SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #181  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:57 AM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Broken again here too. 'No Data' after 7PM Feb 1st.
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 01-22-2013, 09:15 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJake View Post
Broken again here too. 'No Data' after 7PM Feb 1st.
Why does that mean it is broken?

That means you have 11 days worth of data, including today. As others have mentioned above you don't always get 14 days of data just because you ask Sage to poulate the EPG out that far, it is more like 10-13 days that is normally availabe.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 01-22-2013, 09:23 AM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Why does that mean it is broken?

That means you have 11 days worth of data, including today. As others have mentioned above you don't always get 14 days of data just because you ask Sage to poulate the EPG out that far, it is more like 10-13 days that is normally availabe.
Oh, just thought that the EPG should always be populated. I'll put my pitchfork away.
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 01-22-2013, 12:24 PM
davidk21770 davidk21770 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 483
Yep... same here. Post moved and problem fixed.

And based on other comments, I guess that I should wait a bit longer before trying to reset the EPG. I seem to remember having a full 13/14 days back in Sage's hay-day so I've been beginning to worry at 12 days. But if that's now the norm, I guess that I'm overreacting a bit

Thanks!
__________________
HDHomeRun x2
Cable Box via Hauppauge HD PVR and USB-UIRT
2 SageTV's HD300

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @4025 MHz, 8G G.Skill Performance
DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RS Plus; SilverStone Decathlon DA1000 (died - back to an ancient enermax)
eVGA 7900 GT KO RoHS -- Zalman VP900CU Cooling
Synology NAS 22TB

Last edited by davidk21770; 01-22-2013 at 12:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 01-22-2013, 02:16 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
The setting for lookahead is just for the scheduler, not for the EPG data itself. Sage will always grab whatever EPG data is available from the SageTV server, which gets it's information from Zap2It, which usually has spotty coverage out to 14 days I believe. The networks themselves sometimes don't even have their programming planned out much longer than that. If the Sage Server only updates from zap2it every so often, and especially if it is having problems and misses an update or such, then it is very likely that it will only have 11 days or so available.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 01-22-2013, 03:51 PM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
I'm only getting out to Feb 1st as well, however if I look at Zap2it's website for my location, they are showing information out to Feb. 5th. So, something still isn't syncing up right with the SageTV EPG servers and the Zap2it's website.
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 01-22-2013, 06:35 PM
bclenney bclenney is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 164
This is getting seriously old. Can someone fix this thing for good?
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:41 PM
markds's Avatar
markds markds is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: fall city, wa
Posts: 84
I am running normal. 12 days.. today and 11 ahead with no NO DATA gaps. All I seemed to miss was the House Republican respose to the inaguration....oh wait, that is every day on CSPAN2 when in session.

Thanks to those behind the hardware curtain fixing the EPG servers.
__________________
hp intel quad 2.8Ghz 16GB ram Win 7 pro 64bit hauppauge 1250 usb/serial connect 15TR storage recording directv TRYING to get sageTV9 to install over 7 without the SERVICE keeping on blowing up
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 01-23-2013, 12:49 AM
TigerNightmare TigerNightmare is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
I guess I was premature in thinking the problem was fixed. I feel like I'm going to have to delete those lines in the properties file every time I want to update the guide or else it won't happen on its own. Even though it says it was updated about an hour ago, everything past 6 PM on February 1st says 'No Data', giving me only about 9 days worth of primetime. I'm fairly certain Zap2It changed something and Sage can't find what it needs any longer. I hope I'm wrong. Interestingly, I only read today that Don't Trust The B in Apt. 23 was pulled from ABC's schedule and sure enough, the guide reflects that for the listings shown next week.
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 01-23-2013, 10:01 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Here's another update: The EPG servers are being watched daily (as I said previously) & the recurring issues are thought to be resolved (again).

There shouldn't be any data gaps once your systems do their next EPG update, but if there are, see my previous post about that.


Anyone involved with writing software where multiple systems have to talk to each other knows that there can be issues to solve from time to time; others may wonder about the evil intentions behind mysterious problems like these. This is not the first EPG problem experienced from the time when SageTV started and it probably won't be the last, since no software or hardware is perfect. It has already been stated that the EPG service isn't going away any time soon, and if it does there will be advance notice

Note that posts saying that there are EPG update problems can help us see that issues are continuing if our own systems are working (there are a couple EPG servers & sometimes only 1 has had problems, also noted previously), but please refrain from cries of "the world is ending", thanks.


Oh - and 12 days of data into the future is about the max (+2 days in the past = 14 days), except for one of the updates over a weekend where the Zap2it data isn't extended.

Finally, be assured that if these problems continue, we'll be following up on it.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 01-23-2013, 06:24 PM
NoodleNT NoodleNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 197
I am missing Guide data for many channels for tonight and going foward. Particularly ABC, CBS and FOX.

Verizon FIOS Washington Met. Digital -Herdon
Zip is 20871

Can I force an update?

Last edited by NoodleNT; 01-23-2013 at 06:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 01-23-2013, 06:41 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoodleNT View Post
I am missing Guide data for many channels for tonight and going foward. Particularly ABC, CBS and FOX.

Verizon FIOS Washington Met. Digital -Herdon
Zip is 20871

Can I force an update?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
There shouldn't be any data gaps once your systems do their next EPG update, but if there are, see my previous post about that. - Andy
I guess only if you read the previous post.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 01-23-2013, 06:50 PM
NoodleNT NoodleNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
I guess only if you read the previous post.

Gerry

Page 8 of a 10 page thread. Nope... Perhaps make it a sticky and don't be a wise guy?

Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 01-23-2013, 07:17 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoodleNT View Post
Page 8 of a 10 page thread. Nope... Perhaps make it a sticky and don't be a wise guy?

Thanks for the info!
You mean like in the FAQ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
this FAQ). - Andy
The reason I posted was because the answer to your question was in the post just above your post.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 01-23-2013, 07:26 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 615
My guide data stops on Feb 1 at about 5:00pm (9 days of data). I tried the trick of removing the lines in the properties files (which has worked in the past), but my data still just goes to Feb 1.

Is anyone getting data beyond Feb 1? Maybe the EPG servers are still trying to catch up to the Zap2it data.
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 01-23-2013, 07:51 PM
crarbo1 crarbo1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 465
I still can't get any information past Feb. 1st too. I know Zap2it has 14 days worth of information for my zipcode, so that isn't the problem. I have tried the "tricks" to force an update before and after Andy's last post, but still no info past Feb. 1st. I guess as long as I get an update before then I will be ok, but this seems to be longest, at least for me, that I haven't been getting updates.

Chuck
__________________
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64 bit)
Motherboard/CPU/RAM: Gigabyte EP43-UD3/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz/8 GB RAM
System Drive : Samsung 850 Pro SSD (256 GB)
Recording Drive's: 2 x WD WD4001FAEX (4 TB)
Tuner's: 2 x Ceton InfiniTV 4's
Clients: 3 x Nvidia Shield TV's; Spares: 2 x HD300's
SageTV v9.1.2.662 with OpenDCT v0.5.28
Java 1.8.0_111-b14 (32bit)
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:51 PM
NoodleNT NoodleNT is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: DC
Posts: 197
Crarbo,

Make sure the lineup you were using still exists. Just create a new lineup and see if the lineup is still listed. It may have changed or been removed.


I got mine working again. I did the delete step in the sage.properties file but nothing changed after starting up the service. I then toggled all the channels I was having issues with off. Went back to the home screen, then went back and enabled those channels again. After that, all the missing data came back.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 01-23-2013, 08:54 PM
voorhees voorhees is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 339
Looks like it is still not working. I forced an update (deleted lines from sage.properties), and my EPG did not update (I have not received an actual update since Sunday) and the information screen shows the update is still in work for ~1.5 hours and has not completed (0 min to next EPG update).

Andy, if you could please take a look at the servers again since it is still not functioning it would be great. Thanks.
__________________
Server: OS: MS WHS v1; MB: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R; CPU: Intel Q9400 2.66GHz; RAM: G.SKILL 4GB (4x1GB); HDs: 1x80GB, 7x1.5TB; Graphics: EVGA GeForce 9500 GT 512MB
Capture/Content: HD-PVR, 2xHDHRP (CC), Comcast
STBs (Controllers): RNG110 (Firewire ChCh)
Clients: 2xHD300, 2xHD200, 2xPS, Client
SageTV/Plugins: v7.1.9, SageDCT, SRE, Comm Det, Jetty, Web Server, Mob Web, PlayOn, E/D Fav, Fav Ex, MF Stop, Enc Names
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 01-23-2013, 11:18 PM
UniKyrn's Avatar
UniKyrn UniKyrn is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 68
Send a message via AIM to UniKyrn
All my EPG data stops on Feb 1st also, and I'm not about to delete the lineup and try to recreate it, just to find out it doesn't exist now.

That leaves me with 7 days of EPG data at this point.

Also, you probably want at least 8 days at any given point, so that Sage can look ahead far enough and decide that if there is a recording conflict, it can catch the rerun next week and still record everything you want. Less than 7 days and It won't know how to deal with conflicts well.

So, is anybody seeing data past Feb 1st? Monitoring the EPG servers daily doesn't do us any good if they are up but no longer return current data.

And for those who see their data end on Feb 1st, does it happen to end at Midnight Feb 2nd, minus your timezone offset? I'm at PST (-8 hours) and my last EPG data ends on Feb 1st, 4PM.

Oh, and just to make sure, I forced an update. The update did not delete my lineup, the next update is in 23+ hours so I assume the update worked, but I still don't have any data after 4PM Feb 1st. I have to assume that's because the Sage EPG servers haven't got the data beyond that point.

Last edited by UniKyrn; 01-23-2013 at 11:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 01-24-2013, 06:10 AM
comedian999 comedian999 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 43
Just performed a manual update and got data through 2/5 @ 6 p.m. EST. Previously I, too was stuck at 2/1.

And thanks for the status update yesterday Opus. I don't think any of us mean to fire off "The world is ending!" messages (for myself, I sometimes drink and post. It's my secret shame), but please keep in mind that if we're posting here, there's a good chance we have spent a lot of time and money making an HTPC and Sage the center of our home entertainment experience. So when things beyond our control start to go wrong, we're less thinking that the world is ending as much as we're dreading maybe having to find another solution, spending more months getting that working, and hearing from the SO, "This isn't as good as Sage. Buy me a Tivo."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning - Capture Device Failure while Starting Data Scanning SDeGonge Hardware Support 1 01-09-2011 06:05 AM
SageMC "OK" message on main menu. Error message? 49studebaker SageMC Custom Interface 7 01-31-2009 09:50 AM
Warning: ApplicationStartedHook and Placeshifter nielm SageTV Studio 4 09-24-2007 09:26 AM
Sony SAT B3 Warning! JUC Hardware Support 5 04-06-2005 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.