SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2011, 01:28 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
SageDCT/Ceton dedicated box requirements

Wondering what kind of WMC box I need to build to be able to support the 6 Ceton HD channels streaming to SageTV... If WMC has to write to disk before SageDCT can read from disk and stream to the SageTV Server that can be a lot of I/O.

Thoughts/Experience?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:26 AM
nebulink nebulink is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 295
From what I understand, SageDCT eliminates the need for WMC. Only requirement is Windows 7 of some flavor. After that I would just look at the hardware requirements for the Ceton card.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2011, 08:49 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
Can anyone please confirm? In the threads I read that folks setup the Ceton within WMC setup... Is that only for configuration?

I do not see the requirements for SageDCT under Babgvant's directions:
http://babgvant.com/files/folders/sa...ntry19846.aspx

Looks like I might be able to do the following:

1. Put the Ceton card in an old Shuttle box running Win7 and create a "Cable Tuner in a box"

Ceton requirements state a HDCP compliant video is needed. Is this really the case? If using with SageDCT as a network encoder the video will not be watched locally... can I ignore this?

2. Run SageDCT in a Win7 VM on my current Win2003R2 server

Has anyone tried this running it from within a VM?


Also, has anyone tried running Win2008R2 with SageTV Server and the Ceton card?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by sflamm; 06-13-2011 at 09:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Official "Working SageTV + Ceton Firmware + SageDCT Version Combinations" thread King of Bayonne Hardware Support 158 11-02-2012 12:40 PM
Ceton, SageDCT, and FiOS ***SUCCESS*** King of Bayonne Hardware Support 71 01-13-2012 08:45 AM
SageDCT/Ceton with Win7 WMC sflamm Hardware Support 0 06-12-2011 11:01 PM
sagedct/ceton and sageTV 6 sflamm Hardware Support 2 06-12-2011 03:37 PM
SageMCTuner Vs SageDCT AlphaCrew Hardware Support 17 04-18-2011 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.