SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2011, 08:08 AM
richardhood36 richardhood36 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Buford, Ga
Posts: 18
Smile Hauppauge Colossus

I have been unable to find a current post about this product. Does Colossus work with Sagetv 7.1.9 reliably or what kind of problems can I expect?

Thanks
Rhood
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2011, 08:50 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,016
You must not have searched very hard. According to previous posters, you can expect anything from the Colossus working "flawlessly", to problems with audio sync, problems with recordings containing full screens of blue (instead of the actual TV show), BSODs, and problems with severe audio distortion/loud clicking. Most of the Colossus users are having to reboot the server or restart the SageTV service periodically, typically nightly. There are a lot of variables at play here: what cable box is being used, whether you have the box set to output native resolution or a fixed resolution, whether you are using analog or digital audio, whether you are using the HDMI input, what version of the Colossus driver you are using, and so on. Thus, YMMV.

Although I do not list it in my signature, I have a Colossus that I have not been able to get to perform satisfactorily. Although I must admit, I have not tried any of the drivers that have been released since June or so, I hope to give it another try over the Christmas holiday. I have low expectations, though, based on other posters experience with the newest drivers.

My advice to you would be to post the details about how you are planning to set your Colossus up. Which cable provider, which set top box, fixed (720p or 1080i) or native resolution, analog/digital audio, HDMI input, etc. The more specific you can be, the better. Hopefully then, others that have similar setups can respond how successful they have been, what driver version they are using, etc. etc. That may give you a better feel whether it is worth plunking down $150+ or not.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 16GB Memory, unRAID 6.3.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2011, 10:13 AM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhood36 View Post
I have been unable to find a current post about this product. Does Colossus work with Sagetv 7.1.9 reliably or what kind of problems can I expect?

Thanks
Rhood
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52718
__________________
We’re doomed. It will never work
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2011, 11:18 AM
jptheripper jptheripper is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 935
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhood36 View Post
I have been unable to find a current post about this product. Does Colossus work with Sagetv 7.1.9 reliably or what kind of problems can I expect?

Thanks
Rhood
Many of us use it nearly-flawlessly. I have been using it since it came out, 720p locked, optical dd5.1 audio, win7 64bit.

Other than a very rare reboot (less than once a week), it is flawless. BAsically, its as stable as windows is.

The bulk of the instabilities seem to be related to AAC audio, and may depend on your provider.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3/4gb DDR2/AMD Phenom 955 3.2ghz Quad Core
Windows 7 64bit Home Premium
Hauppauge 1600/1850/2250/colossus/2650(CableCard 2 tuner)
8tb RAID5 storage/media/other &3tb RAID5 backup storage on a HighPoint RocketRaid 2680
1tb 3 disk Recording Pool
all in a beautiful Antec 1200
SageMyMovies/Comskip/PlayON/SageDCT/SRE
HD100/HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2011, 12:13 AM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Colossus + (HD PVR or another Colossus) = high chance of problems

I recall seeing a post about 2 Colossi working perfectly together, but the capture was HDMI on both.

I'm getting rid of my Colossus and getting another HD PVR.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2011, 12:06 PM
equalize equalize is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhood36 View Post
Does Colossus work with Sagetv 7.1.9 reliably or what kind of problems can I expect?

Thanks
Rhood
If I don't reboot (about once a week) Sage slows down and the recordings stutter. Other than that, it works like a champ.
I use the component video input instead of HDMI since I record off the Comcast cable box. Don't use the optical audio jack either.
__________________
APEVIA HTPC case, ASUS Z87-EXPERT MB, i5-4670 Haswell, Team Xtreem DDR3 2666 16G, Intergrated HDMI, Centon infiniTV 4 PCIe, Win7 x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR SHS Hardware Support 2008 06-11-2016 07:07 AM
HD-PVR USB or Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR DRB Hardware Support 16 11-17-2011 06:00 AM
Colossus fix-it ticket at Hauppauge - comment here tvmaster2 Hardware Support 18 04-18-2011 09:46 AM
Hauppauge Colossus - How to install. Crunch Hardware Support 1 03-09-2011 11:54 AM
hauppauge colossus in Canada garbageman SageTV Canada 3 03-06-2011 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.