SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2008, 06:23 AM
personalt's Avatar
personalt personalt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 243
RF Remote for Extender

Can anyone recommend decent RF universal remote to work with the extender?

I realize any universal can be made to work but I was looking for something that had a decent match on the button list.

would love to have buttons already labeled for maybe two speeds of fastfoward, menu, guide, home, back, prev channel, watched etc..

I need to be RF, either a RF remote or a regular remote with extender. RF remote is better as I have been getting interference from the LCD tv in my IRA-2 IR reader already.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:10 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
The extender only has an IR receiver. You would need to get a setup that had some sort of RF to IR extender. The Harmony 890 IR and RF and IR remote.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:18 AM
personalt's Avatar
personalt personalt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 243
yes.. I did realize that any RF remote I got would have to have a RF to IR module at the end.

I think the 890 and the IR module is more then I paid for the sage extender.

that is a cool remote though, but I was looking for something cheaper unless I am wrong in the fact that this a few hundred dollar remote. I would like to keep it at the $100 mark if possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:45 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by personalt View Post
yes.. I did realize that any RF remote I got would have to have a RF to IR module at the end.

I think the 890 and the IR module is more then I paid for the sage extender.

that is a cool remote though, but I was looking for something cheaper unless I am wrong in the fact that this a few hundred dollar remote. I would like to keep it at the $100 mark if possible.
$150 is the best I could do.

Osiris RF Remote
Most others range from $400 to $1,000. Kameleon had the Kameleon 8 RF for about $60 but it's discontinuied. Maybe search for that on eBay.

You could try this: Internal RF Adapter for almost any Remote $45.00

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:50 AM
personalt's Avatar
personalt personalt is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 243
I will check those out... maybe I will just get a 880 and that RF adapter.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zalman remote or Hauppauge remote bmac.to Hardware Support 4 11-12-2008 12:41 PM
Help with Hauppauge IR Remote use in SageTV twistedsymphony Hardware Support 2 12-21-2007 12:13 PM
USB-UIRT + MCE Remote jblaty Hardware Support 3 07-09-2007 01:52 PM
Harmony 520 Remote With Hauppauge Commands Taddeusz Hardware Support 5 04-27-2007 06:04 AM
Bought new Hauppauge remote, now having problems supernoob Hardware Support 1 02-26-2006 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.