SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2009, 03:16 PM
zoltran zoltran is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London,ON
Posts: 61
"Best" settings for a HDPVR

I have sage working with a HDPVR rev C2. Using the latest Hpg drivers and recording sound over stereo. So far no real issues ..

But I do have a couple of tuning questions.

So ... any help with the following would be appreciated.

1) It takes 10 or more seconds to change channels. During this time the screen will flash the new chanel/then a shot from the prior channel/then settle down.
During this time audio stutters badly. Is there a way to improve this?
Definitely fails the WAF test.

2) Is there a way to have the HDPVR record at different bitrates for HD vs SD channels? ie, Great for HD, and fair/good for SD.. No point running a 3GByte per hour stream for SD tv. ?

Any other 'best practices' / suggestions ?



TIA /// Wes

----------------------------------------
Server AMD2600/WHS approx 2Terabytes of storage
HD-PVR/Starchoice/Motorola settop box and IR-blaster
Extenders and USB-UIRT enroute ...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2009, 03:38 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoltran View Post
1) It takes 10 or more seconds to change channels. During this time the screen will flash the new chanel/then a shot from the prior channel/then settle down.
During this time audio stutters badly. Is there a way to improve this?
Definitely fails the WAF test.
I use firewire channel changing & then use this property to cause the HD-PVR to wait 9 seconds before starting to record, so that the channel change doesn't get recorded:

mmc/encoders/<some #>/delay_to_wait_after_tuning=9000


Quote:
2) Is there a way to have the HDPVR record at different bitrates for HD vs SD channels? ie, Great for HD, and fair/good for SD.. No point running a 3GByte per hour stream for SD tv. ?
If SageTV detects SD resolution recording, it already lowers the recording quality to save space. (This won't have any effect if the STB is always outputting at HD res.)

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2009, 04:13 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
mmc/encoders/<some #>/delay_to_wait_after_tuning=9000
Should this line be in the properties file on the server, the client, or both?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2009, 04:24 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skirge01 View Post
Should this line be in the properties file on the server, the client, or both?
That goes in the sage.properties file (server), it controls how long Sage waits before trying to start a recording after issuing the channel change command. The HD PVR is rather sensitive to the stability of the input signal so the delay allows that to stabilize before Sage begins a recording. I set mine to 4000 (4 seconds) and it's been, I think, perfect since.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
I use firewire channel changing & then use this property to cause the HD-PVR to wait 9 seconds before starting to record, so that the channel change doesn't get recorded:

mmc/encoders/<some #>/delay_to_wait_after_tuning=9000
Might I suggest that be made a default (or at least something > 0) for the HD PVR, if it hasn't already? It seems a lot of HD PVR problems are solved by this.

Which reminds me, I should try my custom max vbr quality now that I've gotten my HD PVR stabilized with this (and newer Sage/drivers than the last time I tried it).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hdpvr hd-pvr whs


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Must the HDPVR be directly attached to Sage Server? Ron Hardware Support 8 02-18-2009 04:16 PM
SageMC settings menu suggestions tchapin SageMC Custom Interface 2 11-17-2008 01:03 PM
SageMC series settings questions tchapin SageMC Custom Interface 0 11-08-2008 10:40 AM
Bad HDPVR or some other issue? pat_smith1969 Hardware Support 5 10-20-2008 01:09 PM
I would like to reset all SageTV 4.0 registry settings back to the original defaults mkanet SageTV Software 3 11-14-2005 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.