SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2016, 12:09 PM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
Audio Synch on HD300

I'm having Audio Synch issues when playing DVD VOB files via HD300's. Audio tracks are DTS or Dolby and I'm using the Optical out on the HD300 connected to my receiver. When I output via the HDMI it is in Synch but I cannot pass through this to my Receiver as my TV etc does not allow this. Is their anyway to change the delay on the Audio track so that I can get this in Synch?
I note this is possible when using the PC client but not as far as I can tell on an HD300
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2016, 12:56 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 431
The typical way to connect an HD300 with an HDMI cable is to go to the receiver first and then from the receiver to the TV. Is that not possible?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2016, 02:37 PM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
Unfortunately not, my Denon Receiver does not have HDMI connections on it. Its a few years old now but works perfectly, supports all the audio formats but pre HDMI.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2016, 05:59 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 431
My guess is that your receiver and TV are processing the signal with different delay times. I don't know if it's possible to adjust the audio delay from the HD300. Does your receiver take component inputs? Could you route component video and optical audio to the receiver and then on to the TV? Or does your TV have a digital audio out that you could route back to your receiver?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2016, 03:21 AM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
Trk2, that is exactly my issue it is being processed with different delay times and I need to adjust this, it is possible in the system options to do this on the PC Client but, not on the HD300.

The TV has an optical out but will not pass through DTS or Dolby Digital signals only the stereo signal, probably due to the usual as they say copyright issues.

Receiver does have Component but, the HDMI picture is much better than this so would loose picture quality.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2016, 07:47 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 431
Well unless someone else has a suggestion on how you could adjust the delay from within Sage, my only other suggestion is to see if your your receiver can adjust the delay or if your TV has a "game" mode. Game modes on modern TV typically reduce delay by skipping some video post processing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2016, 10:36 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,472
trk's suggestion about the receiver having a delay is what I did for a few months. Eventually, it became enough of a pain in the butt to be adjusting this all the time that I just purchased a newer receiver with HDMI connections, and then ran that to the ARC HDMI input on the TV.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2016, 12:57 PM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
trk2, checked unfortunately my tv does not have a game mode.
KryptoNyte, a new receiver looks like the only way. Just, although its old, its still a very good spec receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-2016, 06:12 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,472
What's the model number of the Denon?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-02-2016, 06:17 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,472
On a sidenote, revelations of a new AVR connected to a television;

- The AVR now has an on-TV-screen interface, gone are the days of the clunky setup on the tiny receiver display.
- The audio setup on a relatively cheap Yamaha 5.1 consisted of stringing an (included) microphone from the AVR to where I would sit, then letting the receiver dial in the 5.1 channel audio without me.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-07-2016, 12:45 AM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
Its an avr-3801.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-07-2016, 06:08 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,472
Yep. No audio delay options on that receiver.

You could try minimizing the post-processing the TV is doing (game mode as trk called it) to the video that causes the delay, or a new AVR in on the horizon.

Do you get the same issue when you watch live TV, or is it just with Dolby based DVD's?

Last edited by KryptoNyte; 06-07-2016 at 06:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-07-2016, 09:51 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 431
I would try component and see if the video quality difference is noticeable.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-08-2016, 12:47 PM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
Sounds saving up for a new receiver. No game mode on TV. Synch is fine from tv to receiver. Just from Sage to Receiver.

Thanks all for your help
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio synch davidk21770 SageTV Software 8 06-18-2015 01:17 AM
HVR-1600 Audio out of synch on Analog tuner Karride Hardware Support 0 09-19-2008 12:35 PM
Audio not in synch with video? heffneil SageTV Media Extender 1 05-27-2008 11:43 AM
Audio Synch Problems with Divx/AVIs rsagetv99 SageTV Beta Test Software 0 04-20-2006 01:08 PM
Audio synch problem using Ulead DVD Movie Factory newtbert SageTV Recorder Software 1 11-15-2003 03:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.