SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2013, 06:48 PM
brianblank's Avatar
brianblank brianblank is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 66
Portable Box to play back SageTV files (.ts, .mpg)

I'm hoping you all can help,,,

I am going to be travelling a lot for work and want to take my SageTV recordings with me to watch on my laptop on the plane and on the hotel TV at night.

Some ground rules: I don't want to transcode the files, I just want to copy them off the server and go. And I don't want to plug my laptop into the hotel room TV. Placeshifter isn't an option either, the hotel internet is spotty at best.

Can anyone recommend a box with an internal HDD or USB port (USB HDD or USB Flash) that I can hook up to the TV via HDMI that will play the .ts files from my HDPVR that Sage has recorded?

I've tried the Micca Slim HD, it works but freezes up frequently.

I just stumbled across the Firecore software for Apple TV that might work, but there are several people in the forums complaining that they can't play .ts files.

Thanks in advance,
Brian
__________________
Servers: unRAID 11TB [for media and files] | SageTV [Win10 Pro64, ASRock H77 Pro4-M, Core i3-3220T, 16GB RAM, 120GB System SSD, HD Plex H5.S Case] | Sources: 2 x Silicon Dust HDHomeRun | Silicon Dust HDHomeRun Prime Clients: 4 x HD-300

WTB: HD-300 IR Eye
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2013, 06:54 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Just responded to your g+ post...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2013, 09:09 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
I used a Western Digital Live (the one without a HD) to do this. You would need to "Share" the video from the laptop. Of course, depending on the laptop, you could just hook the laptop to the TV, couldn't you?

It is bigger than most newer system, but will play almost anything.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2013, 09:44 AM
brianblank's Avatar
brianblank brianblank is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 66
Matt - The WD box looks like the solution I'm looking for. Do you have the newer or older version? It looks like either will do the trick. I just wish it had internal storage, but a thumbdrive or wifi to the laptop should suffice.

I'd rather not plug the laptop into the TV so I can surf/work while I'm watching TV and not worry about the HDMI cable being strung all over the room.
__________________
Servers: unRAID 11TB [for media and files] | SageTV [Win10 Pro64, ASRock H77 Pro4-M, Core i3-3220T, 16GB RAM, 120GB System SSD, HD Plex H5.S Case] | Sources: 2 x Silicon Dust HDHomeRun | Silicon Dust HDHomeRun Prime Clients: 4 x HD-300

WTB: HD-300 IR Eye
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2013, 09:45 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
you could also use a SageTV Extender, and plug an HDD with your shows directly into it.... it will do the same thing as the wdtv live.

i personally like the plex / plexpass route and syncing shows to device(s). I mentioned htis over on the g+ post

the cool thing about plexpass is that you ca tell it to sync your content in such a way where you only have say the oldest 3 unwatched shows. once you watch one plex server will swap it out for a new unwatched one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2013, 11:01 AM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianblank View Post
Matt - The WD box looks like the solution I'm looking for. Do you have the newer or older version? It looks like either will do the trick. I just wish it had internal storage, but a thumbdrive or wifi to the laptop should suffice.

I'd rather not plug the laptop into the TV so I can surf/work while I'm watching TV and not worry about the HDMI cable being strung all over the room.
I had the old one. Friend has it now, as I picked up a HD200. He uses it as his main TV playback device. Only real issue I ever had with it, was FF/REW was supper slow back then. (I think newer firmware fixed that)

Understand on the laptop.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2013, 05:25 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,145
I'm pretty sure WD makes one of these devices with an internal hard drive ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2013, 11:51 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
Zotac nano AD10 will do it flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-18-2013, 11:56 AM
sflamm sflamm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,650
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856173047
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-18-2013, 02:05 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianblank View Post
I just wish it had internal storage, but a thumbdrive or wifi to the laptop should suffice.
I'd stick a 20' Ethernet cable in the laptop bag, and read from there. Are you doing "work" that would use that much HD thru put? (just thinking on best for cost)

Or a large thumb drive. The large but USB 2.0 drive aren't too (?) pricey.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-18-2013, 04:55 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,145
http://www.amazon.com/Live-Hub-1TB-M.../dp/B004GK0GKO
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-19-2013, 04:56 PM
brianblank's Avatar
brianblank brianblank is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 66
Thanks for all the suggestions. The Zotac box and the WD TV Live Hub look like great solutions, but a little pricey. I picked up a WD TV Live at the local Best Buy, I tested it with about 20 minutes of a .ts file via thumb drive, portable HDD and this little microSD host (Meenova) that I sometimes use with my Nexus 7 on the plane.

I'll use the WD box over the next two weeks while I am travelling and let everyone know how it goes.

Thanks again for all the suggestions.
__________________
Servers: unRAID 11TB [for media and files] | SageTV [Win10 Pro64, ASRock H77 Pro4-M, Core i3-3220T, 16GB RAM, 120GB System SSD, HD Plex H5.S Case] | Sources: 2 x Silicon Dust HDHomeRun | Silicon Dust HDHomeRun Prime Clients: 4 x HD-300

WTB: HD-300 IR Eye
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-19-2013, 05:33 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,145
The only filetype that I've ever had trouble with on the WD Live devices are the straight up DV-AVI, which probably requires some form of licensing that WD felt wasn't worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-21-2013, 08:38 PM
jchiso jchiso is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 608
If the WD box does not work out for you, you could give the Mediasonic HomeWorx HW-150PVR a look. It's just $45 from NewEgg or Amazon and will capture (and even save and timeshift) OTA HD and play back various file types from a USB source ...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-02-2013, 09:43 AM
brianblank's Avatar
brianblank brianblank is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 66
I'm back home from my trip and the WD box worked great. Along with a thin Mediabridge HDMI cable and a Meenova microSD host it made for a great portable solution. I was able to watch .ts files that were copied off the SageTV server, .avi files and ripped DVDs (complete with menus, some Amazon commenters said that DVD menus didn't work).

Thanks again for the input.

Brian
__________________
Servers: unRAID 11TB [for media and files] | SageTV [Win10 Pro64, ASRock H77 Pro4-M, Core i3-3220T, 16GB RAM, 120GB System SSD, HD Plex H5.S Case] | Sources: 2 x Silicon Dust HDHomeRun | Silicon Dust HDHomeRun Prime Clients: 4 x HD-300

WTB: HD-300 IR Eye
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to play back HD PVR files? tvmaster2 Hardware Support 15 08-05-2009 05:43 PM
Is SageTV client supposed to be able to play back DVRMS files? wallaceff SageTV Beta Test Software 3 07-17-2009 11:48 AM
Will HD Theater play back divx/ac3 encoded avi files? Fountainhead SageTV Media Extender 6 01-05-2009 06:57 AM
HD extender play back existing WMC files? JoeDiRT SageTV Media Extender 1 07-22-2008 10:26 AM
Can I play .ts files with SageTV? Ralphjb SageTV Software 5 07-25-2005 10:18 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.