SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2011, 08:24 AM
ptzink ptzink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 299
HVR-2250: Picture Problems on One Channel Only

Hopefully, this is the right place to post this. I am having a strange issue with recordings on one of my local Clear QAM stations using the tuners in my HVR-2250. When recording/watching a local PBS station (WIPB), I get strange artifacts in the screen (particularly the bottom half) about every 3-5 seconds. The artifacts flash quickly and then go away. There are no issues with the sound as far as I can tell. The artifacts that display look similar to when you are loosing reception on a digitally tuned station. However, I am using the Clear QAM broadcast from my cable provider. I am only having these troubles on this one station and the other local PBS affiliate tunes fine. Also, these artifacts appear on both tuners of the 2250. Even stranger, I hooked a TV directly up to the cable line that was running into my tuner card and the station (WIPB) looked fine. So I guess I can't blame it on Comcast? Anyone have any idea of what might be going on here? I have been tuning this channel without issue for about 9 months and now this. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
Server: SageTV Media Center 7.1.19, Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Pentium Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, (1) Hauppauge HVR-2250, (1) Hauppauge HVR-1600, 1.5 TB of recording space
Android MiniClient: Nvidia Shield TV (16GB) HDMI out to Samsung LN46C630 46" LCD
Extender: STP-HD300, beta firmware "20110506-0", HDMI out to LG 37LD450 37" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2011, 03:20 PM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 939
computer based tuenrs are more sensitive to signal issues, what is your signal strength?

what video decoder are you using?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2011, 08:06 PM
ptzink ptzink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 299
According to SageTV, my signal strength is 100%. On the client I am using Microsoft DTV-DVD Decoder. To make things weirder, I just watched 20 minutes of a show on the channel in question with no hiccups whatsoever. Very strange.
__________________
Server: SageTV Media Center 7.1.19, Windows 7 Home Premium x64, Pentium Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, (1) Hauppauge HVR-2250, (1) Hauppauge HVR-1600, 1.5 TB of recording space
Android MiniClient: Nvidia Shield TV (16GB) HDMI out to Samsung LN46C630 46" LCD
Extender: STP-HD300, beta firmware "20110506-0", HDMI out to LG 37LD450 37" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2011, 09:32 AM
sagetv5150 sagetv5150 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 41
I am having the exact same problem. It is with the KCBSDT channel. Part of the screen has weird green pixelation almost. I also have the 2250 card. My cable provider is Cox. Sage however does report a highly fluctuating signal strength on this channel. However when I watch this channel from a TV with the cable plugged directly into the TV using that TV's tuner, that channel plays fine. I also tried an HD Homerun to tune this channel. And while I can see the HDHR also recording a fluctuating signal strength for that channel, it is less severe...and therefore plays back fine. This started about a month ago, right around the time Cox did some channel remappings. Maybe the 2250 tuner is having problems on the new frequency for this channel, not sure. I don't see new 2250 drivers available.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clear qam, hvr-2250, issue


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2250 issues...no picture at all MavRic Hardware Support 2 09-20-2010 12:44 PM
v7.0.12 Problems with HVR 2250 and mkv's rrhorer SageTV Beta Test Software 21 07-23-2010 08:21 AM
Hauppauge 2250 problems w/ sage 6.5 dan39969 Hardware Support 36 04-11-2009 04:35 PM
Channel scaning and sub channels problems HVR-2250 tom.abcd SageTV Beta Test Software 2 02-01-2009 04:31 PM
Problems Setting Up HVR-2250 mskitty666 Hardware Support 4 11-25-2008 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.