SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2017, 03:46 PM
BACON's Avatar
BACON BACON is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
Question Reduced playback resolution with SageTV MPEG Video Decoder after v9 upgrade

I have SageTV Server and Client installations on separate computers that I finally upgraded in-place from licensed v7.1.9 to v9.1.2.662 via their respective installers, and then to v9.1.4.676. I receive over-the-air HD broadcasts, so all of my recordings are MPEG-2 PS. The upgrade appeared to take place without issue, however I've noticed on both computers that video playback is not as sharp and almost looks like it's SD content or the lines are being doubled. You can see this in the attached screenshots of two 720p recordings (I had to save them as JPEG to get under the attachment size limitation, but they still represent the problem well).

This is using the same configuration under Detailed Setup => Audio / Video as I did with v7, which includes using the SageTV MPEG Video Decoder. I tried changing from EVR to VMR9, disabling DScaler Deinterlacing Filter, and enabling Use Full Screen Exclusive Mode but with no improvement. I confirmed on the System Information page that on both systems SageTV is recognizing the full resolution of my displays. I even restored my pre-upgrade backup to confirm that, yes, v7 really was playing back HD content in HD.

I searched the forums and browsed this entire subforum and didn't find any reports of this problem. I was able to work around it by installing the LAV Filters, and maybe I'm better off with those, anyways, since they're more recent and being actively developed. I'm just curious what would cause this, why the same decoder would produce different output depending on the SageTV version? And is this not a known issue? Is the population of users that are using v9 and record in MPEG-2 and use the SageTV MPEG Video Decoder just very small (me?) such that no one has come across this yet?
__________________
As of 2019-11-13
Software: SageTV v9.1.7.581 (Server/Client), 32-bit Java 8 Update 161, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro
Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS3R, Pentium Dual Core E5200, 4 GB DDR2, nVidia GeForce GT 240
Input: Rooftop antenna → Hauppauge HVR-2250, Hauppauge HVR-1250
Output: Samsung PN51D7000 via HDMI
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2017, 04:38 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,869
I'm not seeing anything in those screenshots that looks like a difference in resolution like HD vs SD. I do see that lines are more jaggy with the Sage
Decoder vs LAV, which looks more smooth. This looks like just a difference in how the MPEG decoders behave.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2017, 08:08 PM
BACON's Avatar
BACON BACON is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 15
Lightbulb

I found a much more drastic example from the same recording. As before, I took screenshots in SageTV v9 using both the SageTV MPEG Video Decoder and LAV Video Decoder. I then used a fresh v7 installation to take screenshots of the same frame with both decoders. The reason why I've only attached two images is because when I saved the screenshots for...
  • SageTV v7 + SageTV MPEG Video Decoder
  • SageTV v7 + LAV Video Decoder
  • SageTV v9 + LAV Video Decoder
...in PNG format it resulted in three byte-for-byte identical files! When I restored my v9 installation with the SageTV MPEG Video Decoder all those straight lines on the roof of that building went back to looking like stairways to heaven.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg v9 + SageTV MPEG Video Decoder.jpg (404.3 KB, 77 views)
File Type: jpg v7 + SageTV MPEG Video Decoder, v7 + LAV, v9 + LAV.jpg (430.9 KB, 73 views)
__________________
As of 2019-11-13
Software: SageTV v9.1.7.581 (Server/Client), 32-bit Java 8 Update 161, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro
Hardware: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS3R, Pentium Dual Core E5200, 4 GB DDR2, nVidia GeForce GT 240
Input: Rooftop antenna → Hauppauge HVR-2250, Hauppauge HVR-1250
Output: Samsung PN51D7000 via HDMI
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2017, 09:49 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Is there a particular reason that you want to keep using the SageTV decoder? The reason I ask is that the decoder is not actually included in the open source version because it is copyrighted and closed source. If you do a clean install of v9 you will not get it at all. The only way is to upgrade a v7 install to v9. IMHO, the LAV decoder works just fine. If you're running Windows 10 you can go to the Store and install Microsoft's MPEG decoder for free.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoder, mpeg2, resolution, sagetv mpeg video decoder, version 9


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV Video Playback freezes when using SageTV MPEG Video Decoder AzJazz SageTV Software 7 01-03-2015 01:35 AM
SageTV at 40-50% with MPEG-2 Decoder Video Card SkierHiker SageTV Software 7 04-07-2009 10:20 PM
SageTV MPEG Video Decoder Overlay for 2nd monitor? luckya SageTV Software 11 02-12-2009 09:43 PM
SageTV Mpeg-2 Decoder mkanet SageTV Beta Test Software 0 02-01-2008 10:03 PM
SageTV MPEG Video Decoder 6.3.1 Observations. nyplayer SageTV Beta Test Software 4 11-10-2007 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.