SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:26 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
One of the things we could see if Sage was still alive would be a move to a 64 bit JVM which would allow more than 1 GB of memory which should have alleviated such issues. And hopefully they could have fixed the Placeshifter issues as it has never worked very well.
Sorry, but 64-bit wouldn't fix Placeshifter. As far as video encoding Placeshifter has always used an external program, a custom version of FFMpeg, to transcode video for Placeshifter playback. Not necessarily a bad thing but it's never worked right with interlaced H.264 video. Just the technology base of Placeshifter has been passed over even before Google bought SageTV.

Placeshifter uses MPEG2 video whereas newer streaming software such as Plex all use H.264. Not to mention the fact that Placeshifter is stuck in the world of SD. Placeshifter should have been updated to new tech a long time ago but was unfortunately not their priority.

Plex has filled the streaming niche for me. I'm able to access all my media through remote or local streaming as well as storing pre-converted content on my devices. Far more flexible and higher in quality than Placeshifter ever has been.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:29 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
I realize that 64 bit JVM has nothing to do with Placeshifter - I just meant that these are two of the biggest drawbacks in the "core" SageTV that can/will never be fixed.

I still hope for the day that Google OpenSources SageTV V7 and some of our devs can take it over and bring it back to life. But it is probably getting too late for that to be useful as many of the folks who developed some of the great plugins/UIs are moving on.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:31 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Plex has filled the streaming niche for me. I'm able to access all my media through remote or local streaming as well as storing pre-converted content on my devices. Far more flexible and higher in quality than Placeshifter ever has been.
Does this work for shows that aren't Plex-friendly like sports? Or do you use one of the plugins to send metadata from Sage to Plex?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:40 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I am guessing that eventually there will be so much competition from the non-cable companies like Netflix that the HBO's, AMC's, and other "channels" will open up to selling their content in ways not locked in to the cable companies themselves.
But sports is still the big hook as you mentioned above. I only see that changing in one of two ways:

Netflix (or Apple) decides to really shake things up and bid for TV rights for the NFL or another major sporting event.

The sports teams/leagues decide to forego the middlemen of the cable channels and cable/sat distributors and go all-in on their web based video streaming. I have heard of some sports-loving cable cutters that have moved to the online delivery of sports but they pay $200/yr or something similar per sport and have to use evasive measures to avoid blackouts. But that somewhat shrinks the market as not everyone can figure out how to watch this type of content on their TV if they don't have any sources other than a cable/sat box.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:43 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Does this work for shows that aren't Plex-friendly like sports? Or do you use one of the plugins to send metadata from Sage to Plex?
I use the SageTV plugins for Plex.

Honestly, we rarely watch live TV. When we do we don't watch it in SageTV. I've never been a huge sports fan. Gotten into OKC Thunder basketball but we always watch the games straight from cable.

So it doesn't matter that we can't currently watch live TV from Plex. In fact, in our family Plex is mostly for me. We have yet to need it for anyone else.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:52 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I still hope for the day that Google OpenSources SageTV V7 and some of our devs can take it over and bring it back to life.
That would be more likely if Sage weren't the guts of Google Fiber. Considering that the programming inside the Google Fiber box is actually SageTV v8, I doubt they are going to be sharing it. Wouldn't that just be giving away their technology to the competition for free?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:56 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
That would be more likely if Sage weren't the guts of Google Fiber. Considering that the programming inside the Google Fiber box is actually SageTV v8, I doubt they are going to be sharing it. Wouldn't that just be giving away their technology to the competition for free?
True - but it is possible that they move away from using Sage as the core of their DVR engine.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:59 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Honestly, we rarely watch live TV. When we do we don't watch it in SageTV. I've never been a huge sports fan. Gotten into OKC Thunder basketball but we always watch the games straight from cable.
I never watch live TV but I find sports are the best thing to watch recorded. I watch games in near real time, meaning that I will often begin watching sports while the event is still going on. So if an NBA/NHL game starts at 7:30 I may start watching it at 9 or so.

A basketball game should only take 48 minutes to watch, less if you skip through walking the ball up the court. But the broadcast of an NBA game is usually over 2.5 hours.

And I bet Google Fiber doesn't have SRE - one of the most useful plugins EVER.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-22-2014, 11:07 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I never watch live TV but I find sports are the best thing to watch recorded. I watch games in near real time, meaning that I will often begin watching sports while the event is still going on. So if an NBA/NHL game starts at 7:30 I may start watching it at 9 or so.

A basketball game should only take 48 minutes to watch, less if you skip through walking the ball up the court. But the broadcast of an NBA game is usually over 2.5 hours.

And I bet Google Fiber doesn't have SRE - one of the most useful plugins EVER.
I think we could watch more stuff through SageTV if we had more cable capable tuners. Meaning able to tune "copy once" or "copy never" stuff. Right now we have an HD-PVR for that. To add another cable box dedicated to SageTV is cost prohibitive. I would rather we had CableCard capable tuners but that is not possible with the Cox Cable and SageTV mix. They mark nothing except locals as "copy always". An unfortunate situation but our choices are limited and bring little to no value over what we already have.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-22-2014, 11:22 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
True - I have two HD-PVRs and two HD cable boxes hooked up to them. Here in Canada we use the same technology as in the US but we have the option of buying cable boxes outright. Years ago I bought several boxes when they were on sale for a good price (I think $200 each) and these boxes are connected to the HD-PVRs. The boxes that I am using are somewhat obsolete as they only have component output, not HDMI. But that is perfect for the HD-PVR.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-22-2014, 12:47 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I never watch live TV but I find sports are the best thing to watch recorded. I watch games in near real time, meaning that I will often begin watching sports while the event is still going on. So if an NBA/NHL game starts at 7:30 I may start watching it at 9 or so.

A basketball game should only take 48 minutes to watch, less if you skip through walking the ball up the court. But the broadcast of an NBA game is usually over 2.5 hours.

And I bet Google Fiber doesn't have SRE - one of the most useful plugins EVER.
I do watch some sports slightly delayed and ffwd through commercials, but only about 1/2 the time.

Google Fiber does NOT have SRE or any of the other cool plugins. When you set up a recording of a live event like sports GF does this which does handle most of those situations:


PS: Now that I see that screen-shot I am reminded how rough of a sports day Saturday was. My Mizzou Tigers lost their way and my KC Royals forgot how to tag up at third base.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-22-2014, 01:27 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
True - but it is possible that they move away from using Sage as the core of their DVR engine.
I would also agree that SageTV will not be open sourced or anything similar as long as it is used as the Networked DVR/Media engine. No idea if there are any plans to change that in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-22-2014, 05:42 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
  • What model Slingbox do you have and/or would you buy today?
  • Do you connect the Slingbox up to an extender?
  • Do you use a dedicated extender or do you just use an extender at one of your TVs with the drawback that someone can't be using that extender to watch SageTV when you are using it for placeshifting.
  • Which output from the extender? HD (HDMI or component) or SD (s-video or composite)? If HD do you used 1080i or 720p?
  • I use a Slingbox 350; I'm happy with my purchase and it works great but it is only component and the HD200/300 can't output both component and HDMI. The HD200 I use is hooked up to a standard def TV (only one in the house) so I don't mind but if I had to do it over I might go with the 500 because it supports HDMI pass through.
  • The extender I use with it is pretty much dedicated to the Slingbox (it is hooked up to my gym TV). If I had a big family I wouldn't put it on the main TV because the extender can only only show one thing at a time. I seriously considered making my extra HD300 a dedicated Slingbox extender but I rarely ever have issues with the gym TV being used while I am away so it wasn't worth the hassle. It really depends on your extender situation.
  • HDMI/component really doesn't make a difference with the Slingbox because it isn't going to stream at a high enough rate to notice. At max quality the picture is great but it will never be high enough quality to matter. If you get the 350, it is smaller and cheaper but it only does component at 1080i while the 500 supports HDMI at 1080p. I would consider where you are going to put this; if you do a dedicated extender or have a TV hooked up already by component then you would probably be fine saving the extra money and getting the 350

The Slingbox works really well and if you do get one make sure to use the media server remote over the built in IR blaster for Slingbox. The Slingbox works on a 5 second buffer lag so using a live IR blaster is tedious. I posted details about my setup in a previous post.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-22-2014, 05:46 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I still hope for the day that Google OpenSources SageTV V7 and some of our devs can take it over and bring it back to life. But it is probably getting too late for that to be useful as many of the folks who developed some of the great plugins/UIs are moving on.
I wouldn't hold my breath waiting. Google isn't the best open source partner; they say they are but they use closed source software to control markets, e.g., Android is open source but if you want your Android phone to be useful and have calendar, gmail, Play store, etc. you have to submit to Google's terms so you can install their closed sourced programs like Play store and gmail.

Why would Google want to help a competitor make a better cable box with an opened sourced version of SageTV? I just don't see it happening.
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-22-2014, 05:49 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
A basketball game should only take 48 minutes to watch, less if you skip through walking the ball up the court. But the broadcast of an NBA game is usually over 2.5 hours.
I agree 100%. I can't understand why someone, especially alone, wants to spend three hours watching a football/baseball/basket ball game (unless it is the Super Bowl).
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-22-2014, 05:53 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I bet Google Fiber doesn't have SRE - one of the most useful plugins EVER.
I know this is off topic but how does SRE work? How does the plugin know to extend a recording? Does SRE know a game is running over and extends it or does it just assume all games run over and automatically extends all sport recordings?

Also, does SRE work for TV shows that get pushed late because of a game that runs before hand (lot of Sunday shows get messed up by football/baseball)?
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-22-2014, 06:21 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
SRE monitors a web site(s) - I think Slugger now uses ESPN to see if the game is Final or if it is still taking place. If the game is not final then it keeps the recording going. Every once in a while it scans your upcoming recordings to see if they are in the database of upcoming games - if they are then SRE kicks in and I think there is an indicator on both the Sage UI and the web UI.

SRE doesn't help you for any shows that are pushed later. It only works to record the specific recording event.

There are also plugins to disable the timeline for SRE monitored shows. This is particularly relevant for playoff hockey games. If you are watching a recorded game and it is near the end of the third period then from the timeline you can tell if the game goes to OT or not.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-22-2014, 08:11 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
I agree 100%. I can't understand why someone, especially alone, wants to spend three hours watching a football/baseball/basket ball game (unless it is the Super Bowl).
I cracked up when I read this article about the NFL a few years ago. Glad I don't watch sports.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-23-2014, 07:21 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by will View Post
[LIST]The Slingbox works really well and if you do get one make sure to use the media server remote over the built in IR blaster for Slingbox. The Slingbox works on a 5 second buffer lag so using a live IR blaster is tedious. I posted details about my setup in a previous post.
We are getting way OT so I started a new topic specifically regarding to Sage and Slingbox - it is here http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...689#post566689
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-23-2014, 08:53 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I would also agree that SageTV will not be open sourced or anything similar as long as it is used as the Networked DVR/Media engine. No idea if there are any plans to change that in the future.
The only possibility I see is if they open source a stripped down version of SageTV 7. I am sure a lot of work went into SageTV 8 to add all of the video on demand sources and the DRM stuff and I don't see any possibility of them open spourcing that. Maybe there is enough distance between 7 and 8 that they'd feel comfortable open sourcing the older version.

Wishful thinking on my part.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Adventures with Google Fiber - from a SageTV guy Brent General Discussion 94 04-04-2014 10:19 AM
Google Fiber jbrandon General Discussion 27 01-26-2014 05:46 PM
Is TWC using Google Fiber? pjpjpjpj General Discussion 4 12-12-2013 07:56 AM
Google Fiber + SageTV SHS General Discussion 58 05-02-2013 07:45 AM
Google Fiber Launched Yesterday...any word about the Google Fiber TV? rwc General Discussion 4 11-14-2012 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.