SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2009, 10:25 PM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
LiveTV Plays on the Extender for About 3 to 4 minutes then extender shuts down!

I did delete SageTV and re-install SageTV. I am using the default STV. My tuner is a HD-PVR. The sudden problem: LiveTV Plays on the Extender for About 3 to 4 minutes then extender shuts down! I turned the HD200 back on from the remote control, select Watch LiveTV and the screen shows : There was a Playback Error in Playback. Details: sage,PlaybackException If I disconnect power from the HD200, the cycle repeats itself! Have my extender gone bad? No error log is produced on the server! Any helpis highly apreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2009, 05:21 AM
Clift Clift is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 555
I had a similar problem and it ended up being a hard drive going bad. That might be somethign to look at also. Do a chkdisk on the server.
__________________
Server:W7 Ultimate, SageTV 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HVR-2250, 2x HD PVR 1212
Clients:
1x STX-HD100
3x STP-HD200
@cliftpompee
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2009, 05:56 AM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
Clift,

Thanks for your prompt response. I will check the HD's adn get back to you shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2009, 12:16 PM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
C: and F: drive (Media) check ok. I am defragmenting the F: drive. Will post results
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2009, 02:09 PM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
Drivess checked o.k. Defrag was none without errors. I can watch recorded TV, movies stored on the hard drive, view pictures slideshows, and listen to music playlst without any problems. But I hit Live TV and after 4 minutes the HD200 shuts down by itself! The server has no error logs! Can somebody help? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2009, 02:45 PM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
I just upgraded the server from SageTV version 6.5 to the latest 6.6. Upgraded the HD200 to the latest firmware. Enabled debug, restarted the Sagetv service, rebooted the HD200, fired up Watch Live TV and the box has stay online without turning itself off! The thing that is not working now is my LMremote plug in! I use the MCE blaster to change the channels on the STB. What the F!~@#! This is the gift that keeps on giving. Any clues as of what to look for?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2009, 05:11 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Any clues as of what to look for?
Sounds like you're problem's solved, no?
__________________
Clients: 1xHD200 Connected to 50" TH-50PZ750U Plasma
Server : Shuttle SFF SSH55J2 w/ Win7 Home, SageTV v7, Core i3 540, 2GB RAM, 30GB SSD for OS, 1.5TB+2x1TB WDGP for Recordings, BluRay, 2xHDHR, 1xFirewire
SageTV : PlayOn, SJQ, MediaShrink, Comskip, Jetty, Web Client, BMT


Having a problem? Don't forget to include a log! (Instructions for: PlayOn For SageTV v1.5, MediaShrink)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2009, 04:39 AM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
Well, I did yesterday. I upgraded the default .STV to it's latest version and when I issued a change channel request from teh default SageTV stv it worked! The extender has been running solid since I upgraded to 6.6. I upgraded the HS200 to their latest firmware prior to the shut down problem. So far all is good. I need to discipline myself and not do any changes/teaks to teh system now that is back up and running fully! Big thank you to all the forum members that chipped in! Apreciated the help.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-06-2009, 09:14 AM
Clift Clift is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 555
Sounds like a good lesson learned is to also make sure you are running the latest SageTV and STV when running the latest extender firmware and vice versa.
__________________
Server:W7 Ultimate, SageTV 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HVR-2250, 2x HD PVR 1212
Clients:
1x STX-HD100
3x STP-HD200
@cliftpompee
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2009, 06:07 PM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
Well, I spoke to soon! One of the extenders froze and rebooting it did not brought SageTV back. I stopped and restarted the server, SageTV came back but the channels are not changing once again after I issue a change channel command. My next step is to re-install Windows XP again unless I can chack something else. I am totally up for suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-10-2009, 12:40 PM
lfilomeno lfilomeno is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 210
I got the capability to change channels within SageTV once again! Stephanie (LM Remote) send me a new .dll to replace the existing one that was preventing the system to issue change channel request. All is good in the SageTV land once again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extender locks up and shuts off one first boot screen - can I reflash or hardreset? personalt SageTV Media Extender 0 07-12-2008 07:06 PM
HD extender shutdown after 5-10 minutes dadams SageTV Media Extender 0 02-17-2008 11:45 AM
Extender shuts off when live tv show ends, and no sound on music? btrcp2000 SageTV Beta Test Software 4 01-27-2008 09:31 AM
Extender plays wrong file? DualQuad SageTV Media Extender 0 06-29-2007 02:44 PM
Extender doesn't play all audio files PC plays? robmarch SageTV Media Extender 4 07-05-2006 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.