SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2008, 06:54 PM
cgreenle's Avatar
cgreenle cgreenle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
High CPU w/ Live TV as compared to BTV

I'm evaluating moving from BTV and I must admit everything is pointing to STV except one thing. Watching only Live TV in BTV I run ~17-20% CPU usage, in STV it runs ~50-60% on SageTV.exe.

The menus seem to drag from one item to the next.

I've searched several threads and have yet to find a solution or even pinpoint the cause.

Here are some specs and settings:
SageTV v6.3.10
SageMC v6.3.7a
Server 2003 RC2
AMD 64 X2 6000+
2gb Ram
M2N32-SLI MB
160gb Sata (Recording Drive)
3tb Raid 5 (Rocketraid 2320)
Nvidia GeForce 7600 GS
HDHomeRun
Full Hardware Acceleration
Video Renderer = Overlay
Mpeg 2 Decoder = Cyberlink Video also tried SageTV Decoder

I don't know what else might be helpful. Please, I appreciate any help or insight you might offer.

Thanks

Last edited by cgreenle; 03-31-2008 at 06:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:19 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Something isn't right there. CPU usage should be about the same. Let me think about it and I'll see if I can come up with anything to investigate.

Are you running SageTV in Service mode?
OS: XP, Vista, or what?
Try a few additional video decoders just in case
What audio decoder are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2008, 07:31 PM
cgreenle's Avatar
cgreenle cgreenle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Quote:
Are you running SageTV in Service mode?
Service Mode

Quote:
OS: XP, Vista, or what?
Server 2003 RC2

Quote:
What audio decoder are you using?
AC3Filter

I will try other video decoders, any suggestions?

Last edited by cgreenle; 03-31-2008 at 07:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2008, 09:33 PM
cgreenle's Avatar
cgreenle cgreenle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Same result..... ~50% on SageTV.exe

It's all about the playback. When no video is playing it hovers next to nothing. What does BTV use to decode mpeg2 video?

Just for fun I played some Xvids through SageMC.....The CPU ran at about ~10%.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2008, 10:06 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,719
With the Sage decoder you need to enable DVXA for hardware acceleration. I vaguely recall that when Sage is installed it sets the Sage video decoder so high that no other encoder is used even if you specifically tell it to.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2008, 10:07 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,719
It looks like they fixed the time stamp issue, please see my post above.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2008, 11:42 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Just for kicks don't change anything except do change the audio filter just to see if it makes a difference. I seem to remember AC3 causing an issue (a fixable one). I might be wrong, but give it a shot at least and report back
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2008, 11:59 AM
cgreenle's Avatar
cgreenle cgreenle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Changing the Audio Decoder didn't seem to make any difference.

I took a look at process explorer and it seems with SageTV decoder selected, mpegdemux.ax seems to be hogging the CPU. With Cyberlink Video it's clvsd.ax....

I don't really know if that helps or not....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:06 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Can you give VMR9 and default mpeg2 decoder a try?

Grrr. SageTV Forums are taking that time shifting a bit too far again so the posts are out of order. Anyhow, just in case you missed it toricred has a good suggestions:
Quote:
With the Sage decoder you need to enable DVXA for hardware acceleration. I vaguely recall that when Sage is installed it sets the Sage video decoder so high that no other encoder is used even if you specifically tell it to.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-2008, 03:13 PM
cgreenle's Avatar
cgreenle cgreenle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred
With the Sage decoder you need to enable DVXA for hardware acceleration. I vaguely recall that when Sage is installed it sets the Sage video decoder so high that no other encoder is used even if you specifically tell it to.
That didn't seem to make any difference either.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent
Can you give VMR9 and default mpeg2 decoder a try?

Grrr. SageTV Forums are taking that time shifting a bit too far again so the posts are out of order. Anyhow, just in case you missed it toricred has a good suggestions:
Same result..... ~50% on SageTV.exe

It's all about the playback. When no video is playing it hovers next to nothing. What does BTV use to decode mpeg2 video?

Just for fun I played some Xvids through SageMC.....The CPU ran at about ~10%.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-01-2008, 03:20 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgreenle View Post
What does BTV use to decode mpeg2 video?
It depends on your setting in BTV. Go into settings and see what video decoder you have set up there.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2008, 03:40 PM
cgreenle's Avatar
cgreenle cgreenle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
It depends on your setting in BTV. Go into settings and see what video decoder you have set up there.
SnapStream Video/SP Decoder
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-01-2008, 05:47 PM
cgreenle's Avatar
cgreenle cgreenle is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
Alright, To show my frustration....I completely reloaded STV from scratch. (just uninstall and reinstall didn't work)

I avoided this because I had such a hard time setting up the HDHR but this time it was much faster. I watched the CPU the whole time I made changes and so far.....

I'm running at ~10-15% CPU on Live TV!!!

Thank you so much for your help Brent & toricred!! I'll keep you posted if this happens again.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-01-2008, 06:10 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Great news

Now I wish I understood what was going on behind the scenes, but the fact its working as it should is good. Now take it slow - don't pile on a bunch of plugins until you explore and get things working your way.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV on Windows Server 2003, high cpu after video capture HeeZy SageTV Software 5 08-14-2009 01:26 PM
R5000MOD CPU Utilization/stuttering jmv Hardware Support 11 03-20-2008 03:10 AM
HD Live TV Choppy with CPU 80-100% using HD100 warkeke SageTV Media Extender 4 03-15-2008 11:06 AM
High CPU usage multiple tuners and other issues carlgar SageTV Software 0 11-14-2003 01:18 PM
High CPU load, corrupt wiz.bin file feared with 1.4.7 bling_bling_vr6 SageTV Beta Test Software 3 08-14-2003 12:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.