SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2007, 03:32 PM
fist34 fist34 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Deinterlace/stutter issue on CBS HD

Been using Sage for a long time now with my HDTV setup. I use NVidia Purevideo and haven't had problems with playback at all, until:

A couple of weeks ago, CBS recordings (CSI, etc) started having a "cyclic" stutter issue. Older recordings didn't have this problem. After lots of experimentation, it seems that the video is not being properly deinterlaced.

Nothing else changed (driver versions, etc) so I am at a bit of a loss. Other networks (NBC, FOX) are fine, so it's not a 1080 issue (as far as my hardware goes). We don't watch any ABC shows so I don't know if ABC is a problem too. I've tried using different decoders, but they all have the same issue.

I can tell it's an interlacing issue because the CBS transparent logo "shimmers" on the newer recordings and not on the older (< two weeks or so) ones. It's hard to explain. And the "stuttering" comes in an exact rhythm, so it's not a typical stutter issue.

My hardware is all good, and again I'm using NVidia PureVideo. Works great on everything except CBS, and only recently has CBS been a problem.

Any ideas as to what could be causing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2007, 05:12 PM
UFGrayMatter's Avatar
UFGrayMatter UFGrayMatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
most likely your cable.

Check AVS forums for your area and see if others are having issues too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2007, 05:28 PM
fist34 fist34 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by UFGrayMatter View Post
most likely your cable.
No, all my HD is OTA.

Quote:
Check AVS forums for your area and see if others are having issues too.
Thanks for the suggestion; I'll do.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2007, 05:31 PM
UFGrayMatter's Avatar
UFGrayMatter UFGrayMatter is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by fist34 View Post
No, all my HD is OTA.
Yes, but it's still coming from somebody - most likely a bad feed. I've had horrible problems in my area w/ Fox that last couple weeks, but everybody on AVS was having the same problems
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2007, 05:48 PM
fist34 fist34 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by UFGrayMatter View Post
Yes, but it's still coming from somebody - most likely a bad feed. I've had horrible problems in my area w/ Fox that last couple weeks, but everybody on AVS was having the same problems
Yuep, looks like it's not my fault. Small consolation after spending 12 hours experimenting with different decoders, drivers, settings... ugh. The local CBS broadcast is all FUBAR during prime time shows. Sheesh.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple HD recording issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-23-2007 11:10 PM
HDHomeRun success story jbarr Hardware Support 9 02-22-2007 04:46 PM
HD Wonder issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-19-2007 08:37 PM
Set HD preferences for a specific show? bwillet SageTV Software 1 02-19-2007 01:42 PM
In search of HD quality playback garyellis SageTV Software 0 01-27-2007 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.