SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #581  
Old 03-13-2017, 04:43 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malfunction View Post
The searches... long list of previous search strings, but the latest one pops into the search box. Is this how it's supposed to work?
Yes.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #582  
Old 03-14-2017, 04:47 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,448
I just wanted to pop in here and say a big THANK YOU to Tmiranda for this plugin. I am using it in V9, but didn't see an entry for it in the V9 Customizations thread.

It helped me out today. On Saturday I was over at a friends house helping him install a new faucet in his kitchen sink so I wasn't home when my scheduled recording of the ST. Petersburg FL IndyCar race aired on ABC. My local ABC affiliate (WTNH) decided that even though that is what was listed in the EPG and listings on their own website that they'd air 3 or more hours of ST. Patrick's Day festivites/parade in New Haven, CT rather than the IndyCar race. While watching 3 hours of idiots too stupid to come in out of 10-15 degree weather was semi entertaining, it wasn't anywhere near as good as watching the first IndyCar race of the season on a street course.
The only reason I watched any of it was in hopes of seeing a crawl on the bottom of the screen saying when they planned on airing the race, but nothing ever appeared and nothing showed up in my EPG as another airing of the race.

So this morning I found a Satellite feed on YouTube. Sat video with the ABC audio which had one major benefit, NO STUPID COMMERCIALS during the typical ABC/ESPN "side by each" racing where they put the race video in a tiny window with a big window airing commercials for several minutes. Downside, sometimes the audio descriptions didn't match the video. They'd be talking about some replacy the ABC feed was showing while the Sat feed just kept showing the race.

Anyway,,,,,, I suffered through trying to watch it at my computer desk in the browser, but eventually said to myself, I wonder if I can watch this on SageTV through the YouTube online option. Tried, but as most everybody knows the built in YouTube in SageTV doesn't work any more. I recalled seeing talk about the YouTube 2015 plugin and figured I'd give it a try.
Loaded it up and searched for the video I had been watching. Found it, and when I called up the options I saw "Record". Whaaaa? OK, lets give this a go! A while later, there was the "recording" in my list of recordings.
Way better watchiing it sitting on my couch on my 55" HD-TV than sitting in my comfortable, yet not as comfortable as the couch, office chair and watching it on a "puny" 24" computer monitor.

So, thanks again Tmiranda! AWESOME!
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #583  
Old 03-14-2017, 11:35 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynedunham View Post
...My local ABC affiliate (WTNH) decided that even though that is what was listed in the EPG and listings on their own website that they'd air 3 or more hours of ST. Patrick's Day festivites/parade in New Haven, CT rather than the IndyCar race. While watching 3 hours of idiots too stupid to come in out of 10-15 degree weather was semi entertaining, it wasn't anywhere near as good as watching the first IndyCar race of the season on a street course.
So, thanks again Tmiranda! AWESOME!
Your local affiliate sounds awful. lol. It was the season opener! Glad you found the plugin
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #584  
Old 03-15-2017, 03:51 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
You're welcome.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #585  
Old 03-15-2017, 07:06 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Your local affiliate sounds awful. lol. It was the season opener! Glad you found the plugin
I wish I could say this was the first time I'd seen this from WTNH, but they do it on far too many occasions to air some local even, BBall game, etc. Usually they set up a re-air late night somewhere in the next few days, not this time as far as I could tell.
I may be using this plugin on future occasions when they, or another channel pull these kind of shenanigans.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #586  
Old 03-15-2017, 08:24 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynedunham View Post
I wish I could say this was the first time I'd seen this from WTNH, but they do it on far too many occasions to air some local even, BBall game, etc. Usually they set up a re-air late night somewhere in the next few days, not this time as far as I could tell.
I may be using this plugin on future occasions when they, or another channel pull these kind of shenanigans.
If NBCHDSN is still carrying the bulk of the races, they usually have repeats online.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #587  
Old 03-16-2017, 07:49 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
If NBCHDSN is still carrying the bulk of the races, they usually have repeats online.
Oddly, this race only showed up airing on WTNH (ABC). None of the traditional sports channels were showing it. Unless of course they've changed the title of the series coverage and my favorite isn't picking it up.
That happens all the time from year to year for U.S. Motorcycle Road Racing and I have to create another favorite.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #588  
Old 03-16-2017, 08:43 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynedunham View Post
Oddly, this race only showed up airing on WTNH (ABC). None of the traditional sports channels were showing it. Unless of course they've changed the title of the series coverage and my favorite isn't picking it up.
That happens all the time from year to year for U.S. Motorcycle Road Racing and I have to create another favorite.
The major network usually carries the opener, Indianapolis and Long Beach. Same with F1 - Monaco, CDN and U.S. Grand Prix. Otherwise, it's on the B nets.

Well looky here: http://www.indycar.com/Videos/2017/0...race-broadcast

That was easy...
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 03-16-2017 at 09:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #589  
Old 03-17-2017, 08:09 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
The major network usually carries the opener, Indianapolis and Long Beach. Same with F1 - Monaco, CDN and U.S. Grand Prix. Otherwise, it's on the B nets.

Well looky here: http://www.indycar.com/Videos/2017/0...race-broadcast

That was easy...
Sure, several days later. I did look there the day after the race and it wasn't there. They did have video of the practices and I think Qualifying, but not the race.
I did find an online video the day after the race on ESPN, but it was sooo bad, audio and video glitches/droputs it was *IMHO* unwatchable. That version you found (just posted yesterday BTW) looks much better. Sorry, just couldn't wait for 5 days to see the race.
Plus it got me to install this plugin which I otherwise probably wouldn't have since I so rarely watch YouTube videos.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #590  
Old 03-17-2017, 10:12 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynedunham View Post
Sure, several days later. I did look there the day after the race and it wasn't there. They did have video of the practices and I think Qualifying, but not the race.
I did find an online video the day after the race on ESPN, but it was sooo bad, audio and video glitches/droputs it was *IMHO* unwatchable. That version you found (just posted yesterday BTW) looks much better. Sorry, just couldn't wait for 5 days to see the race.
Plus it got me to install this plugin which I otherwise probably wouldn't have since I so rarely watch YouTube videos.
who's posting the videos on youtube?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #591  
Old 03-18-2017, 04:00 PM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
who's posting the videos on youtube?
Most of the ones I saw were Satellite feeds (foreign, not Dish/DirectTV) with the English audio overlayed. I say that because it was the ABC announcers/pit reporters but it didn't always match up with what was on screen, especially when ABC was doing a replay of a crash, pit stop, etc. The Satellite video stayed on the race coverage in most of those instances. They also seemed to strip out the "side by each" commercial audio, so whenever the ABC audio would go to one of those you'd get 3-5 minutes of race video with no audio. The audio would return when ABC returned by the STUPID "side by each" commercials.

Some of the Satellite were glitchy like the ESPN video I found with video and/or audio dropouts. I did find one very clean video and that is the one I watched.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #592  
Old 03-19-2017, 06:25 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynedunham View Post
They also seemed to strip out the "side by each" commercial audio, so whenever the ABC audio would go to one of those you'd get 3-5 minutes of race video with no audio. The audio would return when ABC returned by the STUPID "side by each" commercials.

Some of the Satellite were glitchy like the ESPN video I found with video and/or audio dropouts. I did find one very clean video and that is the one I watched.
Totally OT but here it goes. I actually think the side-by-side thing is a decent solution to the problem of balancing the network's need to make money and the viewer's need to see the whole race. What other solutions are there? The network has to make money to pay for the production of the race and hopefully make their shareholders a profit. They can go the subscription route but I bet the viewership would drop.

So I ask: How would you prefer to "pay" for the content? We have 200 years to wait before The Federation is founded and everything is free. What do we do before then?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #593  
Old 04-17-2017, 05:02 AM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
Music videos will not play

Getting error: The requested media file was not found on the server

Only appears to be occurring on music videos ( anything ). Other videos are working fine
Reply With Quote
  #594  
Old 04-17-2017, 11:39 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oddity View Post
Getting error: The requested media file was not found on the server

Only appears to be occurring on music videos ( anything ). Other videos are working fine
Please reproduce the error and attach the logfile for me to look at.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #595  
Old 04-17-2017, 12:44 PM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282
log file attached

sagetv_0.zip file attached as requested.

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip sagetv_0.zip (96.7 KB, 50 views)
Reply With Quote
  #596  
Old 04-18-2017, 07:38 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oddity View Post
sagetv_0.zip file attached as requested.

Thanks
youtube_dl is failing for some reason. If you haven't done so already try manually updating to the latest youtube_dl. The instructions are in a previous post in this thread. (Basically download the Windows version of youtube_dl from here https://rg3.github.io/youtube-dl/ and replace the existing executable.)
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #597  
Old 04-18-2017, 10:55 AM
Oddity Oddity is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Posts: 282


Many thanks, it was indeed a different version. Downloaded version from the link and now working.

interesting as had completely uninstalled all youtube plugins,restarted and re-installed.
Reply With Quote
  #598  
Old 04-18-2017, 01:47 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oddity View Post


Many thanks, it was indeed a different version. Downloaded version from the link and now working.

interesting as had completely uninstalled all youtube plugins,restarted and re-installed.
Glad that worked.

Unfortunately YouTube changes things up quite often. The good news is that youtube_dl is very actively updated.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #599  
Old 04-30-2017, 04:51 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,554
Basic Question

I installed the youtube plugin and set the options. How do I watch? Do I go to from the main menu, Online, YouTube Videos? Isn't that the one from Sage? Because I just get No Videos Found when I go there.
Reply With Quote
  #600  
Old 05-01-2017, 11:15 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1961 View Post
I installed the youtube plugin and set the options. How do I watch? Do I go to from the main menu, Online, YouTube Videos? Isn't that the one from Sage? Because I just get No Videos Found when I go there.
You are in the right place. If you are still getting the old menu something went wrong with the install.

Did you install the plugin from the "UI Mod" section? If you installed it from the "General" section the UI will not be updated.

Are you using the default STV? It will only work if you are.

Are you using one of the dynamic menu plugins? If you are you must add the YouTube menu. (Which I do not know how to do because I don't use the dynamic menu plugin.)
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plex Hacked July 1, 2015 tvmaster2 General Discussion 5 07-08-2015 02:43 AM
Will 2015 leap second effect SageTV? Paul H SageTV Software 10 01-16-2015 07:43 AM
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year 2015 SHS General Discussion 25 01-01-2015 08:59 PM
Plugin request for SageTV Windows Client: Autofrequency plugin mkanet SageTV v7 Customizations 3 11-12-2011 09:33 AM
MediaPlayer Plugin/STV Import: Winamp Media Player Plugin deria SageTV Customizations 447 12-11-2010 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.