SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2009, 07:40 PM
myoung84 myoung84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 108
Convert HD-PVR recordings to XVID

What free software can I use to convert my HD-PVR recordings to .avi XVID or DIVX? I have a bunch of movies that I want converted and stored with my other .avi movies.
__________________
Vista Ultimate 32 | Intel Core i5 | 2GB RAM | 1.5 TB Seagate Sage HDD | 2 HD-PVR Tuners | HDHomeRun | 2 DTV HD STB's with USB-UIRT | STPHD200 Extender | STXHD100 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2009, 05:04 PM
myoung84 myoung84 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 108
Bueler?
__________________
Vista Ultimate 32 | Intel Core i5 | 2GB RAM | 1.5 TB Seagate Sage HDD | 2 HD-PVR Tuners | HDHomeRun | 2 DTV HD STB's with USB-UIRT | STPHD200 Extender | STXHD100 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2009, 05:08 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Check out evilpenguin's Mediashrink utility.

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2009, 05:16 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
The question that pops in my head is why? The HD-PVR's H.264 is probably already giving you better complression than xvid will.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:49 AM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
The question that pops in my head is why? The HD-PVR's H.264 is probably already giving you better complression than xvid will.
I use dvrmstoolbox to automatically convert specific shows (by title) to xvid/aac for my phone.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-2009, 09:10 AM
Patrick25 Patrick25 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
I use dvrmstoolbox to automatically convert specific shows (by title) to xvid/aac for my phone.
And you're converting HD PVR .ts files? if so, I'll certainly give it a try. Is it very hard to do?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-2009, 02:51 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick25 View Post
And you're converting HD PVR .ts files? if so, I'll certainly give it a try. Is it very hard to do?
Yep. I don't think it's hard, but I wrote it so my opinion could be skewed
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2009, 03:09 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
I use dvrmstoolbox to automatically convert specific shows (by title) to xvid/aac for my phone.
I'm curious why you use another tool and not the sage convert menu. I tend to convert stuff for the ipod for the kids, but I have only ever used the sage convert menu.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-10-2009, 03:35 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I'm curious why you use another tool and not the sage convert menu. I tend to convert stuff for the ipod for the kids, but I have only ever used the sage convert menu.
1) more container and codec choices
2) skips commercials as part of the process
3) if it doesn't work, I have an SLA w/ the developer
4) built the conversion process originally when the sage transcoder (and everything else) was having a/v sync issues w/ hd pvr captures
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:28 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
1) more container and codec choices
2) skips commercials as part of the process
3) if it doesn't work, I have an SLA w/ the developer
4) built the conversion process originally when the sage transcoder (and everything else) was having a/v sync issues w/ hd pvr captures
Those are very good reasons... especially #3

Does your tool compile under linux?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:35 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Does your tool compile under linux?
It's managed code but relies heavily on DirectShow (a Win32 media framework); so the basic infrastructure could probably run using Mono, but this aspect wouldn't work w/o some wine.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-06-2009, 08:32 PM
Patrick25 Patrick25 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
Yep. I don't think it's hard, but I wrote it so my opinion could be skewed
I've been looking through the site and I can't find any instructions on how to convert the files. Would you be able to point me to the right direction?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Patrick25; 10-06-2009 at 08:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-07-2009, 07:56 AM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick25 View Post
I've been looking through the site and I can't find any instructions on how to convert the files. Would you be able to point me to the right direction?

Thanks in advance
install dvrmstoolbox, run the dtb video editor, select the desired coded and container (avi & mp4 are supported OOTB; mpg & mkv require 2rd party filters), then click "convert"
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert Recordings Clarification srothwell SageTV Software 0 07-06-2009 11:22 AM
How Do I auto convert recordings? jTV SageTV Software 1 04-04-2008 07:16 AM
Convert BTV recordings to SageTV recordings? ertman SageTV Software 7 04-05-2007 03:57 PM
Convert Sage to Xvid AVI's CB_2005 General Discussion 9 09-24-2006 11:01 PM
Converting HD Recordings to Xvid mikejaner General Discussion 4 03-24-2006 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.