SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2019, 08:33 AM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Problem with Movies and DVD/BD Section on 64 bit Server and HD-300 Extenders

I have a fresh install of the 64 bit SageTV server on my media server. It's installed in its own directory. This media server also has our production SageTV 32 bit (9.1.8) in its own directory, which has been running perfectly - minus shutting it down every now and then to clear the java heap.

Once I had the new 64 bit version fully setup (including plugins), I copied over the wiz.bin file, pointed the import directories to where our production shares are, and away I went.

TV portion runs fine, and music seems to be fine. The problem I'm running into is the movies portion. I have BMT installed, as well as CMT and Phoenix Fan Art installed just as I do on my old system.

I first noticed this on an my HD-300 extender. Some of the fanart posters for the movies weren't showing up, and as you scrolled down through the movies, on every page, there is a spinning circle for about 10 seconds per page. As you move down the list, the spinning circle takes longer and longer.

On the off chance that there was some sort of plugin issue, I disabled CMT, Phoenix Fanart, and BMT, and went back into the DVD/BD menu.

With no fan art plugins, Sage natively will try to read a folder.jpg file in the bluray disk directories as a poster for the movie. Otherwise it just loads the first image in the movie file as a poster. Again scrolling through the list of movies, though I wasn't getting as much spinning circle, it is taking Sage quite a while to replace the Bluray and DVD logos with an image or poster from the folder.jpg files. Sometime a few minutes.

Once you've scrolled to the bottom of the movie list, and then scroll back up (either with native SageTV or with plugins enabled), posters it had already found, now its looking for some of them again and there are delays again scrolling back up.

I went to the server's built in client (with the fanart plugins re-enabled), and though nearly all the Phoenix fanart shows correctly, again there are spinning circles between pages of movies loading, and once you have let them load as you scroll to the bottom of the list for movies, scrolling back up, it is again trying to load posters and backgrounds again after having already displayed them once.

I have about 350 BD/DVD's in Sage, so not what I would think is a huge amount.

I'm going to have to switch back to 32 bit 9.1.8 at the server for now as the movies section is unusable for the family.

It almost seems like the system is starved for resources and unable to cache the thumbnails for the movie posters.

I had already before I started increased the java heap. Wasn't sure what I could increase it to. I set it at 2048 decimal, though on the server and extenders it says the max is 1909. It says currently I'm at 888MB/1229MB/1909MB. I find those numbers kind of surprising considering I can run 3 HD-300's withing the confines of 32 bit java with all of the fanart plugins with no issues.

I vaguely remember something similar to this happening many years ago wrt to slow loading thumbnails when version 7 first came out. I think at the time SageTV support had me increase a thumbnail generation cache or something? That was like upteen years ago, so no idea if that's why my original 32 bit server is running without issue.

Would like very much to use the 64 bit version, if someone can suggest what might be going on.

Was going to try the 64 bit client on my Win 10 PC to see how it behaved, but the install failed, but that's another thread...

Interestingly, running my 32 bit client at 9.1.8 against my 64 bit server at 9.2.1 and the Movies BD/DVD area runs perfectly - but then again I think with the windows client, all of that processing for fanart (other than pulling the fanart from the server share) runs local...

Would appreciate any suggestions. Was going to try to keep the 64 bit install as a fresh go of it, but maybe I'm going to have to install it on top of my old 32 bit install...

-Steve
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2019, 10:14 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,024
That would be a pain. Iíve always had a bit of that with my 32-bit system but not unusably bad. Iíll do some poking around but in the meantime you can try comparing your properties files between the 32 and 64 bit server to see if you can find whatever setting you may have adjusted years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2019, 10:23 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,024
How about one of these? Are they set differently in your 32-bit properties?

ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_scale
ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_size
ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_limit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2019, 01:09 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
How about one of these? Are they set differently in your 32-bit properties?

ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_scale
ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_size
ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_limit



I checked these 3. Same in both files.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2019, 12:54 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
How about one of these? Are they set differently in your 32-bit properties?

ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_scale
ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_size
ui/system_memory_2dimage_cache_limit
So have been digging further into this...

There are a boatload of differences between my 64-bit properties file and my production 32-bit, so not sure where to even start there. A couple under UI_Disable stood out, so I tried those, no diff.

I temporarily renamed my production 9.1.8 32-bit directory to SageTV.temp, and installed a brand new 9.2.1 32-bit install the same way I did the 64-bit to see what would happen. Same deal - fresh install, configure, add the same plugins, and then copied over the production wiz.bin to the new install

I'm seeing the same behaviour on the extenders as I did with the 64-bit server. I can scroll up and down through the movies, then things start to slow down, random movie posters are blank, spinning circles start showing up more often and longer as you keep exploring the list of DVDs/BDs.

The server client side is a little different. On the 64-bit server, scrolling around movies would give similar behaviour as the extender. Movie posters randomly blank, or folder.jpg images never loading, spinning circles, etc. The 32-bit server's client is not behaving that way at all. It runs as fluidly as my 9.1.8 32-bit server client. No issues.

I have to put everything back where it belongs at the moment to get ready for the family to come home, but next step is I will again make a backup copy of my production 9.1.8 server, and then install 9.2.1 32-bit server directly onto my 9.1.8 32-bit server, and check the behaviour of the server client and the extenders in the movies section.

After I take a run at that, I'll reset again, and install the 64-bit server directly over my production 32-bit server to see what happens.

I'll fill you in as I test out the various scenarios.

Tnx
-Steve

Update #1:

The extender running against the fresh 32-bit 9.2.1 server seems to have settled down. The two blank movie posters, when I went into the metadata for each, even though there were acceptable posters selected, I changed the default poster to be a different poster, and now those movies are showing their posters. No more blanks, and the spinning circles have stopped. Will carry on with the "drop the 32-bit 9.2.1 server right on top of the production 32-bit 9.1.8 server later this evening.
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1

Last edited by SteveW; 04-01-2019 at 01:08 PM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2019, 05:56 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,801
Out of curiosity, did you notice if it is always the same images that give you problems? Did you happen to check them to see if there is something different about the images that work vs those that donít? For example, maybe the images that work are jpeg and those that donít are png or something like that.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2019, 06:55 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Out of curiosity, did you notice if it is always the same images that give you problems? Did you happen to check them to see if there is something different about the images that work vs those that donít? For example, maybe the images that work are jpeg and those that donít are png or something like that.
Each time after a restart, some were the same and some were different...
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2019, 07:18 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveW View Post
So have been digging further into this...

There are a boatload of differences between my 64-bit properties file and my production 32-bit, so not sure where to even start there. A couple under UI_Disable stood out, so I tried those, no diff. ...

Update #1:

The extender running against the fresh 32-bit 9.2.1 server seems to have settled down. The two blank movie posters, when I went into the metadata for each, even though there were acceptable posters selected, I changed the default poster to be a different poster, and now those movies are showing their posters. No more blanks, and the spinning circles have stopped. Will carry on with the "drop the 32-bit 9.2.1 server right on top of the production 32-bit 9.1.8 server later this evening.


So here's what I've found (Production = Ver 9.1.8 32-bit Installed at C:\SageTV)


Trial 1) 64-bit fresh 9.2.1 install in new directory on production server, prod wiz.bin copied in, rest reconfigured to match productions:

Result: Aforementioned spinning circle problem while browsing through DVD/BD list. Disabling CMT, Phoenix FanArt, and Phoenix Core, as well as other plugins did not resolve. Default folder.jpgs that core Sage tried to load sometimes loaded, sometimes didn't, spinning circles. Happened both on server client and HD-300s. Got to the point where the SageTV server software would have to be restarted due to constant spinning circle.


Trial 2) 32-bit fresh 9.2.1 install in existing C:\SageTV directory (old 32-bit version temporarily copied out and C:\SageTV directory emptied before install):

Result: A couple blank fanart posters on HD-300. Server client had no issue. Was able to choose in edit metadata fanart menu a different poster, which then fixed the blanks (this did not work in the 64 bit version). Some spinning circle, but then it settled out after a few minutes and seemed fine afterwards.


Trial 3) 64-bit install over top of production 9.1.8 32 bit server

Result: That turned into a huge dumpster fire. Errors on install, SageTV server wouldn't load due to error. Somehow my USBUIRT driver in SYSWOW64 got mangled. Took awhile to figure that out. Don't do this...


Trial 4) 32-bit 9.2.1 installed on top of production 9.1.8 32-bit server

Result: No noted issues. Moving up and down movie list is speedy on the server client. On the HD-300 seems a little slower than it was in 9.1.8... seems to be more pauses after each page.


So currently, for me, there are issues trying to run the 64 bit server and browsing movies. TV seems OK and speedy (fanart shows). There are quite a few differences between my production sage properties file and the one in the 64 bit directory, even after I reconfigure everything to look the same as much as possible. Looks like my only option now is to try copying my production Sage properties file over from C:\SageTV\SageTV to C:\SageTV64\SageTV, and try a search and replace from C:\SageTV to C:\SageTV64... and see if something in there makes a difference. The only other obvious difference is the 32 bit version of Java versus the 64 bit version...


-Steve
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2019, 08:11 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,162
The is so much going on in those logs that its too hard to trace the issue.

Could you stop the 64 bit server, start it, do the steps to see the hang and then exit and post those logs.

I also see you are using some type of plugin for fanart that uses phoenix calls as i see the phoenix cache being built... so the phoenix log under logs folder if there is one may help too.

k
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-31-2019, 10:26 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,162
May help if you post the sagetv server log when this occurs.

If you are using gemstone and/or phoenix post those logs as well.

Phoenix creates a cache for these images and that cache is empty with a new install. If using gemstone then use the prebuild cache option in utilities...takes time but run it when not using the system.

But it could be something else so the logs may assist.

k
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-31-2019, 01:01 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
Sorry, should have enclosed logs. I've zipped them up. Since I shut the server down a few times while working on the problem, there should be something in some if not all of these logs... SageTV_1.log is 9 MB has the most info in it. A lot of hang times mentioned...

Even the 9 MB log compressed far exceeds what I can post here. You can pull them from my Google Drive.

Just using the stock UI - no Gemstone or Phoenix at play as far as UIs...

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Bq...DIPxiw7S2_1lU4
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-31-2019, 01:05 PM
SteveW's Avatar
SteveW SteveW is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 336
"That would be a pain. Iíve always had a bit of that with my 32-bit system but not unusably bad. Iíll do some poking around but in the meantime you can try comparing your properties files between the 32 and 64 bit server to see if you can find whatever setting you may have adjusted years ago."




I'll try a compare on the two property files. Tnx
__________________
Server: Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Intel i5, 8 GB, Samsung EVO 850 500 GB for OS, WD Black 4 TB + WD Black 1 TB for Recordings, WD Green 2 TB x 1 and WD Red 6 TB x 2 for DVD/Bluray Rips, Music, Home Movies, etc., Sage 9.1.8.770, HDPVR x 2, BellTV 6131 Receiver x 2, USB-UIRT with 56 KHz Receiver

Clients: PC Client x 2, HD-300 x 4 (1 Using Netgear MoCA Coax Bridges), Placeshifter x 1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diamond Movies no longer play on Extenders emotionnotion Diamond 6 01-19-2012 05:35 AM
Anyone else having problems with Slide Panel in Movies section? Biggen Diamond 6 03-29-2011 08:54 AM
Prevent Extenders from deleting movies? ToadMazter SageTV Media Extender 12 10-11-2010 11:32 PM
Problem Posting to the Download section Tiki SageTV Customizations 4 01-28-2009 01:14 PM
Having extenders wake up the server, is this possible? electron SageTV Media Extender 7 03-06-2008 11:37 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.