision.
I'll keep that in mind, but for me at least, it happens pretty rarely.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2017, 08:13 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
There's lots of factors that go into tuner selection, and merit is the last thing that is considered....if you posted a log file and your Sage.properties file from when you reproduce this I could probably decipher why it made a certain decision.
Thanks, I'll try to post the files this weekend.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.11.5, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.7)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2017, 05:42 AM
Doubledose's Avatar
Doubledose Doubledose is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. E. Indiana
Posts: 309
I am also having some trouble with 2 HD PVR tuners not recording on the right PVR. These 2 PVR's are hooked up to my 2 dishnetwork recievers. Tuner # 1 is hooked to my second reciever for the kitchen and bedroom. Tuner # 2 is hooked to my main reciever. Since I upgraded to V9 Tuner 2 seams to record most shows. I have changed the merit values on both of these tuners and it seems to make no difference. Is there any other tweak that may help. Does it make any difference what order the tuners are in, in sagetv properties? Should they be together in sage properties or do they need other tuners in between them or does it make no difference?
Wayne
__________________
New setup 1-22
GIGABYTE B560 HD3 MB | Intel I5 6 core CPU | 500 GB WD SSD system drive | (2) 2TB Western Digital SSD drives pooled | 16 GB DDR ram | UHD 630 on board graphics| Win 10 64 bit | SageTV 9 | (5) Sage HD TV extenders | (1) HDHomeRun quad tuner HD OTA | (1) HDHomeRun Dual tuner HD OTA | (2) 1512 HD-PVR2s recording from 2 Dish Network VIP 211K's with Uirt ir control | MX-700 Home theater remote | 60" LED TV | (4) 32" Lcd TV's
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2017, 08:00 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
Been awhile but padding was something that made it difficult to predict which tuner would actually be used. The simplest solution if you just want reverse the current priority would be to change the inputs going into the HDPVRs. (And remember to adjust the blaster\http channel change as well.)

This solution is of course an Alternative Fact.
__________________

Retired SageTV in favor of Plex\Emby and YouTubeTV.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2017, 06:49 PM
Doubledose's Avatar
Doubledose Doubledose is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N. E. Indiana
Posts: 309
What I was seeing happen and able to duplicate after a lot of tries, was that I could do a test and do a live view, Tuner 1 would come on as it was supposed to do. But when I done a scheduled recording tuner 2 would come on. I don't know if anyone has seen this before or not. I tried more numbers in between the merit values and higher numbers in the merit value. Finally I switched the merit value between the 2 encoders and that has made it work. It does not matter if I do live view or a scheduled a recording both now bring on tuner 1 like I want it to and then tuner 2 if needed for another recording.
Wayne
__________________
New setup 1-22
GIGABYTE B560 HD3 MB | Intel I5 6 core CPU | 500 GB WD SSD system drive | (2) 2TB Western Digital SSD drives pooled | 16 GB DDR ram | UHD 630 on board graphics| Win 10 64 bit | SageTV 9 | (5) Sage HD TV extenders | (1) HDHomeRun quad tuner HD OTA | (1) HDHomeRun Dual tuner HD OTA | (2) 1512 HD-PVR2s recording from 2 Dish Network VIP 211K's with Uirt ir control | MX-700 Home theater remote | 60" LED TV | (4) 32" Lcd TV's
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leave My DShow Merit's Alone! Polypro General Discussion 3 07-12-2008 09:40 AM
Encoder merit gui jlabrue SageTV Customizations 2 10-07-2005 08:03 PM
Encoder Merit question DFA SageTV Software 2 08-26-2005 10:55 AM
both encoders merit=0 davey_fl SageTV Beta Test Software 2 04-05-2004 03:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.