SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2009, 10:01 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Network encoder delay between tuning and playing

There seems to be delay between SageTV telling a network encoder to tune and it actually responding to the growing mpeg file it has specified to record to.

This seems to correspond in the GUI to the tuning popup windows "circle of death" stopping circling for 5 seconds.

Is there some kind of configurable delay in action here that can be tweaked?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2009, 01:04 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldjcox View Post
There seems to be delay between SageTV telling a network encoder to tune and it actually responding to the growing mpeg file it has specified to record to.

This seems to correspond in the GUI to the tuning popup windows "circle of death" stopping circling for 5 seconds.

Is there some kind of configurable delay in action here that can be tweaked?
Do you mean it takes a while for the playback of that recording to start or just instigating the recording itself? If you ever watched the logs on both machines as the net encoder process starts, you'll see that there isn't a lot of time wasted.
__________________
Server: AMD 9600 Phenom on XP, Gigabyte GA-MA78GPM, 2GB RAM, 320+250+500 GB SATA drives, HDHomeRun Prime, HD-PVR x.5.1, Paterson serial
Client/Encoder:AMD 3800+ X2, 512 MB RAM, ATI X1650 XT, nMediaPC case, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Cyberlink/ArcSoft decoders, USB-UIRT
Client/Encoder: AMD 3800+ X2, 512 MB RAM, 6150 graphics, nMediaPC case, ArcSoft decoders
Client: HD300, Asus Pundit P1-AH1, AMD 3800+ X2 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 6150 graphics, ArcSoft decoders
Backup: Synology
SageTV version: FINAL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2009, 02:38 PM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
As its a network encoder of my writing I have a log file that details when the start rec command from SageTV arrives and also prints out the file size of the recording mpg file SageTV will play.

The start request comes in from SageTV.

But then the file grows to 60-100Mb and around 5-10 seconds delay occurs before SageTV actually seems to play the file.

But it seems to be more of a delay than file size dependent.

I'd really like to be able to reduce this delay period
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2009, 12:35 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Does anybody have any idea on this?

Just creating a recording file for sage to play is not enough.

It seems to want to wait before playing.

Some built in delay seems to be occuring that I feel is probably adjustable by a property in Sage.properties.

Thanks
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2009, 12:56 AM
AndersNolberger AndersNolberger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Linköping Sweden
Posts: 255
Do you respond to the "GET_FILE_SIZE" command in the network encoder? If you do, how do you get the file size? If you ask the file system then you will get 0 as an answer for several seconds even though the file is bigger. When Sage gets 0 as size it waits a little longer to get an actual size. If you instead answer with the actual bytes written by your program it will be faster. That is the reason that i wrote my own file writer filter for my network encoders.

Other than that I don't recall me doing enything else to speed up the tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2009, 01:02 AM
AndersNolberger AndersNolberger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Linköping Sweden
Posts: 255
I am looking at my code now and I actually never responds with 0 to GET_FILE_SIZE but instead answers 200 if it should be 0. If I remember correctly that was to speed things up a little.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2009, 01:10 AM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndersNolberger View Post
Do you respond to the "GET_FILE_SIZE" command in the network encoder? If you do, how do you get the file size? If you ask the file system then you will get 0 as an answer for several seconds even though the file is bigger. When Sage gets 0 as size it waits a little longer to get an actual size. If you instead answer with the actual bytes written by your program it will be faster. That is the reason that i wrote my own file writer filter for my network encoders.

Other than that I don't recall me doing enything else to speed up the tuning.
Thanks for your reply.

I use java's File.length() method to return the length in bytes unless that returns 0 in which case I return 200.

I did try lying about the size and returning a very large number but that didn't seem to make any difference.

Regards
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:04 PM
AndersNolberger AndersNolberger is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Linköping Sweden
Posts: 255
Try to ly a little more convincing! Answer with a small size and then increase at every question. I don't meen this as a solution but as a test to see if it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:18 PM
michaeldjcox michaeldjcox is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Posts: 823
Heh.

Yeah - always been a bad liar.

Will try that out.

Thanks,

Michael
__________________
Web Feed Encoder developer
SageTV Catchup developer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
"network encoder"


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tuning delay parameter in linux zoop SageTV Beta Test Software 2 11-15-2008 09:03 AM
network encoder stutters but ok on the encoder pc stryker SageTV Software 4 01-09-2008 02:28 PM
2 Minute Delay When Playing Ripped DVD smitz SageTV Software 0 08-04-2006 01:14 AM
Please help with network encoder dlusk SageTV Beta Test Software 3 03-16-2006 10:35 PM
What is a network encoder ? Fluffdaddy General Discussion 2 08-28-2005 08:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.