SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 04-10-2016, 02:31 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Do you have example code on how to tune the InfiniTV? I was thinking about tuning the HDHomeRun.
Fortunately tuning the modern HDHomeRuns is a lot easier than the InfiniTV since you don't need to use the Cable Labs approach. It's a lot of steps to get very simple things to happen; I can't recommend it. They are available as a standard media server similar to Playon.

As I said earlier in the thread, I was actually able to browse the channels on the Prime I have with what you already put together. Playback just didn't start. I wonder if now with the progressive playback working if it will just work.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-10-2016, 02:34 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
It might also be interesting to turn Sage into a UPnP server. I'm not a Kodi user but I image it would make it easy to play Sage content on Kodi without going through a lot of hassle to get the metadata to work.
What does the Phoenix UPnP server do?
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04-11-2016, 05:17 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
What does the Phoenix UPnP server do?
No clue. I forgot that was available! I'll have to ask Sean.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-11-2016, 06:00 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
What does the Phoenix UPnP server do?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
No clue. I forgot that was available! I'll have to ask Sean.
It's a UPnP server that uses the CLING apis as well... As of the last release of Phoenix, I think it's been removed (or will be).

It was my experiment into serving up Phoenix Views over UPnP. It worked, but I wasn't happy with it, so I didn't develop it any further.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-11-2016, 05:10 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
It's a UPnP server that uses the CLING apis as well... As of the last release of Phoenix, I think it's been removed (or will be).

It was my experiment into serving up Phoenix Views over UPnP. It worked, but I wasn't happy with it, so I didn't develop it any further.
I'll take a look at it for inspiration. What were you not happy with? Performance? Usability? What problems can I expect?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-12-2016, 09:05 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I'll take a look at it for inspiration. What were you not happy with? Performance? Usability? What problems can I expect?
It's been a long time... but, if I recall...

1. Performance... The fetching of UPnP data is a little sluggish.
2. Metadata... If I recall, I think that setting the metadata and having it show up the way I wanted was a little finicky.
3. You will need to serve up the media files over http connection. We don't really do this, nicely, inside sagetv today. I've done several attempts at this trying to support http range requests, etc, but, I've never actually got it quite right.

As for the 3rd item... i will be taking another attempt at this over the next few months, since I'd like to have this sorted out... and maybe added to core. SageTV, in the core, will actually do a HLS stream, but I haven't played with that, and, it might be something that can be used here... not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 04-16-2016, 10:16 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
As I said earlier in the thread, I was actually able to browse the channels on the Prime I have with what you already put together. Playback just didn't start. I wonder if now with the progressive playback working if it will just work.
Can you send me the logfile for this? When I try to browse channels on my HDHR it comes up empty.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 04-16-2016, 10:20 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
After more testing I have to retract my statements about getting progressive playback to work. It still doesn't work and I have no clue why. I've been staring at the code for months and have no idea what to try next.

It would be great if somebody with studio experience could take a look at it with fresh eyes. I'm sure it's something simple or subtle, but I am stumped.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04-16-2016, 11:05 AM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Can you send me the logfile for this? When I try to browse channels on my HDHR it comes up empty.
I can see logging is set to trace, but I cannot figure out where the log file should be. I was looking throughout the SageTV directory for recently changed files and I'm a little baffled. Can you point me in the right direction?

Also I'm sure you noticed that the HDHomeRun Prime shows up as 3 different UPnP devices. You need to pick the right one for it to work.

Update: I tried my Connect and I think I see what you're talking about. I can't browse it. I appear to only be able to browse the Prime.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG

Last edited by EnterNoEscape; 04-16-2016 at 11:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 04-16-2016, 12:19 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Update: I tried my Connect and I think I see what you're talking about. I can't browse it. I appear to only be able to browse the Prime.
I have an HDHR Prime but it has no cable card installed.

The logfile is in the Sage install directory, sagetv_0.txt.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 04-16-2016, 01:10 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I have an HDHR Prime but it has no cable card installed.

The logfile is in the Sage install directory, sagetv_0.txt.
Mine doesn't have one installed either.

I didn't realize you meant that log file. I probably don't know what I'm looking for, but I didn't notice anything that looked related in the main log file, so I thought you were referring to something else. Anyhow, here it is.
Attached Files
File Type: zip sagetv_0.zip (90.2 KB, 36 views)
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 04-17-2016, 12:49 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Mine doesn't have one installed either.

I didn't realize you meant that log file. I probably don't know what I'm looking for, but I didn't notice anything that looked related in the main log file, so I thought you were referring to something else. Anyhow, here it is.
Nothing in here that is helpful
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 04-17-2016, 02:09 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Nothing in here that is helpful
Just out of curiosity, did you run a channel scan on your HDHomeRun Prime without the CableCARD installed? If you did, you should have several channels starting at 5000.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04-22-2016, 07:51 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
Just out of curiosity, did you run a channel scan on your HDHomeRun Prime without the CableCARD installed? If you did, you should have several channels starting at 5000.
I did run a scan. I'll have to look for those channels, what I initially saw were a bunch of unmapped channels.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 04-22-2016, 08:02 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Status update:

Still can't get progressive playback to work but I did get the basics of the server code working. When the server is running SageTV appears as a UPnP device that can be browsed and it serves up the video.

What's really odd is that if I use my UPnP browser to play videos served up by my server, progressive playback works.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 04-22-2016, 01:35 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Status update:

Still can't get progressive playback to work but I did get the basics of the server code working. When the server is running SageTV appears as a UPnP device that can be browsed and it serves up the video.

What's really odd is that if I use my UPnP browser to play videos served up by my server, progressive playback works.
I haven't looked at the headers for the replies from PlayOn, but maybe they are returning a specific length and since SageTV knows how large the "file" is, it's assuming it should download the whole thing? I'm just throwing ideas out there.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 04-22-2016, 02:43 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
I haven't looked at the headers for the replies from PlayOn, but maybe they are returning a specific length and since SageTV knows how large the "file" is, it's assuming it should download the whole thing? I'm just throwing ideas out there.
I appreciate it

I don't think that's the issue. When I load the old PlayOn plugin it works fine. I've traced what it does and what my plugin does line by line and don't see any difference, except the minor detail the the other plugin works
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05-07-2016, 07:39 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Success at last. I finally tracked down the bug that was causing the progressive playback to fail. I will do some more testing and hopefully release version 0.3 tomorrow or early next week.

The good news is that it took me so long to find the bug that I had time to implement a basic UPnP server. Right now the server provides only a few basic views:
  • All TV Recordings
  • TV Recordings By Show
  • Scheduled Recordings
  • All Videos
  • Videos By Genre

I'm open to suggestions for other views that people may be interested in.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05-08-2016, 06:55 AM
jimakrause jimakrause is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Great news look forward to the next release.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05-08-2016, 07:23 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,826
Version 0.04

Version 0.04 is now available in the plugin manager. Changelog:
  • Added rudimentary UPnP server support.
  • Added ability to do progressive playback of videos.
  • Added support for containers that contained mixed content.
  • Added recording options.
  • Now handles mouse click on preview window.
  • Fixed a bug that prevented downloaded files from being deleted after being watched.

When you open the options menu you will see two new items:
  1. "Sort By" - You can choose to have items sorted by their title or by however the server returns them (Natural).
  2. "External Address of Server" - If you enable the UPnP server (see below) and plan on streaming video outside of your LAN then you must specify the IP address of your server. If you only plan on streaming videos within you personal LAN then this setting can be left unconfigured. If you want to stream video outside of your LAN then this IP should be the WAN IP. You must also have your router setup to forward jetty requests to your Sage server. (See below.) In the next release I'll probably move this setting to the "Recording and Server Options".

You will also notice some new options in the "Recording and Server Options":
  1. "UPnP Server is ..." - This starts and stops the UPnP server. If started then your SageTV server will appear as a UPnP device on the network. You should be able to browse and play recordings and videos from any UPnP client.
  2. "Provide Thumbnail Information" - This controls if the UPnP server provides thumbnail information to the UPnP clients. Some clients do not like the thumbnails the server is providing (I don't know why yet) so the default is "No". You can set it to "Yes" to see if your client can display the thumbnails.

The UPnP server uses jetty and sagex to stream video and provide thumbnail information. By default jetty uses port 8080. You can change this by stopping Sage and changing the property "jetty_port". If you want to stream video outside of your LAN you must make sure you have your router setup to forward port 8080 to your SageTV server.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPnP Browser: The Video List is Downloading mogrinz SageTV v7 Customizations 16 08-20-2015 07:15 PM
UPnP Browser Error! Unable to find UPnP Device (PlayON), select this to try a longer hawkmoon SageTV v7 Customizations 8 01-22-2014 08:54 AM
Online Services Plugin :: UPnP Browser evilpenguin SageTV v7 Customizations 82 06-07-2010 02:14 PM
UPnP Browser showing no videos found jpaddock3000 SageTV v7 Customizations 1 05-20-2010 01:29 PM
UPNP Playon stutters like crazy dinki SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 6 10-02-2009 05:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.