SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #141  
Old 03-30-2009, 01:10 PM
appelm appelm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chappaqua, NY
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by topperdude View Post
Can the HD200 playback BluRay movies from a shared network drive on a computer that does not have SageTV software installed?

My SageTV server is an old computer with only IDE interfaces. My home/office PC however is a newer computer where I could install a SATA/BluRay drive and AnyDVD HD. If I purchase HD200, would I able to stream the main BluRay movie to the HD200?

Thanks,
-Topper
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 03-30-2009, 01:38 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by topperdude View Post
Can the HD200 playback BluRay movies from a shared network drive on a computer that does not have SageTV software installed?
Yes, just map the correct folder/drive in sage using UNC paths. I have not tried this with the bluray drive directly but works fine for HDD's
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 03-30-2009, 02:28 PM
cat6man's Avatar
cat6man cat6man is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West of NYC, East of SF
Posts: 860
yes
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 03-30-2009, 08:09 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
Issue 1: Have tried this so far on 2 blurays. On Casino Royale it starts playback from the beginning of the filer, at time = 00:00:00, but at chapter 9/16 (what sage thinks the chapter is). From there I can chapter skip succefully one chapter at a time (to the right time in the file) but the chapter number is wrong. Any ideas? could I be remuxing improperly. I ran BDinfo on the created BDMV folder and all seemed kosher, and used eac3to to extract the chapter and again all seemed ok.
So it appears this is an issue in the way tsmuxer authors the disk. Specifically, the way the mpls (playlist) file sets the Time In value. This is the time that playback starts at the beginning of the file. So this explains why the chapter information is off. I was able to confirm this by modifying the original mpls file to point to the correct m2ts (video) file and confirmed correct chapter info/playback in sage. It still does not fix the audio info on the OSD (see below).

Quote:
New issue i just noticed: When playing back the full disc sage reports the audio language correctly in the OSD, while in the disc mastered by TSremux it just ends up blank. Same thing goes for subtitles.
This still doesnt answer this question (GetMediaFileFormatDescription returns the correct info... still trying to figure out why the OSD doesn't display the correct information).
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 03-31-2009, 12:58 PM
Dravor Dravor is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ashburn, Va
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
When you create a BDMV file structure for the HD-200, you can still make TMT (or Power DVD) the default player for m2ts files by file association. Then you can use Explorer to browse your network/PC, double click on the m2ts file in the BDMV/STREAMS folder (there is only one m2ts file, containing the whole movie, when muxed), and play with TMT/PDVD.

There may be other ways, but I've not tried any others.
I guess the bigger question I have is since you are changing the playlist, will the menu playback for BR still work. The main reason I ask, is that my main playback room has a PC currently, with surround sound that supports LPCM output, and so I am using TMT3 to playback BluRay movies and decode TrueHD to LPCM.

I want to be to play back the movies on the HD200, but no break any functionality on the PC end either.

-Dravor
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 03-31-2009, 05:16 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
New issue i just noticed: When playing back the full disc sage reports the audio language correctly in the OSD, while in the disc mastered by TSremux it just ends up blank. Same thing goes for subtitles.

This still doesnt answer this question (GetMediaFileFormatDescription returns the correct info... still trying to figure out why the OSD doesn't display the correct information).
So heard back from Sage support for this. Its an issue with sage not returning anything when only a single audio stream is present in the movie. It will be fixed in the next release.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:57 PM
TwistedTweaker's Avatar
TwistedTweaker TwistedTweaker is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
True HD Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
Well, I was wrong about seamless branching. I just tried Close Encounters which has 25-30 m2ts files to make up the movie, depending on the cut you want to watch. It plays perfectly in Sage from my shared BD Drive. Defaults to AC3 Spanish, but the True HD track can be selected and works even on my TV.

So, It's something other than seamless branching.
I was under the impression you could not use the Sage HD200 as a True HD pass-through?

Are you able to pass-through True HD and DTS HD? I have a high end surround sound system (well more like middle of the road...lol) and thought the only way I could achieve this was through a custom built MCE.

What Blu-Ray drives have people had a good response with in conjunction with WHS?

Thanks,

Sean
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 04-01-2009, 07:37 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedTweaker View Post
I was under the impression you could not use the Sage HD200 as a True HD pass-through?

Are you able to pass-through True HD and DTS HD? I have a high end surround sound system (well more like middle of the road...lol) and thought the only way I could achieve this was through a custom built MCE.

What Blu-Ray drives have people had a good response with in conjunction with WHS?

Thanks,

Sean

When I talked about working on my TV, my TV is stereo so it's downconverted to AC3 then the TV renders it as stereo. True HD and DTS HD are not currently passed thru in HD format.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 04-01-2009, 07:57 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
When I talked about working on my TV, my TV is stereo so it's downconverted to AC3 then the TV renders it as stereo. True HD and DTS HD are not currently passed thru in HD format.
The extenders extract the ac3/dts "core" stream and pass that along. It cannot pass through or decode the HD formats. Most HD streams will include an ac3/dts stream and then include the hd on top of that. There is talk that sage is working on decoding the hd formats and then being able to pass that along LPCM via HDMI.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 04-01-2009, 11:35 PM
TwistedTweaker's Avatar
TwistedTweaker TwistedTweaker is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
When I talked about working on my TV, my TV is stereo so it's downconverted to AC3 then the TV renders it as stereo. True HD and DTS HD are not currently passed thru in HD format.
How does it down convert? Are you leaving multiple audio formats on the file? I would like to keep everything at DTS HD or True HD only, but I want to be able to watch them (at least in Stereo) until the Sage extender has the capability available.
Reply With Quote
  #151  
Old 04-02-2009, 05:19 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedTweaker View Post
How does it down convert? Are you leaving multiple audio formats on the file? I would like to keep everything at DTS HD or True HD only, but I want to be able to watch them (at least in Stereo) until the Sage extender has the capability available.
The way both DTS-MA and TrueHD work is that they are differential compression formats. What that means is that they contain a "core" of DTS or AC3. Then they use that core data to make a differential lossless audio. So when the full HD stream is played back it's actually using both the core and the rest of the data to make "lossless" playback.

What the HD200 can do is to play only the core DTS or AC3 audio from the stream and totally discard the lossless HD part.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 04-02-2009, 11:16 PM
TwistedTweaker's Avatar
TwistedTweaker TwistedTweaker is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
The way both DTS-MA and TrueHD work is that they are differential compression formats. What that means is that they contain a "core" of DTS or AC3. Then they use that core data to make a differential lossless audio. So when the full HD stream is played back it's actually using both the core and the rest of the data to make "lossless" playback.

What the HD200 can do is to play only the core DTS or AC3 audio from the stream and totally discard the lossless HD part.
So in theory I will be able to Re-mux all of my Blu-rays to True HD or DTS HD and the extender will still be able to play the core AC3 audio from the file?

Is anyone streaming 20 or 30 gig files to the extender with no issues?

Are there any limitations to the HD200 vs. a custom HTPC? How is the picture quality playing back Blu-ray? Can you still customize the skin, etc?


Thanks,

Sean
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 04-03-2009, 06:55 AM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedTweaker View Post
So in theory I will be able to Re-mux all of my Blu-rays to True HD or DTS HD and the extender will still be able to play the core AC3 audio from the file?
Yes this is what I do (and several others). I extract the main mpls file from the disc and strip out all the unnecessary video/audio/subtitle tracks using TSmuxer. I discovered a bug in the TSmuxer output that screws up the timeline (see http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=144).
Quote:
Is anyone streaming 20 or 30 gig files to the extender with no issues?
Yup again no issues. Quantum of Solace was giving me some issues where it would crash the hd-200 (requiring a hard reboot) but I eventually got it.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 04-03-2009, 11:06 AM
appelm appelm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chappaqua, NY
Posts: 323
So to be clear, subtitles are not supported for bluray at this time? is that right? I ripped the foreign movie Mongol and it plays fine but since I don't speak Mongolian, I can't understand a thing and can't get the subtitles working.
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 04-03-2009, 11:32 AM
camens camens is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 46
Correct, subtitles for Blu-ray are not supported yet. I would love someone from Sage to confirm they are working on that though....
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 04-03-2009, 12:34 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
I thought they said they were in the "Subtitle Support" thread.
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 04-03-2009, 06:25 PM
TwistedTweaker's Avatar
TwistedTweaker TwistedTweaker is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: California
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
System Setup:
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV 6.5.7 RC, SageMC 6.3.8b
2x HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x SageClient, 1x STX-HD100
I am thinking about adding an HD-PVR to my server and I use Comcast...how is that working for you? Can you pull it down to multiple TV's?


Why to you use an HDHR and a HD-PVR?

Thanks,

Sean
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:31 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedTweaker View Post
So in theory I will be able to Re-mux all of my Blu-rays to True HD or DTS HD and the extender will still be able to play the core AC3 audio from the file?
The one thing I noticed is that I cannot output the core to analog stereo outputs; it'll output the core via s/pdif just fine though.
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 04-04-2009, 08:33 PM
Suntan Suntan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 156
Hey guys. So I'm finally getting around to finishing the basement to make the Mrs. happy, and putting a projector/theater in for my troubles...

Anyway, the Sage Server currently resides upstairs and it doesn't have the horsepower to run Blu-ray. The question is, would/do you guys think an HD200 would be acceptable as your main/only Bluray playback option? I'd add a bluray drive in the Sage server to rip/play the discs to the theater in the basement.

I understand the HD200 only supports regular DD/DTS at the moment, is it likely that it will get full support for the advanced audio formats in the future?

-Suntan
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 04-04-2009, 10:11 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post
The question is, would/do you guys think an HD200 would be acceptable as your main/only Bluray playback option? I'd add a bluray drive in the Sage server to rip/play the discs to the theater in the basement.

-Suntan

yep, i'm actually selling off my standalone BluRay player as it's working that well for me.
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD or Blu-ray Digital Copy Playback PLC101MAN SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 4 02-10-2009 02:21 PM
Playback of blu-ray rips via the extender and how it works for you Deacon Crusher SageTV Media Extender 1 10-16-2008 03:47 PM
Full Blu-Ray disc playback solutions? Halstead SageTV Customizations 2 08-08-2008 07:57 AM
Does SageTV support playback of Blu-Ray DVDs? ptaylor SageTV Software 2 07-23-2008 10:37 AM
Playback of blu-ray backups Muchacho SageTV Media Extender 5 12-30-2007 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.