SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:10 AM
big boi big boi is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 49
movie ripped to HD with dvd decrypter should skip intros right?

i ripped a DVD to my hard drive with dvd decrypter. i went into sage setup --> detailed setup, and set the setting for skipping the FBI warning and whatnot to enabled. when i tried to play the dvd i got a playback error. it played the DVD including the FBI warning fine, but if i tried to skip ahead i'd get the playback error.

the movie should play fine right? i mean dvd decrypter is removing the macrovision right? this used to work fine before i rebuilt my PC. i had the intervideo nonCSS codec at that point though and cannot reinstall it since i sold the hauppauge 250 that gave me that codec. no love from hauppauge for 500MCE owners
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:23 AM
Naylia's Avatar
Naylia Naylia is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 754
I believe macrovision removal and such are settings in dvd decrypter. You may have to enable them in the settings/options menu before ripping the dvd.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:51 AM
m0ng00se30 m0ng00se30 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MS
Posts: 359
I think you need to use DVDShrink to be able to skip menus, and things like that. DVDDecrypter doesn't remove the menu restrictions for me, just DVDshink.

I"m not saying you can't, but I've never seen a setting for it.

--Mike
__________________
Win7Pro, SageTV v6.6, SageMC, Intel E6850, 2048MB DDR2, , ATI4750, LG BR/HDVD/DVD-Rom,1xHDHR, 1xPVR-1600 (1x DirectTV , 1x Comcast Analog Cable, and 3x OTA Digital), USB-UIRT, and Harmony 300 Remote + 1 MVP Extender + 1 PC Client.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:58 AM
big boi big boi is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 49
naylia, it is set to take out macrovision. i could see the movie using VMR9 which should not work if macrovision is still enabled. so mongoose, you're saying macrovision and menu restrictions are 2 seperate things? that would explain it. thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:06 PM
Crashless's Avatar
Crashless Crashless is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by big boi
naylia, it is set to take out macrovision. i could see the movie using VMR9 which should not work if macrovision is still enabled. so mongoose, you're saying macrovision and menu restrictions are 2 seperate things? that would explain it. thanks guys.
Yes, they're separate. Macrovision is embedded in the video stream (more specifically in the blanking signal)

And menu restrictions are in the code that makes up the DVD.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:36 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by big boi
naylia, it is set to take out macrovision. i could see the movie using VMR9 which should not work if macrovision is still enabled. so mongoose, you're saying macrovision and menu restrictions are 2 seperate things? that would explain it. thanks guys.
VMR9 will work just fine even if the disk has macrovision.

Regarding the topic at hand, Macrovision and PUO (Prohibited User Operations) are completely separate things. Macrovision is embedded in the video to (essentially) throw of recording devices.

PUOs on the other hand are flags that say what you can't do, like "you can't skip this" or "you can't go there".

IIRC DVD Decrypter defaults to not removing PUOs.

----

Of course if I were ripping a DVD, I'd just use DVD Shrink and eliminate the menus/extras all together.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2005, 01:43 PM
spaceghost's Avatar
spaceghost spaceghost is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: in the Lou
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
IIRC DVD Decrypter defaults to not removing PUOs.
you could also use IFOedit to remove those.

In IFO mode, can't DVD Decrypter pull just the movie out (either unmuxed or still muxed)? ==no menus then.
__________________
Know what I say when I say you know what I mean?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2005, 02:44 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Yes and no.

Yes it can rip "just the movie" vobs. However, in my experience and AFIAK, DVD Shrink and IFOedit are the only apps that rebuild the DVD "movie only" and leave you with a playable/functional "movie only" rip. DVD Decrypter basically just uses the IFO to pick which vobs to rip, but does not re-create the ifo.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:12 PM
spaceghost's Avatar
spaceghost spaceghost is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: in the Lou
Posts: 134
I was talking about just having the vob's or a .mpg left over....but sounds like Sage would need a proper .ifo to open the vob's anyway....understood.
__________________
Know what I say when I say you know what I mean?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:34 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
It can open vobs (if you add them to the import list) but then it (or any player for that matter) plays them in file mode. You need the IFO to play it it DVD mode with all the DVD features intact, notably chapters and seamless/automatic sequencing of VOBs.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:50 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
When I want some of the menu and other things disabled I use AnyDVD and Nero Recode, Without having to rip it to Hard Drive. I just tell Nero what to take out. A little easier and a lot faster than using IfoEdit to strip streams.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2005, 04:54 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
DVD Shrink can do it too, IFOedit isn't necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-25-2005, 08:55 PM
nspindel nspindel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 122
Hi -

Those suggesting DVD Shrink are right on. I use DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter together. I always rip to the drive with DVD Decrypter first. This will produce an exact replica of the dvd, with all menus, audio tracks, bonus features, etc. intact. I then point DVD Shrink at the files I just created (use "Open Files" button in DVD Shrink), and after the analysis is complete, press the "Reauthor" button. This will show you the breakdown of the contents of the disc - menus, main title, and bonus selections. All you want is the main title - double click that, then go to the compression settings tab, and uncheck any audio tracks you don't want. Assuming you are ripping to your drive and not concerned with burning it to a dvd-r, you should also choose "No Compression". If after cutting away all the unwanted stuff, you still end up with > 4.7gb, you'll get a warning saying it's too big to fit on a dvd-r. Say ok, choose a file path to store the movie, and voila - nothing but movie. You can then delete the files created by DVD Decrypter. I've done about 200 dvd's in this fashion. ENJOY.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.