SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2019, 02:33 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Recommendations for new hardware

I'm thinking of replacing at least the motherboard and CPU on my 2010 vintage SageTV server. I'm currently running a ASUS P7H55D-EVO LGA 1156 Motherboard, Intel Core I5-661 overclocked to about 3.8ghz, Windows 7. I'd like to go to a current hardware platform with Windows 10 64 bit, maybe Pro.

I have 3 3.5" HDDs and one SSD.

This is my current mATX case, which I might reuse:



Do these wish lists look likely to work? Also, are onboard USB ports still a problem like they were many years ago? The Mini-ITX board doesn't have any slots except the one for the GPU card.

mATX Intel:
https://secure.newegg.com/Wishlist/S...EIG6QV0A%3d%3d

Mini ITX Intel:
https://secure.newegg.com/Wishlist/S...7wPOgHYcfgA%3d

mATX AMD:
https://secure.newegg.com/Wishlist/S...orAxTSXA%3d%3d

The storage configurations on these cases use inverted and vertical positioning, a bit unnerving but probably not an actual problem.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit

Last edited by Malfunction; 10-20-2019 at 09:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2019, 08:29 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,435
Look nice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2019, 09:29 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Look nice
Thanks! I put this together February 2010. I tried unplugging my tuners from the USB card and plugging into the motherboard USB. Not a problem. I'm going with this build: https://secure.newegg.com/Wishlist/S...cJhbOD3RbHw%3d
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2019, 01:49 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,435
I like Silver Stone Technologies CS280B P NAS Chassis but to over price for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2019, 03:09 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
I like Silver Stone Technologies CS280B P NAS Chassis but to over price for me.
My big puzzle lately is Intel vs. AMD. It's almost like Ford vs. Chevy these days.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2019, 05:39 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
My big puzzle lately is Intel vs. AMD. It's almost like Ford vs. Chevy these days.
I know I really wish AMD would get it act right with linux.
It REALLY boil down to what app you plan on using it with.
Intel has the better support when come Linux transcoding with it QuickSync with it integrated video.
AMD has better price and more steam count then Nvidia with it lock 2 steam count unless you can get the mod driver which unlock this with Windows.

In just case of SageTV I think and Ryzen 3200G or 3400G better value being all those Benchmark with Core i3-9100F are using discrete GPU as this CPU doesn't have an integrated video card which add more cost unless you got a newer GPU.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2019, 09:52 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
I know I really wish AMD would get it act right with linux.
It REALLY boil down to what app you plan on using it with.
Intel has the better support when come Linux transcoding with it QuickSync with it integrated video.
AMD has better price and more steam count then Nvidia with it lock 2 steam count unless you can get the mod driver which unlock this with Windows.

In just case of SageTV I think and Ryzen 3200G or 3400G better value being all those Benchmark with Core i3-9100F are using discrete GPU as this CPU doesn't have an integrated video card which add more cost unless you got a newer GPU.
I have an NVIDIA graphics card that I plan on using. There is a Ryzen 5 2600 bundle at Micro Center for $159.99 that's tempting. Also has the only AMD micro ATX board that I like.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2019, 09:56 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
I have an NVIDIA graphics card that I plan on using. There is a Ryzen 5 2600 bundle at Micro Center for $159.99 that's tempting. Also has the only AMD micro ATX board that I like.
In comparison to the old, quad-core Pentium I’m running for my Sage server, how does this Ryzen compare? I too am thinking of building a new Sage box, but am nervous investing any money as I watch key-developer after key-developer abandoning the Sage platform....
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2019, 11:35 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
In comparison to the old, quad-core Pentium Iím running for my Sage server, how does this Ryzen compare? I too am thinking of building a new Sage box, but am nervous investing any money as I watch key-developer after key-developer abandoning the Sage platform....
I'm sure it's faster. It also probably doesn't run Windows 7. My major motivation is the spinning cursor on the recordings screens. My playback is still pretty snappy.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2019, 12:12 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
I have an NVIDIA graphics card that I plan on using. There is a Ryzen 5 2600 bundle at Micro Center for $159.99 that's tempting. Also has the only AMD micro ATX board that I like.
That not bad deal
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-23-2019, 01:45 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,588
Do you need a discrete video card? I am not as sure about AMD processors but Intel CPUs have more than enough onboard power for displaying video.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-23-2019, 01:58 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Do you need a discrete video card? I am not as sure about AMD processors but Intel CPUs have more than enough onboard power for displaying video.
Yes it has more the enough onboard power for displaying video as I have really old AMD APU A10-5800K
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-24-2019, 03:00 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Yes it has more the enough onboard power for displaying video as I have really old AMD APU A10-5800K
Yes if it's an APU. The Ryzen 5 2600 doesn't have an integrated GPU.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-24-2019, 09:31 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
Yes if it's an APU. The Ryzen 5 2600 doesn't have an integrated GPU.
I refer to more update APU like Ryzen 2200/3200G, 2400/3400G as my old AMD APU A10-5800K dose just fine but which is many gen old vs the new APU
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-27-2019, 02:45 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
I built the thing. Still trying to sort it out. Can't find favorites, Eventghost is FUBAR and every show lost TV station info.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-29-2019, 07:10 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
I built the thing. Still trying to sort it out. Can't find favorites, Eventghost is FUBAR and every show lost TV station info.
All good now. USB-UUIRT drivers needed replaced. Reinstalled without Sage.properties.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-29-2019, 11:26 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
All good now. USB-UUIRT drivers needed replaced. Reinstalled without Sage.properties.
Do you know of a good, not obvious, link for learning how to install and use a USB-UIRT? All the typical ones havenít helped me - Iím UIRT-slow.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-30-2019, 03:01 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Do you know of a good, not obvious, link for learning how to install and use a USB-UIRT? All the typical ones havenít helped me - Iím UIRT-slow.
This saved me. The SageTV installer didn't really install the drivers, probably Windows blocked it. https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...&postcount=191

Now if I could just figure out how to lift my EventGhost tree out of my old hard drive!
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-30-2019, 09:47 AM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
Now if I could just figure out how to lift my EventGhost tree out of my old hard drive!
USB-UIRT currently has a limitation: it can't talk to 32-bit and 64-bit programs at the same time. If running the Sage-x64 service, you'll need to install/run the 64-bit version of EventGhost.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-30-2019, 11:39 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustFred View Post
USB-UIRT currently has a limitation: it can't talk to 32-bit and 64-bit programs at the same time. If running the Sage-x64 service, you'll need to install/run the 64-bit version of EventGhost.
Thanks for the reminder. I asked Eventghost for 64 bit years ago. I was able to use it when I was using the IR blaster that came with the HDPVR-2 to change channels.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 mATX AMD Motherboard, AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4GHz, Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD - Black SN750 NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 2x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, HD-PVR2, WinTV dualHD, Windows 10 64bit

Last edited by Malfunction; 10-30-2019 at 02:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Server Hardware Recommendations bbenkstein Hardware Support 6 11-13-2011 12:14 AM
Hardware Recommendations? Underfunded Hardware Support 3 11-21-2008 01:54 PM
Hardware recommendations for 60 tuners shahfar Hardware Support 35 04-04-2008 10:42 AM
Looking for recommendations for new tuner hardware neilbradley Hardware Support 1 06-12-2007 08:11 PM
Considering a switch from Tivo, Hardware recommendations? abbott_m Hardware Support 14 01-03-2005 09:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.