SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #161  
Old 07-01-2017, 03:42 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 255
I was able to get a menu to "stick" (possibly I finally figured out the ADM copy mode, which wasn't obvious), but when I invoke it, I get a blank screen. That probably matches what I got when I got the list of PnP servers when trying to set it up, and the PlayOn one said it was "empty." That suggests not (just) an ADM setup issue but that for some reason my PlayOn isn't "talking" to the plugin in the way it expects.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 07-02-2017, 04:05 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 255
I found the following in sagetvclient_0.txt, corresponding to a time-stamp when I tried to invoke the up&p browser. I get a list, which includes the sage server itself, a router (which could host media but isn't being used for that), a Roku stick, and the PlayOn server. When I click on the PlayOn server, the log shows this - obviously showing some errors but I don't know how to interpret them:

Sun 7/2 17:57:44.268 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] UPNP: Found services for device PlayOn: Mediabox2:3
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.268 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] UPNP: Type = X_MS_MediaReceiverRegistrar
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.268 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] UPNP: Type = ConnectionManager
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.269 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] UPNP: Type = ContentDirectory
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.269 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] processOptionsMenu optionsMenu=default:TMIR-837350|OptionsMenu:LoadWait
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.272 [Fork-TMIR-837378@1e32ff6] UPNP: Services.requestChildren: Invoked with SortCriterion...
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.273 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] processUserEvent-UserEvent[anything] evtTime=Sun 7/2 17:57:44.289
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.321 [cling-1223@139ddb1] UPNP: Services Browse.requestChildren: Error message Error: Current state of service prevents invoking that action. Can't parse DIDL XML response: org.seamless.xml.ParserException: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Illegal character in path at index 29: http://myserveraddress-and-port/we tv/folderart.jpg?albumArt=true.
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.522 [ReProcessHook@600d1f] processOptionsMenu optionsMenu=default:TMIR-837330|OptionsMenuisplay Message Dialog
Sun 7/2 17:57:47.244 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] processUserEvent-UserEvent[anything] evtTime=Sun 7/2 17:57:47.265

[in the 2nd to last line, an emoticon replaced the two characters [colon]D from the log.]
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.

Last edited by VCRUser; 07-02-2017 at 04:09 PM. Reason: redacted server address
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 07-02-2017, 04:53 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
Can't parse DIDL XML response: org.seamless.xml.ParserException: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Illegal character in path at index 29: http://myserveraddress-and-port/we tv/folderart.jpg?albumArt=true.
Unfortunately, by munging the actual server/port address in the posting, it's no longer possible for us to see what character is at position 29. I'm going to take a guess and bet that its the space in "we tv". If that's the case, is it possible to change the folder name so that it doesn't contain a space, and see if that works?
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 07-02-2017, 05:30 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Yes, the 29th character is the space in "we tv." However, I can't find a folder with such a name (or anything like it) on my system. The only possible candidate would be one of the Xfinity channels available through PlayOn, namely the "we" channel. But that's not something that lives on my system. There are lots of other channels with spaces in their names, so it seems odd that a space should be a problem - but it is indeed the 29th character in the string.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 07-03-2017, 01:21 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by VCRUser View Post
I found the following in sagetvclient_0.txt, corresponding to a time-stamp when I tried to invoke the up&p browser. I get a list, which includes the sage server itself, a router (which could host media but isn't being used for that), a Roku stick, and the PlayOn server. When I click on the PlayOn server, the log shows this - obviously showing some errors but I don't know how to interpret them:

Sun 7/2 17:57:44.268 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] UPNP: Found services for device PlayOn: Mediabox2:3
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.268 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] UPNP: Type = X_MS_MediaReceiverRegistrar
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.268 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] UPNP: Type = ConnectionManager
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.269 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] UPNP: Type = ContentDirectory
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.269 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] processOptionsMenu optionsMenu=default:TMIR-837350|OptionsMenu:LoadWait
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.272 [Fork-TMIR-837378@1e32ff6] UPNP: Services.requestChildren: Invoked with SortCriterion...
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.273 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] processUserEvent-UserEvent[anything] evtTime=Sun 7/2 17:57:44.289
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.321 [cling-1223@139ddb1] UPNP: Services Browse.requestChildren: Error message Error: Current state of service prevents invoking that action. Can't parse DIDL XML response: org.seamless.xml.ParserException: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Illegal character in path at index 29: http://myserveraddress-and-port/we tv/folderart.jpg?albumArt=true.
Sun 7/2 17:57:44.522 [ReProcessHook@600d1f] processOptionsMenu optionsMenu=default:TMIR-837330|OptionsMenuisplay Message Dialog
Sun 7/2 17:57:47.244 [AWT-EventQueue-0@1977433] processUserEvent-UserEvent[anything] evtTime=Sun 7/2 17:57:47.265

[in the 2nd to last line, an emoticon replaced the two characters [colon]D from the log.]
Sorry for the delay in responding, I'm on vacation at the moment and the internet is spotty.

I think it's barfing on the space character but I don't know why, the parser should handle that. I may need to update one of the dependencies. (I use a third party JAR to parse the UPnP items.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 07-03-2017, 04:07 PM
VCRUser VCRUser is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Sorry for the delay in responding, I'm on vacation at the moment and the internet is spotty.
.
Thanks - enjoy your vacation - I don't mind waiting a while.
__________________
Server: Windows 7 SP1; 4gb RAM; 2TB SATA. Dell GX745. Inputs: Haup. 850 & 950Q on ATSC; Haup 1600 on ATSC & Comcast DTA with USBUIRT. Haup 1800 on ATSC. Sage 9.
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 07-17-2017, 03:55 PM
j1mb0b j1mb0b is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 21
Netflix issue

So, I've just installed this plugin and I'm having some problems with Netflix. It works fine for other PlayOn Channels (e.g. Amazon video). When I select a video to play, I get the buffering message for about a minute, then it fails and says "There was an error playing .....flv. Error (-2): Files selected for playback are no longer on disk". When I go to look for the file, it is there but has zero file size.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 07-18-2017, 04:52 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by j1mb0b View Post
So, I've just installed this plugin and I'm having some problems with Netflix. It works fine for other PlayOn Channels (e.g. Amazon video). When I select a video to play, I get the buffering message for about a minute, then it fails and says "There was an error playing .....flv. Error (-2): Files selected for playback are no longer on disk". When I go to look for the file, it is there but has zero file size.

Any thoughts?
Post a log file and I'll have a look.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 07-19-2017, 12:39 PM
j1mb0b j1mb0b is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 21
Weird - it's working today. I changed nothing....

Thanks for the offer of help. I'll take you up on it one day I'm sure
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 07-19-2017, 01:15 PM
j1mb0b j1mb0b is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 21
So, I do have another question though. is there any way of enforcing parental controls through this plug in? In Netflix (and SageTV), I have parental controls enabled, but it seems I can play any video though this plugin without having to enter my PIN.
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 07-20-2017, 11:04 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by j1mb0b View Post
So, I do have another question though. is there any way of enforcing parental controls through this plug in? In Netflix (and SageTV), I have parental controls enabled, but it seems I can play any video though this plugin without having to enter my PIN.
Glad it is now working. UPnP is generally flaky because there really isn't an exact standard. The UPnP documentation is more like a guideline

Sorry, there are no parental controls. I'm not even sure how I would implement that.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 08-16-2017, 08:00 PM
j1mb0b j1mb0b is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Yes, 720p, but you'd have to upgrade SageTV to v9, and set up the custom user-agent to spoof XBMC to get it.

(with any current v9 install, setting custom_user_agent=UPnP/1.0 DLNADOC/1.50 XBMC in sage.properties should cause PlayOn to stream 720p)
So, I'm now struggling with getting HD from PlayOn through UPnP. I tried the trick posted above by Fuzzy, but it still pulls video from Netflix & Amazon at 720x404. Is there something else I missed? If I watch through the PlayOn desktop app, it comes in as HD
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 12-15-2017, 12:18 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by j1mb0b View Post
So, I'm now struggling with getting HD from PlayOn through UPnP. I tried the trick posted above by Fuzzy, but it still pulls video from Netflix & Amazon at 720x404. Is there something else I missed? If I watch through the PlayOn desktop app, it comes in as HD
I read your post and curiosity got the best of me. You are correct, and I am seeing that also. I am doing some research and playing around with this but I'm not finished yet.

There are posts on Playon and Kodi forums that make the same complaint. If I understand what they're saying, it seems to be an architecture issue in Playon. It emulates / uses a web browser to download content. Because of that, content providers are not providing anything better than the 720p we are seeing.

For example, Amazon states that the connection must support HDCP before they'll provide 1080p. Your smart TV may be able to display 1080p, using an Amazon app, but Playon can't do it.

For more information, an interesting read is the Playon forum entry at this link.

If I find out anything more, I will post it here. I have to admit that I've not used the Playon app to view anything to see if it's different. Maybe I'll try that next.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.1.10, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPnP Browser: The Video List is Downloading mogrinz SageTV v7 Customizations 16 08-20-2015 07:15 PM
UPnP Browser Error! Unable to find UPnP Device (PlayON), select this to try a longer hawkmoon SageTV v7 Customizations 8 01-22-2014 08:54 AM
Online Services Plugin :: UPnP Browser evilpenguin SageTV v7 Customizations 82 06-07-2010 02:14 PM
UPnP Browser showing no videos found jpaddock3000 SageTV v7 Customizations 1 05-20-2010 01:29 PM
UPNP Playon stutters like crazy dinki SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 6 10-02-2009 05:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.