SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:34 AM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
intall help please

I was wondering if somone could help me with an install problem
I have a pvr-350
and a sound blaster sound card

everytime I try to set up a source I get this error

There was a capture Error in playback playback Details ERROR (558,0x16): there was a problem setting up software audio compression
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2006, 09:16 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
Could you run dmesg after it boots and send the output here.

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2006, 02:28 PM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
..

here it is
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt (15.4 KB, 169 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2006, 03:32 PM
Panzer Panzer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
You seem to be missing the firmware for the 350s decoder.

Take a look at this post for a quick fix. Altho I thought the updated iso had it included.
http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...28&postcount=3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2006, 04:25 PM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
..

the firmware file is in /lib/firmware

v4l-cx2341x-dec.fw
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2006, 04:45 PM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
..

I over wrote the old one with the new one still no joy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2006, 06:31 PM
Panzer Panzer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Ah, I didn't read that close enough, sorry. It's actually the little file that inits the decoder on the card, v4l-cx2341x-init-mpeg.bin

You can find that in the ivtv tar
http://dl.ivtvdriver.org/ivtv/archiv...v-0.4.1.tar.gz
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2006, 06:37 PM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
..

Im sorry where does it belong>?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2006, 06:58 PM
Panzer Panzer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
/lib/firmware

I went through the same troubles when I first tried with the 350 in January and have kinda forgotten some of the stuff I had to do to get it going.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:04 PM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
..

thanks but I dumped it in there and I still get the same error this 350 has been nothing but a pain in the butt since I got it
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-05-2006, 07:21 PM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
.

I guess this was a waste of $80.00
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-05-2006, 08:23 PM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
What is your dmesg log after adding the file?

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-05-2006, 08:39 PM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
..

here it is
Attached Files
File Type: txt log2.txt (15.4 KB, 145 views)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-06-2006, 09:12 AM
_Demo_ _Demo_ is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 863
Send a message via ICQ to _Demo_
The dmesg information looks fine. Could you try to remove then add the source again in SageTV?

_Demo_
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:20 PM
samson samson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: huntington station N.Y.
Posts: 133
..

thanks I cant get it going. Im going to wait till I get a 150 or pull the 500 out of my server I was hoping it would just work with the 350. I figured it would be a learning curve but Ill just put mythtv back on that computer till I get a different card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.