SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2011, 12:05 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
Web server and Sage 7.x

I've read the threads on the Web Server add-in for Sage 7.
Is there a clear procedure for installing/using it with Sage 7? I see a lot of disjoint comments, but haven't found a step by step procedure. Perhaps it's now dependent on another plugin related to Java?

I just want a: do step 1, 2, 3 and it will work, or a statement, no, the web server isn't viable for Sage 7 without a lot of experimentation - whichever is the case.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2011, 12:31 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Wouldn't you just go to the plugin interface and install it?
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2011, 10:21 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
Ah, well that caused me to discover:
I'm using Sage 7 at the server, but the PC client is the older blue-swish Sage3 UI - becuase of the larger fonts, higher contrast needed in this household.

And the Plugins choice isn't in that menu.

So I switched to the Sage 7 UI and saw the plugins list choice.
It lists the older "sageTV web interface" 2.3 by nielm et al, but not compatible.
The other is Jetty Web Server. I guessed I want the "server" side installation. Ran that choice. Fumbled blindly for some time.
web server on port 8080:/apps is responding.
now trying to find where to read for how to get the content server for Sage's EPG and so on to be an app of jetty.

I remember running the Sage control web server years ago with Sage and it was straightforward and had a simple document on installing/using.

Apparently the crib sheet for Sage is at
http://tools.assembla.com/sageplugins/wiki/Jetty

trying to find where it is said how to get ye ole nielm web server app going.

Last edited by stevech; 06-09-2011 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2011, 01:24 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
SageTV Web Interface is the one you want. It requires Jetty as a dependency, but will install it automatically if not present. Version 2.3 requires SageTV 7.1.5 or better; that's probably why you're getting a "not compatible" message.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:10 PM
brb84 brb84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
7.1 is still beta, though, right? I'm having the same issue trying to get it installed. If I can't do it through the plugin installer yet, what instructions should I follow?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2011, 10:41 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
You install it through the plugin manager. There is no other way. If you need an older version, you could try contacting the plugin author. Only the current version is available in the master repository.

It's just a fact of life that plugin devs like to be at the forefront of beta development in order to have access to the latest features and APIs. If you're not comfortable using betas, then you're going to find that there are some plugins you can't use.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2011, 10:47 AM
brb84 brb84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 97
I actually don't mind working with betas - it's more that I just upgraded to 7.0, and it was surprising to me that the webserver was not yet available; I thought I was doing something wrong.

Besides that, I haven't purchased my upgrade yet, so I'm using a trial key. Can you use a beta install without having a full license? If not, it isn't a huge deal. I can just wait until I buy my upgrade and then install the beta at that point. And in the interim, the mobile web sever works through jetty well enough.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2011, 12:01 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
You can install the beta on your trial license (but it won't reset the clock on your trial).
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2011, 02:25 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,513
Once I install the web server in V7 how can I access the setup? I want to specify the usernames, passwords and port configuration (ie: 8080). Also, I'm curious, does one need a placeshifter license for the web server? Also, how many may watch TV in a browser utilizing the web server at the same time?

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage server and Playon server on same machine srothwell SageTV Software 4 07-27-2009 01:24 PM
WHS Sage Server access to shares on another server rmac321 SageTV Software 23 03-11-2009 07:20 PM
Sage TV for Windows Home Server Software, HPMediaSmart Server, and HD homerun tuners c309 SageTV Software 15 08-17-2008 06:03 AM
Sage Web Server and existing web server compatibilty? Brent94Z SageTV Customizations 6 01-18-2005 11:29 AM
Optimal Architecture - How To use Sage.Server, Sage.Client and Sage.Recorder together edbmdave SageTV Software 4 08-24-2004 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.