SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2017, 08:03 AM
Spartan's Avatar
Spartan Spartan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 109
Sage Miniclient and MXQ Pro 4K Ultra HD Quad-Core Streaming Media Player

I have exactly zero experience with the miniclient, but came across this in my Groupon feed this morning. Would it be a suitable client? The price seems right...

thx!

https://www.groupon.com/deals/gg-mxq...e7f_0_20171030
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2017, 09:35 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan View Post
I have exactly zero experience with the miniclient, but came across this in my Groupon feed this morning. Would it be a suitable client? The price seems right...

thx!

https://www.groupon.com/deals/gg-mxq...e7f_0_20171030
Will it work, likely. Will you end up cursing Android and it's creators, and wish a horrible death on them, likely.

If you buy this, then you have to be prepared with the fact, that you are NOT running Android TV that ships on MiBox2 and NVidia Shield, but rather you are running your Android Phone's operating system on a TV, and the usability, is about as good as you trying to use your remote to control your phone, but now, it'll be a 60inch phone.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2017, 09:39 AM
Bartok Bartok is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Posts: 17
I'm not sure if that's the one I have, or just a similar (previous) model.
But it works alright. I have had it lock up sometimes, and does need to be reset periodically. But I am using it pretty much daily to watch either SageTV, or Plex.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2017, 09:48 AM
Spartan's Avatar
Spartan Spartan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Will it work, likely. Will you end up cursing Android and it's creators, and wish a horrible death on them, likely.

If you buy this, then you have to be prepared with the fact, that you are NOT running Android TV that ships on MiBox2 and NVidia Shield, but rather you are running your Android Phone's operating system on a TV, and the usability, is about as good as you trying to use your remote to control your phone, but now, it'll be a 60inch phone.
Interesting -- thank you for the comments. My wife wants 2 additional TVs next to the projection screen before the basketball tournament hits. TVs wouldn't be used much and I want to run SageTV to them on the cheap. As long as the live TV program feeds don't cut out on them, I'm not sure I care too much about the UI.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2017, 09:59 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan View Post
Interesting -- thank you for the comments. My wife wants 2 additional TVs next to the projection screen before the basketball tournament hits. TVs wouldn't be used much and I want to run SageTV to them on the cheap. As long as the live TV program feeds don't cut out on them, I'm not sure I care too much about the UI.
I'm not talking so much about the UI (it looks ok), it's the usability of the device. ie, because it's running android, and because it thinks it's a phone, you get apps that are designed for a phone, and not a TV. (Unlike Android TV, where you get apps designed for a TV). Even trying to install something from the Play Store, will make you want to crush it with a brick.

Personally, I'd spend a more and get the MiBox at Walmart. This is a $35 box... it's going to work and feel like a 35 box. It's not magically going work and feel like a $200 box, or even $100 box. Spec wise, these are good units, it's just the usability of the device is worse than anything you can imagine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2017, 12:31 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,413
What stuckless said - just spend a few more bucks and get a MiBox for $69 at Walmart.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual core or quad core AMD processors tvmaster2 Hardware Support 4 10-30-2014 11:44 PM
To get a faster dual-core or slower quad-core? That is the question... robogeek Hardware Support 33 03-09-2009 08:33 PM
ERROR (-10)... Only with Quad core, not Dual core? jerryt Hardware Support 2 04-03-2008 07:13 PM
quad core vs dual core garyellis Hardware Support 16 03-13-2008 10:36 PM
Windows Media Player - Streaming Mpeg's and Sage osarika SageTV Software 0 11-05-2005 11:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.